We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's very cool.”
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kool Hotel
Ranked #204 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 20 December 2009

The Kool Hotel is cool. It is far from Pub Street and the night market, but translates into being relatively quiet at night. Nightlife is a short tuk-tuk ride away for those who want it. Breakfast is included as is free wi-fi. Best part is the staff can arrange tours and recommend best options for those constrained by time, budget or both.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedWingsFan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2009

I visited siem reap just a couple of wks ago and the service is totally warm with over standard mindset. The place is just right, spacious and clead both bedroom and bathroom. The foods is a must to try at their restaurant... very tasty. Never been to anywhere worth my money more than this.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laddy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Has a swimming pool, internet access, transfer service to the airport and very very friendly. Very cheap and nearly everything you would need (no safe though)

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
Thank lucyc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

PROS
- Polite staff (but not exceptional)
- Well decorated
- Good restaurant
- Love the soap dispensers
- Clean

CONS
- Far from town
- Construction next door starts at 7 am
- I paid for a deluxe room and it was not worth the extra cost (for my money I got a gorgeous view of a dilapidated tin roof, construction noise compounding a self inflicted hangover headache at 7 am, and an air conditioner that could not handle cooling such a large room)
- No safe and no fridge in room

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pifflove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reachy, Owner at The Kool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2010

Thank you for your reviews which will help us to improve our services to provide a better experience our guests.

-We are not steps away from the tourist centre of the town 'the Old Market' area but only less than 5 mins by tuk tuk or we also offer nightly 3 times complimentary shuttle van service for our guests to the Old Market area. There are also 3 times pick-up from the Old Market area nightly. One good thing about not being right in the middle of the tourist district or pub street is that our place is relatively quiet.

- Siem Reap is a growing tourist town and there are lots of construction through out the town. We are fortunate to be in a settled residential area. Our neighbour had done some refurbishment and in Cambodia in general people start thier work early. However, now the construction is complete and the noise is very low or no noise at all. We never receive any comments about noise from guests anymore.

-There might be a small misunderstanding about the room type, our standard room is called Apsara Deluxe and our more premium room is called Indra Grandeur. Our standard room has no fridge nor safe box ( unless requested) however the guest could deposit their valuables at the safe located at our reception area. Fridge and safe is also available in our standard room upon request without extra charge. In general, upon arrival, guests will be explained about our hotel and room facility

- We have to accept that some of our rooms do not face to pool or green garden or Siem Reap town view. Guests could make a request for preferred rooms or change the room to the room with view and we will try our best to accommodate. Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We are a family of 4 and booked our accommodation at the Kool Hotel based on our friends' good recommendation when their family visited Angkor early this year.

We really enjoyed our stay here. Personally it was our favorite hotel in our Asia trip. Although the hotel itself is pretty small with only around 20 rooms, it’s very charming with nice designs all over the premises (traditional and modern).

The staff at the Kool hotel make this place very special as they treated us like friends not only paying guests. If you are heading to Siem Reap, this is a hotel you shouldn’t miss.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Picked up from the airport by the hotel (free) and welcomed by the reception manager, Sothy who is really know what it means by customer service excellence. My stay at the Kool Hotel is a stay to remember. The hotel is very charming with modern and traditional decoration. The staff are very kind and keen to help. The room is large and clean. Also booked my temple tours with the hotel and it was great as the price was very reasonable comparing to those travel agents or tuk tuks outside.

The hotel is not far from town and is in a quiet residential area so it 's a plus for me who has a problem with sleeping. The hotel also provides free transfer to the Old market (tourist area) nightly or you could use many tuk tuks who always hang around in front of the hotel for only $1 or $2 to town. Do try dinner at Abacus Restaurant close to the hotel, thier food is to die for. All thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We were looking for a good mid range hotel, and The Kool Hotel nailed it. We stayed for 2 nights and paid about $50 per night for a double room.

The standout for me was the service... the reception managers are amazing - they are polite, friendly, trustworthy and helpful. A couple examples, the reception manager overheard a conversation we were having about visitng Angkor Wat and joined the conversation. He provided all the options...pros and cons in perfect english and preceded to organise the full day for us. Example, my poor girlfriend was sick and when the reception manager (Sothy I think his name is) found out he bent over backwards to organise medication and offered assistance if things got worse.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, with TV's, warm water, comfortable beds - exaclty what you would expect from $50US a night accomodation. After a long day at the temple the small swiming pool is a perfect place to cool down...you can also order booze and food for around the pool.

I got a massage at the hotel and while it wasn't anything special it was down in the convenience of our room and wasn't too expensive.

This place is highly recommended if you are in the $30-80 range.

The only downside is that it is a bit of a walk to town. However, to combat this the hotel offers free shuttle buses at night from 7-9pm.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHunterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
#29 of 361 in Siem Reap
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#32 of 361 in Siem Reap
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
#34 of 507 in Siem Reap
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#33 of 361 in Siem Reap
2,362 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £27 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing