We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small boutique feel hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kool Hotel
Ranked #180 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small boutique feel hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Upon arrival, we were met by a very cheery tuk tuk driver, our free hotel transfer. The hotel is max 15 min from the airport and down a short (10 metre) dust track. I started to get a little worried, but the worry was alleviated when I realised that the hotel was only a ten min walk into the centre and thankfully away from the noise. We were greeted with two cups of local tea and icy cold face flannels - so nice after lugging back packs around.
The room was basic, but clean. There was no mosquito net, but luckily we had brought one with us.
The pool was also clean and the food tasty.
The highlight for me was the free bicycles. We rode into the town and did a cycle route recommended by Lonely Planet. It was such a good way to see everything. When we got back, the receptionist handed us cold face towels again, I was so happy!
The next day we did a sunrise horse ride through the rice paddys. We spotted wild buffalo, temples and children skipping to school. Straight after that we did Angkor Wat. This tour was arranged through the hotel. It was cheaper than most companies and the best tour I've ever had. The guy knew everything and really brought the place to life.
All in all, there is no other place, including the flash hotels, that I would've wanted to stay in more. Thank you Kool Hotel for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChantelandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    145
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
269
111
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Really enjoyed staying here, had a family run feel but with all the advantages of a hotel and the service was great. The always smiling staff couldn't do enough to help. Although it is a little outside the centre of Siem Reap (15 min walk, hotel provides free shuttle to Markets and Bars in evening) that actually worked in its favour as it felt like a relatively quiet oasis in the middle of an increasingly busy and tourist mad city. Food at the small hotel restaurant was good, mix of western and Khmer available. The two dogs that have made the hotel their home are lovely! They also arranged a taxi to the border for us, and unlike many other guesthouses and hotels that vastly overcharge for this service, they did it for a cheaper price than we could get on the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Kool Hotel in Siem Reap is really cool for the price, location and accommodation. The staff is super friendly and accommodating but not overly so. Airport pick up is free, and as soon as you arrive you feel that you are really very welcome with cold face towel to cool and wash your face as well as cold drinks with fruits. 2 lovely dogs also come to welcome you. We arrived early around 9 am but our rooms were already ready and we were given the keys to bring in our luggage and relax before our tour. The main building has 24 rooms and another 10 rooms in the extended building. The rooms are not so spacious but comfortable. The mattresses were too firm to my son’s liking but ok for me.

The hotel comes with free breakfast and wireless internet access in room, if you don’t have laptop or smartphone, there are 2 computers for you to use for free. We had a sunrise trip to Angkor Wat at 5:30 am and they prepared packed sandwiches with water for us to bring (really loved their friendliness and flexibility). Restaurant food and drinks price is also cheap. Tour or car hire can be arranged with them and they are reasonably priced too. Also bought bus tickets going to Phnom Penh and they didn’t charge an extra service fee for doing it. Staff even rang our Phnom Penh accommodation to make sure someone will be there to pick us up at the bus station.

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool but we never got the chance to use it because we came back late and tired but we used their massage service which is reasonably priced as well.

Overall, I’ll give this a 5. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigas_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had a really lovely stay at this hotel from Jan 22 to 27. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, cosy, very friendly staff who were always helpful despite not all having good English, good value breakfast, and conveniently located - overall a really nice place to stay.

We also benefitted from having a really terrific guide, Mr tent Sreang (teng_sreang@yahoo.com) whose services we recommend strongly.

The one bad experience - which stops us rating this hotel five stars - happened on our last full day, the day before we were to leave after 5 days. At lunch time we had a call from management telling us we should leave that day to another hotel, despite our confirmed, fully paid for prior reservation. the reason: their reservation system had made a mistake and double booked, so another couple were due that evening. So we should leave!! We objected and we wee finally allowed to stay but this really spoiled our experience. We hope that they will not do this to others in future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sisjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

You get 4 star treatment at this hotel without the price. Our room was bright and roomy with a balcony and I liked the decor. After going though customs at the Thailand/Cambodia border and the long taxi ride to siem reap, it was such a relief to end up in such a relaxing place. The pool is great and we ordered room service several times and were happy with the food. Best of all was the service, which I found to be great throughout Thailand and Cambodia but still stood out to me at Kool hotel as being outstanding. There was a free shuttle to take us back and forth to the French quarter and they greeted us with food and drink on arrival.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Nassau
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We doubled our days here to eight days as we liked this hotel so much. Siem Reap is a food trip and never had any problems. We want to go back and will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at the Kool Hotel for three nights...three nights we had trouble sleeping. the beds are hard as the floor and the sheets felt as if made of some icky synthetic fiber. Pillows also were uncomfortable. AC is right by the bed and blows on u while in the bed. Room was quiet. There was no place to put one's belongings necessitating living out of a suitcase. towels were thin and old. Room was clean and hotel and grounds have a charming appearance. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was pedestrian. For the money, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.0 mi away
Paris Angkor Hotel & Paris Angkor Boutique
1.0 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#91 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kingdom Angkor Hotel
Kingdom Angkor Hotel
#273 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
#128 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor Howard Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Property: The Kool Hotel
Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kool Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing