We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews here are right, best value and service!”
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kool Hotel
Ranked #192 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
australia
1 review
“The reviews here are right, best value and service!”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Just to be short since there are so many great raving reviews about this cozy and friendly small hotel. Very well run with efficient staff. Its like no-frills hotel but you have a very nice and super clean decorated bedroom with ensuite bathroom with a tub!, free internet, freshly cooked breakfast. The salt water pool is also lovely. For dinner, try thier restaurant, some dishes like Amok fish or Lok lak beef (local dishes) even taste better than other well-known restaurants in town. I will, with no hesitation, recommend this hotel to my folks and anyone who's thinking of visiting this town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank espressoluver32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    145
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
269
111
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We could not say high enough about this place. As many reviews have covered it all, the hotel is very clean, lovely, and so welcoming with kind and very friendly staff ( really a strong point of this hotel, we hardly find any other hotels we have been even 5 star ones have these really kind and friendly staff). Good value for money, for just around $30 something, we had a spacious king bed room with ensuite bathroom with a tub. So many channels on tv. tasty and many choices for freshly cooked breakfast. Free internet and wifi. There are also free shuttle to tourist strip of the town of Siem Reap or just $1 for a tuk tuk ride (less than 5 mins). For us, the hotel location is just great as it's very quiet in a residential part of town with only a short distance to Pub street where it's pretty noisy.
Wholeheartedly recommend this hidden gem hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanandmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed here for two nights: everything was top-notch and the staff were very helpful as soon as we turned up.

Although it's not quite in the main part of town, it is still a quick tuk-tuk ride to anywhere you need to go in Siem Reap and they also have a free shuttle bus at night to the main restaurant/bar area. We got a tuk-tuk to the temples for $12 for a half day.. definitely the best way to get around.

I think it's worth being a bit further away from the hustle and bustle to have a more peaceful sleep and relaxation. The pool is excellent out the back and it's a great way to cool off after the temples. Food is very good and really cheap - we got breakfast included (the pancakes were great) and the main lunch/dinner dishes were only $3 each.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inna_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

this hotel was recommended by 2 other friends who went to siem reap. described as a boutique style hotel, the kool hotel has lots of character. i liked that it's fairly small so that you get to meet the other guests. plus, the receptionist/manager knows us well so he knows how our day went, what souvenirs we are looking for etc.

the pictures in the website did not do justice to the hotel. rooms are very clean and even had a tub!

minor setback was that on our first night, there was a bulldozer next to the hotel which was quite noisy.

but other than that, i loved the fact that the breakfast area overlooks the pool. plus, there's a nightly shuttle service to the old market which helped us save some additional dollars for the tuktuk ride.

bicycles are also available for rent and everyone speaks good english. the staff was very nice esp the van driver.

i would return to this hotel in a heartbeat, and would gladly bring friends over.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deannedalisay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed 6 nights at the Kool hotel for the duration of our stay in Siem Reap. The staff were unfailingly friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was nicely designed, cool and clean with good facilities. We stayed in several hotels during our Cambodia trip and this was by far the best and excellent value for money. The Khmer food in the restaurant is particularly good and cheap which means that you don't have to head into town for dinner every night if you want to relax after a day of touring. They also provide a free shuttle service to and from the center of town which is a nice touch. The staff arranged our temple tours without fuss for very reasonable prices and went out of their way to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openmindedtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The hotel, although is not those 5 stars graded, is of great cleanliness, the environment is also serene, fill with the relaxation atmosphere. The location is quite strategic and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickkstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My wife and I really liked this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful (rides into the best part of town taken regularly). The pool was nice and we really enjoyed our experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRec222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Kingdom Angkor Hotel
Kingdom Angkor Hotel
#257 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#125 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor Howard Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#32 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#68 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
#24 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Property: The Kool Hotel
Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing