We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner with a heart for customers at Kool”
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kool Hotel
Ranked #220 of 386 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We, six of us, stayed 3 nights at Kool from 9-12 April. It was a nice stay, and the hotel offered a lot of support in getting our trip well arranged in just one stop. We had a two-day van rental with an English-speaking driver (Basic Rate US$30 / day) provided by Kool and made our temple tour quite comfortably. The rooms are new, spacious, clean and nicely-decorated... the beds are so good and we all slept so well here.
Frankly speaking, annoying insects were around and sometimes inside the rooms too, but it may be too picky and quit unrealistic to completely avoid them in tropical countries... being disturbed by them was assumed to be part of our itinerary ;-))
The owner, Dara, is a very hospitable, sincere and customer-oriented person... though not all of his staff are smart at responding to customer needs ;-p but they are definitely polite. He keeps on giving his staff training and support in the hope that they can work independently someday in the future. Dara thinks a lot for his customers, making things easy for us!!!
A small pool was newly built two weeks ago at the back of the hotel building. Unfortunately, we did not bring any swimwear for we haven't expected it... maybe wait until next time ;-) Expansion projects will still be carried out in Kool for Dara wants to please customers by adding more value to the money they spent.
We enjoyed our stay very much!!! Will absolutely recommend this hotel to travellers seeking a reasonably-priced room with good standards, locating away from the haste and hustle of the city centre but just 5 minutes by Tuk-tuk to reach there. Hope we will be back one day!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnieboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula_Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This is my first trip to Cambodia and I booked my accommodation with the Kool hotel through a recommendation from a good friend of mine who went to Cambodia last month.

I pre-arranged my airport transfers and tours to Siem Reap attractions with the hotel and it turned out to be very right decision to let the hotel organised everything for me as my trips were very well-organised and I got to see many interesting things within my itinerary, time frame, and budget thanks to dedicated staff at the Kool hotel.


The hotel staff was very helpful, polite and friendly throughout my stay. My room was very new, clean, large, modern and beautifully decorated. There was also a good sized bathtub in my bathroom which was a good addition. Breakfast was also included with the room and it was not just a dull breakfast (only bacon and toast like some other places). There was a long list of breakfast menu. The location of the hotel is pretty good not far from the tourist area of the town. It takes around 5 min by tuk tuk. I also took the hotel manager’s recommendation to walk around the town and to the old market area using the riverside avenue and it was a lovely and charming walk. Thank you Nat, Dan and their staff for making such a wonderful stay on my first trip to Cambodia.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123tu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

I visited the Kool last month and it was also my first time in CAMBODIA too. I'm very impressed with all the staffs here. I have to say that they are very friendly and helpful. No worry of thier English cause the owners can speak English well.

Room was far better than I expected. It's nice, clean and well decorated. Talking about breakfast, here you will find a long list of food in the menu. Surely that you will find one that you like.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reachy, General Manager at The Kool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megamert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#11 of 386 in Siem Reap
2,312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#4 of 386 in Siem Reap
958 reviews
1.4 mi away
Minea D' Angkor Boutique
Minea D' Angkor Boutique
#2 of 4 in Svay Dangkum
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#105 of 386 in Siem Reap
1,461 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#38 of 386 in Siem Reap
2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £24 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing