We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no farther!!”
Review of Happy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Guest House
Ranked #25 of 502 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My son who backpacked through Cambodia recommended this guesthouse.Needless to say it was 5 days of total happiness.The staff was very friendly and did everything to ensure the guests had everything they needed.The rooms were clean and served the purpose.All tours and travel arrangements could be made here with no hassle.The food was very good and reasonably priced.When you stay here have Sophy take you to Angkor Wat,he is a very good guide and can speak good English. Chhorpoan makes sure everything at Happy Guesthouse runs smoothly,she's a wonderful hostess.When visiting Siem Reap look no farther than Happy Guesthouse. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phastphil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
There are newer reviews for Happy Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

A few mins walk out of town which means its nice and quiet, has comfy place to sit downstairs, great food and very helpful staff, fan rooms can be hot maybe a seperate fan yo put by the bed would improve it but for the price would def recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in February this year. Only planned 2 days but ended up staying 6! Honestly, probably the best hostel we have ever stayed in. Great service, immaculate rooms, great food, great atmosphere, even managed to fix our Chinese visas for us! Would recommend in a heartbeat.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Great price, great service, fairly good location (15 mind from town) and good area to meet fellow travelers. This place has soul, should have stayed longer. Only down side was my room was pretty damp, but the bed was comfortable and for a few dollars more you could have access and hot water, but who needs that?!?

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Backpacker type guest house, but with all the additional extras for your holiday to turn into one adventure after another. Service was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble, they will organise anything for you and your future travels out of Siem Reap, Tours, local knowledge, places that you don't hear about if you stay in a hotel. I Shall Be Back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed for three days here. and I'm leaving tomorrow, so far it's been a great experience, just that you've got to ensure that you've gotten them to pick you up from the bus stop / airport and that you've booked bikes with them! And if you're a non-smoker it isn't really nice to stay in the lounge, but they serve great food at great prices!! Staff's really helpful and do pick the right tuktuk drivers and haggle with them about the prices. The onwer was really helpful in helping us book both a tuktuk and an experienced Guide to Angkor Wat and a bus to Battambang. But, the rooms aren't crazy cold, some staff speak smattering English, while some speak perfect English (so it can be a little difficult if you don't speak Khmer), but well overall a great experience!

Room Tip: Try the sandwhiches, they're out of this world! bring bug repellent cause the lounge is full of...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chineseangmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The guesthouse next door is much, much nicer.
We stayed at Happy Guest House on our first night in Siem Reap and moved next door in the morning. The rooms next door are a lot nicer for the same price.
When we got to Happy, the floor inside was flooded and there were dead cockroaches on the floor. I was showed two rooms. One downstairs and one upstairs. Both had a really damp smell but the one downstairs was considerably worse.
There was also someone sleeping next to the stairs upstairs and snoring pretty loudly. We could hear it in our room. Plus there was a smell of BO upstairs.
We also weren't told that thy had hot water until we were moving to the place next door the next morning. Although, I don't think it would have made us stay there anyways.
I don't like to write bad reviews but I wouldn't recommend this place. :(

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineB2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Horizons Cambodia
Horizons Cambodia
#30 of 502 in Siem Reap
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#7 of 502 in Siem Reap
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#19 of 502 in Siem Reap
1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#13 of 502 in Siem Reap
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovely Guesthouse
Lovely Guesthouse
#126 of 502 in Siem Reap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guest House

Address: 0134 Phum Wat Bo, Khum Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home. The stuffs are friendly and my family members can speak English, French and Vietnamese. Pay less but get more services like you stay in a more expensive guesthouse because the rooms are clean with private bathroom, shoes, soap, toilet paper and provide a water on arrival day, room cleaning service. My family will give you the best and the most honest advices about your stay in Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Happy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing