We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel at unbelievable price”
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kool Hotel
Ranked #221 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This hotel is well-run and well-loved by a smart, conscientious family. The breakfasts, the rooms and the service were great . The rooms were large and clean and quiet. It's a little ways from the city center but inexpensive tuk-tuks were always waiting nearby to whisk you to where you need to go. The interior decorations were modern and nice. Nothing to complain about! It's 4-star hotel at 2-star prices.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2010

I highly recommend this hotel - the best 5* hotels could learn something from the staff here - they are infinintely friendly, helpful and efficient. I felt welcomed from the outset and well looked after throughout. The food (particularly the Khmer fish) was absolutely delicious and the reflexology massage was lovely after a morning at the temples. The location is not perfect but with transport in to the center so readily availible it isn't at all problematic. All in all excellent value for money and it was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We booked this hotel after reading several reviews and noting that there was something like 150 positive review to 1 negative review. We did read that one review, and if you do the same, I suggest you ignore it. Some people just cannot be pleased.

We found the service to be exceptionally friendly and helpful, the manager offered fresh fruit, drinks, and local information on arrival while our bags were being taken to our room. Staff were always ready to give information or help us find it, and would do so with a smile. The room was nice and clean and cool, and the pool was a great way to escape the heat and humidity.

The hotel is maybe 1-1.5km from the main tourist strip, but I don't think this is a problem, it means it is more quiet, and everything is so easy to get to by tuk tuk anyway. If you're going to complain about the dollar it costs you, spare a thought for the driver who has to pay a commission to a bus company just to find out where they are dropping off passengers each day.

Wonderful stay, great hotel, great staff. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank septillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My friend and I stayed herefor 2 nights only but we wished we stayed longer. We were greeted by the staff outside as soon as we arrived, given complimentary refreshments, and were then given a map of Siem Reap & Angkor Wat. They were extra helpful & made suggestions on how to go about our itinerary the next day (since we checked in late already at around 830pm). We just came from Vietnam where we were hassled by a cab driver and most of the people rarely speak English. So this was truly a breath of fresh air. They have very friendly english-speaking receptionists and also offer complimentary scheduled shuttle to and from Pub Street, and free use of Internet. I would definitely refer this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carabelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

This is a great little hotel. We stayed here for 4 days during a belated honeymoon and loved it. Spotlessly clean, lovely pool, good food and amazingly friendly staff. - The manager Chhay Sothy is a wonderful manager and a genuinely kind, caring human being. Soon after we arrived there was a fire at a nearby restaurant and the poor guy was running back and forth between trying to make sure his newest guests were settling into the hotel, and helping his neighbours put out a fire! The level of service really felt more like that you'd get in a 5* hotel.

What else? Its convenient for Angkor Watt - the hotel have a couple bikes you can borrow if you want and its about a 1/2 hour bike ride to the temple entrance. I'm not sure about cycling round the temples all day...we always found it was nice to climb into a tuk-tuk and get a good breeze after climbing around the last temple. Hotel can arrange tut-tuks for you...I think you pay slightly more than you would if you hailed one off the street, but it means you get a nice driver and lots of chilled water!

Was going to make this longer but have run out of time. In summary, lovely hotel, lovely staff, would definitely, 100% stay here again.

Stayed: November 2009
Thank Broadbean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We really appreciated our stay at the Kool Hotel. The staff was warm, friendly and extremely hospitable, especially the manager. They always had a smile on their face and gave more than 100% to their job. The rooms are spacious with a nice bathroom and extremely clean. It offers free internet service with good speeds. The hotel is far from pub street where all the restaurants and tourist activity is but the hotel has a free scheduled drop and pick up service. Also it has its own transportation service including Tuk Tuks to take you anywhere and they also help you organize your sightseeing trips. I recommend this place as the staff will really make your stay worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyotika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I visited Siem Reap for the first time and picked this hotel from a friend's advice and from reviews online. Very satisfied with my decision. Great, clean, cozy and nicely decorated place with charming staff who were really helpful. Free internet and wifi and shutle van to the tourist area of Siem Reap at night. The restaurant, I think the name is Sabai Sabai serves well-cooked local and western dishes. My room was modern and spacious. Very good value for money. I also arranged my
Angkor temple tours, a driver and a tour guide through the hotel tour desk, Derleng tours, very convenient and reasonable priced. If you are looking for a cozy, good value for money or well-organised family run hotel as a base for Siem Reap and Angkor temples, I recommend the Kool Hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ativmola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#11 of 384 in Siem Reap
2,308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#4 of 384 in Siem Reap
954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Minea D' Angkor Boutique
Minea D' Angkor Boutique
#2 of 4 in Svay Dangkum
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#105 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,461 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#37 of 384 in Siem Reap
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £24 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing