We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, honest & budget-friendly ”
Review of Happy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Guest House
Ranked #24 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, honest & budget-friendly ”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent four nights at Happy in January 2014 which had been referred to us by friends.

The guest house is located down a quiet alley about a 12 minute walk from Pub Street and the nightlife in Siem Reap, although bikes can be rented for $1 per day which makes the whole city accessible in minutes. The owner and staff are incredibly friendly, and willing to help with whatever they can. Food is cheap and tasty, and the rooms are clean and quiet at night. All in all, a really great option for budget aware-travelers who need something simple yet still clean. At $7 a night it's difficult to turn down.

I'd really recommend this little gem.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    219
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
35
253
130
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This guest hous is great!! From the staff to the food menu to the rooms. We arrived there at the end of a 1 month trip and were able to have a relaxing trip over there. The way the compound is built is also very interesting. There are many guest houses on the street and this one was mos def the best one.
Big comfy and chill front yard/dinning area with chess and books available. Super cheap and good diverse menu. the staff is very nice and made sure to suit all of our needs (we asked to change room on our arrival because we thought it would be too noisy and they didn't have any other available but remembered the next day and told us they could move us right when we sat down for bfast). Rooms are small but clean and cozy. They have a LOT of information for tourist that want to travel around the temples and you can rent bikes for 1$ / day to tour Angkor.
Would most def go back and be bummed out if I had to be back in Siem Reap and no rooms were avail to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vgbrodeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent four nights at happy guesthouse and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are pretty basic, basically a bed and a bathroom (our tap leaked a bit- not really a problem though) and there were a few mosquitoes in our room but they didnt really bother you if you have insect repellent on. My understanding is that some of the rooms in the second guesthouse are newer/better but I don't think they have wifi whereas our room did. It's a $2 tuk tuk/ 15 min walk into pub street/ the main markets. The best thing about Happy guesthouse is how helpful the staff are and the restaurant. The restaurant is cheaper than a lot of other nearby options and the food is good. The staff are super helpful, there is heaps of info in the downstairs area about what to do during your stay and they booked our driver to the temples and our bus to Phnom Penh. As long as you don't mind staying in fairly simple rooms the extra help that they offer makes your stay so much nicer/easier.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessa908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iloilo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hospitality at its best! You will be getting more than what you pay for. Phem is more than just a manager/owner, she's a friend to all her clients. She herself arranged our buffet dinner with cultural show plus driving us to the restaurant. It is more than a guest house, it's a HOME. Staffs are very accommodating and shares a lot of funny stories too. Their tuktuk driver mr. Phaerun was the best driver and tourist guide. You get big and clean rooms for $7 for non-aircon which is very affordable. The food is definitely good and fast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My son who backpacked through Cambodia recommended this guesthouse.Needless to say it was 5 days of total happiness.The staff was very friendly and did everything to ensure the guests had everything they needed.The rooms were clean and served the purpose.All tours and travel arrangements could be made here with no hassle.The food was very good and reasonably priced.When you stay here have Sophy take you to Angkor Wat,he is a very good guide and can speak good English. Chhorpoan makes sure everything at Happy Guesthouse runs smoothly,she's a wonderful hostess.When visiting Siem Reap look no farther than Happy Guesthouse. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phastphil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

A few mins walk out of town which means its nice and quiet, has comfy place to sit downstairs, great food and very helpful staff, fan rooms can be hot maybe a seperate fan yo put by the bed would improve it but for the price would def recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in February this year. Only planned 2 days but ended up staying 6! Honestly, probably the best hostel we have ever stayed in. Great service, immaculate rooms, great food, great atmosphere, even managed to fix our Chinese visas for us! Would recommend in a heartbeat.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#7 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#22 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#9 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Tropical Breeze Guest House
Tropical Breeze Guest House
#105 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guest House

Property: Happy Guest House
Address: 0134 Phum Wat Bo, Khum Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home. The stuffs are friendly and my family members can speak English, French and Vietnamese. Pay less but get more services like you stay in a more expensive guesthouse because the rooms are clean with private bathroom, shoes, soap, toilet paper and provide a water on arrival day, room cleaning service. My family will give you the best and the most honest advices about your stay in Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Happy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing