We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kool Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angkor Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phnom Bok Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Australia Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
455
145
31
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
145
31
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I loved this hotel. It is just outside of town, but the hotel offers a free shuttle bus and a tuk tuk is only $2 into town. The room was lovely, food was particularly good and well priced. The swimming pool is really nice to cool off in. Added to that are the staff who were so very friendly. They would greet us on the doorstep with cold wet towels whenever we returned from a day out, and the owner was really helpful in organising trips for us. We hired the hotel car for day 1 of temple trekking; to see the further away temples, then on day 2 we hired the tuk tuk for the ones nearer by, which we thought was a good way of seeing all the most important ones. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Kool hotel for 4 nights. From the first to the last minute of our stay it was amazing. When we arrived we were greeted with a fruit platter, juice and a cold towel. The hotel staff were the friendliest we have come across on our travels through Cambodia and Thailand and made us feel right at home. They have two gorgeous dogs that often sneak inside for the relief of the fan- we loved this as we miss out dog at home so much! The good and cocktails were well priced and delicious. The Kool hotel is only a 10 minute or 2 dollar tuk tuk from town and there is always a tuk tuk ready to take you- even at 5.30am! We will definitely go back to the Kool Hotel next time we are in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyciae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel is out of the way, so it affords a nice quiet retreat from Angkor and the main bar scene. The food was amazing and well price, and the staff friendly and attentive. The pool was a little dirty, and the pillows not great. We would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuckvoyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed in the Triple room which was just enough room for 2 adults and our kids (9&11). The hotel is located a little away from the main street but was $2 for a tuk-tuk ride. The hotel helped organise our temple trips, we took the short circuit tour which covered the sunrise at Angkor Wat to the other main temples concluding with a beautiful sunset at the top of the mountain beside Angkor Wat. The other side trip we did was a half day trip to the Tonle sap lake, which was an adventure to get to as we had to ride ox cart to where the boats were as the road leading to them was flooded.

To keep the kids entertained was a nice small chlorinated swimming pool, a chess set and a billiards table when you want some peace during breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, the selection was a la carte, but it was part of the room rate and it was delicious.

The general staff are very helpful but their grasp of English is limited, one time one of the staff rode his bicycle out to get a tuk-tuk driver in the middle of the night. The reception staff had very good English but were only in the hotel in the mornings and lunchtime. So be prepared to ask all your questions in the morning.

Recommendations for the area apart from the temples which I am sure everyone will visit:
1) Touich Restaurant is great food and great value, but recommend you book a day ahead, as it is very small and reservations are a must
2) Viroths is another great restaurant serving Khmer food and at very good value.
3) Horseriding with the folks at Happy Ranch took us out for a nice 2 hour ride through the local country side. This place was only 15 mins by tuk-tuk to get to, and they picked us up from the hotel. A memorable ride for sure enjoyed by everyone including the kids.
4) The national museum was a great experience, but we left to a day when it was raining in the morning.
5) There is the Khmer dancing shows, we were recommended the Apsara Amazon, but I think there must be better ones, as this was like a huge buffet show and was a bit over the top for our liking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddy-0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

An average hotel experience. Clean rooms but a little worn around the edges. Staff incredible polite but most lack English which limits their ability to help most of the guests.WHile their incredible smiles and attitude make this easily forgiven, the hotel definitely lacks a bit of service b/c of this.
Location is a $2 tuk tuk away from Pub Street/Old Quarter and an enjoyable bike ride to Angkor Wat. Quiet except for the wedding somewhere in the neighborhood one night and barking dogs another night - but I'd say quiet by Cambodian standards. I'd stay here again but would first look for a more interesting place or better value

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeCr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews