We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel. Amazing staff.”
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kool Hotel
Ranked #205 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 21 February 2010

The pictures available online dont do this place justice. It is fantastic. Very clean. Beautifully/tastefully decorated in Kmer style. Perfect for a family of 4 with two small kids(7 and 3). Very quiet. Pool is great, much better than it looks on the internet. We ahd just come from Thailand after spending two months there. We didnt know what to expect from Cambodia and we were pleasantly surprized. The staff here are so helpful. They arranged suitable transport and guides to visit the temples and the floating village. The restuarant at the hotel was really good, better than others recomended in loney planet! You must try the fish Amok here, such a beautiful version of it that I asked for the recipe which they happily organised! The kids also loved the butterfly garden restuarant and the peace cafe (formerly singing tree). Both donate to the disadvantaged in Cambodia, both have excellent food, the former has loads of butterflys and the other has organic and delious food. Another great place to get a coffee is Joe to Go, near the markets. Upstairs is a boutique that has beautiful handmade dolls and scarves and jewellery etc. All the money goes directly to people living in extreme poverty. This is a much better place to buy beautiful souveniers than the market, plus your money makes a huge difference.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthLivingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed at the Kool Hotel in Dec. 2009 for 2 nights while visiting the Angkor Wat temples. This is a charming small hotel in a quiet location just a few minutes from town. They offer a convenient shuttle to town, so the location is not an issue. Our room was spacious , comfortable and clean. The breakfast was included and we had our choice of various items on the menu. We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was quite tasty. The people working there were friendly, contributing to the warm inviting atmosphere. The only small issue we had was the hot water ran out one day.
I highly recommend staying at this hotel! I am very particular about where I stay, and this place lives up to my expectations for this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

This hotel was the highlight of my trip apart from seeing the great ruin of Angkor. My room was comfortable, clean and large. Staff were very kind, friendly and helpful. Pool was great and quiet most of the time I used. Breakfast was good and it's included with the room. I shall definitely return to the Kool hotel next year for sure to see more temples as I did not expect that there are so many interesting temples in the area and I only had 2 full days this trip.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

I really had a great stay at this hotel. Of cause, it is not the Sofitel but this is a great alternative if you are looking for a small charming hotel with friendly and personal services. All staff were very friendly, helpful, and professional. The hotel organised all things I requested with prompt attention. Staff went out of thier way to accommodate. Free wifi and internet connection for my work was essencial and therefore I emailed to confirm before I made a booking and the connection was very reliable throughout my stay (It might not be super fast but bare in mind that you are in Cambodia!) Breakfast was great and made to order. Pool was well-maintained. The hotel also have free shuttle van to the Old market area (pub street) every night or only around $2 by tuk tuk and took 5 mins.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifevola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Thanks Dara, for saving our trip to Ankorwat..!!
Dara, the owner of Kool hotel, personally took charge of our trip and arrangement of guides to visit the Ankorwat temples, after a bad experience that we had a guide on the previous day.
At Ankorwat, beware of guides who know nothing about the Hindu culture. Since, we are Indians, we caught them Bluffing..!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mialanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The reviews here are right. This hotel is really great value for money with friendly staff. It's very warm with smiles of people running this place. The rest about hotel condition and breakfast have been mentioned highly in other reviews so I will not repeat it again. I'm a woman traveling alone this trip to Cambodia and was a bit worried at the start but this trip was really great and KOOL with a lot of helps from the Kool hotel staff and the owner!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
Thank ncfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

The Kool Hotel is a very nice midrange accomodation in Siem Reap. The staff is extremely friendly and helpfull. There are two computers with free internet and there is a lovely pool. The rooms are spacious and clean and include daily free complimentary water, free wireless hifi, TV with great reception, remote control for the lights, a sweet little balcony and a bathtub. Though the hot water fluctuates a little bit from time to time and the cocktails are not the best around we fell in love with this sweet hotel.

The only downside is the fact that it is not on short walking distance from the center where all the nice bars and restaurants are. Not a big deal since a moto takes you there in 5 minutes. The roomprices are a little high for the region but given the quality you get it's worth the money. If we ever visit Siem Reap again this will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
#29 of 361 in Siem Reap
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#33 of 361 in Siem Reap
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
#35 of 507 in Siem Reap
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#32 of 361 in Siem Reap
2,380 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#38 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £27 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing