We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base for Visiting Angkor Wat”
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kool Hotel
Ranked #202 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We chose the Kool Hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and, in the main, it proved to be what we expected. A good base for exploring which would not break the bank.

First the positives. The staff are really superb, so helpful and friendly, really the best. Breakfast was respectable, and we were the only ones who ate in the dining room during the evening but I really do not know why. The cooking was excellent. The standard price of a dish was $3 and the wide selection included stir frys, red and green curries etc.

Trips out were organised by the hotel. A tuk tuk for the day cost between $15 and $18 so not exactly excessive. Incidentally all transactions are in dollars. Local currency is hardly in use at all. You can get dollars out of the ATMs, albeit at a cost of $4 per use of the ATM.

The rooms were not, however, 100%. The towels looked somewhat degrained - I hesitate to say dirty. They had the sort of wear which meant that we would have thrown them out at home. The beds were rock hard, which may or may not be to your taste, but it certainly had my family complaining.

So, not a completely positive experience, but certainly has a lot going for it. Like another reviewer, we found it cheapest to book direct which was very straight forward.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pentangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for The Kool Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2010

As mentioned by many other TA members. This hotel is really a gem. If heading to see the templesof Angkor, this is your great oasis.

The staff went out of thier way to please and I believe even the toughest one would also be pleased with thier service. Pick-up is included and it's done nicely.The driver, Kol, was nothing but one of the friendliest persons I have ever met. Check-in was a breeze with smiles everywhere from receptionist, doorman, bellboy, or other staff who walked pass by. Great wooden king bed in my room with modern touch from remote control lights or international power points. There is also a bathtub and shower in the bathroom, great as I love to take a bath after lots of walk. .Air-con was really quiet and functional even better than some 5* hotels.Loved the breakfast which I could choose from a long list.They even serve breakfast burrito! plus free tea/coffee, fruit, toast the list went on. Free reliable internet available and its great way for me to communicate with my family back home (internet connection in Cambodia is generally slow and could be unreliable)
All in all, this is marvellous hotel with characters and lives up its great reputation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellea_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during our 4 week trip through S-E Asia.

The Hotel is located a bit outside the city center in a developing area of Siem Reap. However still within walking range (10-15 min). For about 1,5 $, a Tuk-Tuk will take you to the central market in about 5 minutes.

At first sight, the hotel looks waw! Nice entrance, friendly staff, domotics, TV+DVD player in the room. But, in fact it's a disaster. The sheets were dirty upon arrival, not one towel was clean during our stay. Domotics are malfunctioning. The laundry service was terrible: laundry was not clean at all. The free internet was extremely slow, but at least it was for free. It looked like the management built a nice hotel with a lot of features, but they're forgettling to maintain it. It's a pity.

There was a lot of light in the rooms and the rooms were very very noisy, especially with a party going on 100 meters away.

The didn't have a buffet breakfast. You just get a glass of juice and can take some fruits and choose between different types of pancake, egg,...

The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. The cleaining women however rushed us every day by knocking on the door around 9.30 am and asking if they could clean the room, even if the 'do not disturb sign' was on. One of the other hotel guests' ipod was stolen.

In conclusion: they have everything to make this a fantastics hotel, but they have to maintain it adequately, serve a better breakfast and train the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guerk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryCambodia, Manager at The Kool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

Thank you for taking your time giving us some feed backs in regards to your stay with us. We value our guests opinion and will endeavor to improve in the negative points and maintain our strong points.
However, there are always two sides of every story and we would also like to share:

Our hotel is located in the town centre however if some believe that Pub street area is acted as the centre of town then we are around 5 min ride. We also provide free shuttle to pub street area every night.A clear positive advantage to stay
a bit off the Pub street is the quietness since we are on the residential side of the city centre.

We strongly believe that the quality and cleanliness of our guest rooms meet at least international 3* or higher. Our towels and sheets are sanitized, washed, ironed then arranged into the guestrooms. At least our housekeeping staff would notice if the quality of towels or bedlinen are not of our standard and will remove them away. The housekeeping manager also checks each room after it has been cleaned and tidy up daily. Therefore, it is quite surprised that we received the feedback on this review that our sheets and towels were not cleaned from these guests while we did not receive any complaint from these in person in regards to towels throughout their stay. If we receive any complaints, we take our guests' complaint seriously as we welcome all feedback and thrive to improve to the best we could be. We also remove off our sheets and towels, in general, every 6-7 months. In regards to the complaint about disturbance of our housekeeper.To our surprise, this is a false claim, All housekeepers were instructed not to disturb guests or even use guests doorbell and this is our policy since we started our business. Housekeeping will be conducted in guestrooms by only advise from front desk/ reception desk when guests leave our hotel/ their room or if we are advised from guests. We did not receive these guests complaint about this matter as claimed in their review at all and we do not know how could this happen since our policy is clear and we never have this incident before. We would like to confirm that these guests never been disturbed by our staff not even once.

We did not receive any information or other complaint with other guests that thier ipod was stolen as mentioned whatsoever. This is a strong accusation. If it happens, we would take this matter seriously. We strongly suggest TA to remove this from review since it is a false accusation without any back up reason.

We provide well-lid guestrooms which guests could switch the light on and off on demand. Our curtains are sunlight proof once closed, the room is dark when needed.

Our guests rooms are sealed. It could not be possible if the guests could hear very loud noise from 100m away as for 100m radiance, it should be in our hotel compound. Bear in mind that in a traditional town of Cambodia like Siem Reap, traditional weddings or other functions are organized mainly at home and it could be held in a different way from what the guest gets used to. One thing is, Cambodian tend to compromise on the level of noise from loud speakers in their functions and from their neighborhood. It is not on a regular basis that we received a complaint for noise since we are located in one of the most quiet areas of the town. Functions could happen at anytime, anywhere in town of Siem Reap and no matter where you choose to stay. We aware of this before we opened our hotel and we have tried in every way to seal our rooms from sound outside. Our guest rooms when sealed or closed are quiet and if there is extra load noise outside, there is a chance that persons in the room would hear but in an acceptable level for human.

However, during this guest stay, there was no such parties nor function with high level of noise in our area at all.

It is untrue that we offer only very limited choice of breakfast. It is correct that buffet is not offered for breakfast. However we do have a long list of breakfast variety for our guests to choose from and in generous portion. Apart from a dish of breakfast, guests also could have unlimited fruits, drinks, breads, jams, and some other things from our breakfast table corner. Our hotel is a small hotel with only 20 rooms. Providing freshly cooked meals and made-to-order dish is what we have received constant positive feedback from our guests. We value your feedback and will take it into our consideration for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Its hard to describe if you do not stay here by yourself. I booked my room directly from the hotel website after checking out other online hotel websites and found out booking directly was a better deal. Everything in the hotel is new, nice and clean. The people are the best feature, kind, friendly and very very helpful. To keep it short, read other great reviews about the hotel's facilities and services. The rate offered includes lots of things e.g. free internet, wifi in room, made-to-order breakfast, free shuttle from the airport and to the tourist area. All in all, it's really a bargain 4 start a/c at the price of 2*:)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiolna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We enjoyed our time at the Kool Hotel (which deserves a better name than that).

The staff was accommodating and very friendly. It usually felt like genuine, open friendliness, and not just 'hospitality' friendliness, too, which is a big bonus in my book. It was easy to have a relaxed conversation.

Our (Apsara Deluxe) room was comfortable and fairly spacious. It was also generally quite quiet (though it was a slow time at the hotel with not many guests, which probably helped). The most noticeable noise was from the frogs at night! Wi-fi Internet was sometimes spotty in the room, but not too bad, and fairly fast when it worked.

There is no lift, but the hotel is only four stories (we were on the top floor), and it wasn't a big issue.

The included breakfast was pretty good, with the largest menu I've ever witnessed for a complimentary breakfast. The pool was sizable and warm, with lots of lounge chairs around.

The hotel is located about a kilometer out of the center of town, but there are always tuk-tuks around to take you there for $2, and the complimentary evening shuttle was pretty handy. It wasn't a big bother.

We arranged an airport transfer, a car to the temples one day, a tuk-tuk to the temples for the second day, and bus transport to Phnom Penh through the hotel, and had no problem with any of it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goatontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This is a place where some larger scale hotels should send their staff to learn from. The staff performance and services are absolutely excellent. The room, facility, food, pool are 4* to4 1/2 * however I only paid for 2* price. Real bargain! I would also recommend to check the hotel website directly as I found the rate offered were cheaper and the hotel confirmed my reservation promptly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank untimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Great choice for a family run hotel in Siem Reap in the same price range. Very warm and friendly staff. You could not go wrong with this hotel. only 5 min ride by thier complimentary van shuttle to shopping and restaurant areas. Breakfast was great and fresh. good sized swimming pool.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richieOnGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
#28 of 361 in Siem Reap
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#32 of 361 in Siem Reap
210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#38 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,674 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#50 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £26 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing