We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kool Hotel
Ranked #190 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Brisbane
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Although a little out of town, a $2 tuk tuk ride and we were there in 5 mins. Tucked away in a side lane, first impressions are a nice, clean hotel with very attentive staff, nice setting, good pool, good prices for food and drink.
The manager, Sothy is very friendly and welcoming. He arranges a driver to the Angkor sites and even arranged to bring us back after the sunrise so we could enjoy our breakfast, then go back out again for the other sites.

Room air on and fridge is cold, bed is firm, but we like it that way.

Would recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Only 3 levels but no lifts. Suggest room overlooking garden as the other side is close to a temple w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galvo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    145
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
269
111
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in "The Kool Hotel room 203 - a nice corner room on the second floor. It cost $48.

Our stay didn't start great. The car we booked to collect us fro the airport didn't show up. We tried to call them (which obviously became horrifically expensive to do on an international mobile) but there was no answer for a long time. When someone finally answered they couldn't speak English. Eventually a friendly airport staff member spoke to them on our behalf. Instead of the hotel calling a driver, they gave us a mobile number to call a driver ourselves. Well over an hour after landing a tuk tuk came to pick us up. The staff was incredibly apologetic and blamed their system having gone down the day before. They offered us a free massage and free return. The tuk tuk was meant to be free either way but when we got charged $7 for the transfer anyway!

The massage was great, I could overlook their check of their mobile phones, until it came to the neck. The grip she took on my neck is known to be dangerous and ended up causing me such a neck and head pain that I felt physically sick for hours.

Good:
* The hotel look as good as in the pictures.
* The friendly staff. Two of them spoke fluent English and were really helpful.
* Good and quiet AC (but turned off when you leave)
* Fantastic tuk tuk driver at good price. We hired our guy for 3 days in the end.
* Good breakfast
* Free transport into the centre and back 3 times a day

Not so good:
* Location too far (because it's too hot) to walk to anything and there's a dark alleyway to walk down.
* Most staff speak the very most basic English or none at all. .
* Only tepid water in the morning (water was only hot in the evening) & it took ages to drain away. No fan in bathroom.
* Totally rock hard bed. I kept loosing all feeling in my arms.
* Noisy (doors have no restraint) when people came home from night out / got up for sunrise visit to temples. Dogs barking on and off in the night.
* Room safe unusable as it is not bolted down, someone could actually carry it away.
* Intermittent wi-fi and only able to run one thing at the time on wi-fi
* Pool is meant to be open to 8pm but they removed all stuff and turned off most lights as soon as the sun went down.
* If you don't take your key with you and arrive back after 10pm it's left on the counter!
* Security guy speaks no English and he is the only staff available after 10pm. He does not understand to even contact another staff member. We had forgotten our key and there was no way to make him understand this. Eventually one of the other staff members noticed us from outside and gave a key to the guard to take us to our room. When the guard left he didn't take the key with him. It was the master key (it said so on the key).

This may seem quite negative but I think this is a gem in the making. They are almost there to be a perfect gem. For me the biggest issues were how awfully hard the bed was and the lack of security. If they fixed the bed, bolted down the safe, didn't leave your key out unattended on the reception desk - it would be a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Upon arriving to the Kool Hotel after a long day of traveling, we were brought in and immediately given a cold glass of refreshing tea, and a cool towel. The hotel staff went over a map of the area and told us some great places to go and how we could get there. I often feel as though hotels are trying to get you to sign up with their trips and are trying to rip you off, but the staff here was just really helpful and had good intentions. They answered all the questions we had and once we were a bit more relaxed and settled they carried our belongings up to our room and let us get settled in. The staff was amazingly helpful and made sure our visit was pleasant.

The internet connection was a bit slow, but due to the area of the country we were in, it was understandable. The pool out back is a little small, but was great for laying around during the mid afternoon as a quick break from site seeing in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: I find the rooms to be quiet and overall there was not a problem. We had a double room with two bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabukichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews from tripadvisor, and wasn't disappointed. But what makes this place special. I can only say it's the manager sothy. He is such a gem. Having spent only 3 days there, i learned about the cambodian culture, a bit of the history, where to go, what to do, where to eat - all from him and his wife. From the moment of arrival late on friday night when he picked us up from the airport, to the moment we left and he dropped us off, he really made us feel like we were very welcome and staying at his home. The food is ok, the rooms are good enough, the location is ok, but the staff are superb and very helpful. I will surely stay there again - it's good value for money and i much prefer the personal service from Kool hotel than staying in more expensive 4/5 star impersonal places. Hope to see you soon sothy.

Room Tip: we stayed in the main building, room 208 which was ok, internet a bit patchy. I actually preferred t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe12583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Very reasonably price for a little oasis of calm. Picked the hotel purely on the reviews here and was really pleased. We spent six nights here and everyday the staff were so genuine. As a base to explore Siem Reap this turned out to be pretty ideal. The in house masseuse was first class and worth a try. Location turned out to be good. Overall a really pleasant surprise.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I have never experienced more friendly and helpful staff anywhere in the world. From the manager, to the front desk, to the night watchman, each individual staff member here contributes to this being the warmest hotel you will ever find. You should stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ja_Briz_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed at the Kool hotel from Nov 14 to 18, 2012. From the start it was a perfect experience: At the airport the hotel`s Tuktuk driver stood ready to take my bags and drive me - free of charge - to the hotel. There I was enthusiastically welcomed by the manager and his assistant, explained all facilities and given advice on what to do and visit during my stay. Then to the room: good size, clean, tastefully decorated, comfortable bed, well appointed bathroom, TV, balcony, etc. Breakfast buffet with choice of eggs, free transfer to the city centre (although I walked there also once - an agreable 20 minutes walk) all this for a very, very reasonable price. I also had a very professional massage, again for a very reasonable price. As my plane left in the evening a got even day-room free of charge! To top all helpfulness I was driven by the manager himself back to the airport!! All in all my stay was a memorable experience, I was really made to feel at home with lots of personal attention by management and all staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jplanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Kingdom Angkor Hotel
Kingdom Angkor Hotel
#258 of 343 in Siem Reap
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor Paradise Hotel
Angkor Paradise Hotel
#100 of 343 in Siem Reap
877 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angkor Howard Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa
Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa
#176 of 343 in Siem Reap
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#29 of 343 in Siem Reap
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Property: The Kool Hotel
Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing