We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a good night sleep even when you're on a budget!”
Review of Ta Som Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ranked #202 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was our first time in Cambodia and I was afraid that staying in a guesthouse will turn out to be awful but after a lot of research, I decided to book a room with Ta Som Guesthouse. The reservation was such a breeze! They responded promptly to my emails and when we arrived at the airport, we were picked up by their friendly tuktuk driver. The triple room was just right and it has three double beds which were comfortable. The room was also clean and spacious. The bathroom was also huge! We had a hearty breakfast and before we left for Phnom Penh, we were given a souvenir which was a nice touch. The only downside was we couldn't use their wifi anywhere in the guesthouse. It could be a network problem, though. We only stayed for two nights but we always had a good sleep. I'd recommend Ta Som Guesthouse to female travelers on a budget!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamCGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very clean place, friendly staff. For $7 US, per day including breakfast and they organize your visit to the Angkor Wat temples too. Id recommend this place any day of the week. Great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We were picked up from the bus stop for free and when we arrived everyone seemed to know our name. The rooms are clean and spacious with hot water. The rooms are cleaned everyday. Breakfast is great and huge! They have their own tuk tuk drivers so you are charged a reasonable price. Only a 15 minute walk to pub street and 20minute bicycle ride to the Angkor Wat. Service was outstanding, we would definitely stay there again. It seems like a family owned and run business and it gives the place a warm, welcoming feel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMarion1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We booked in advance by email, and everything was as promised from the tuk tuk waiting for us at the airport to the same getting us back there on time at the end of our stay. We hired it twice more during our 5 night trip - to take us to Anghor Wat on one day and for a sightseeing tour and museum visit on another. The hotel is right in the town centre and close to shops, spas, markets, restaurants, etc., but it's set back from the road and we were never disturbed by traffic or any other noise at night. The bed was comfortable, cable tv and the aircon worked efficiently, water pressure in the bathroom was always strong enough to have a good hot shower, and daily room cleaners changed the bedsheets and left fresh towels and bottled drinking water. Breakfast was included, and the restaurant also offers a reasonably priced all-day menu if you don't feel like searching for somewhere to eat outside. To top it off the staff were always very friendly and most of them spoke enough English for essential communications. It was our first visit to Cambodia and we really enjoyed Siem Reap. It's a small laid back city with many attractions, and it has luxury hotels at much higher prices, but if you're travelling on a tight budget we'd definitely recommend Ta Som. Amazing value for money.

Room Tip: There's no elevator but Ta Som is only 3 storeys high. We were on the top floor which is probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A few days before our flight, I have decided to email the Ta Som Guesthouse just to make sure that we will have a service pick up upon arriving in Siem Reap from a 13-hour travel from HCMC. The manager, Mr Meng ensured that everything is in order. True enough we were picked up at the bus station by our friendly tuk-tuk driver. Upon arriving at the Guesthouse we were warmly received by the receptionist and helped us at our room. After being on the road for almost the whole day, seeing our cozy room was a real relief for our aching backs. The staff was friendly and accommodating, breakfast was good and the tuk-tuk rental was cheap. They even gave us fruits in our room which was a really sweet gesture of Cambodian hospitality. We also have our ride going to Bangkok booked with them as they are affiliated with Capitol Tours. Overall, we have enjoyed our stay and would recommend this to family and friends

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red_Velvet_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I'm stayed at Ta Som GH for 3night (27-29 May). The manager Mr Meng is nice as well as the staffs & tuk tuk driver. The rooms is clean, equied with aircond, a ceiling fan and small fridge. Breakfast is included with six options, breads or noodles chooices.

Though out of 3 night, the 1st night the electricity breakdown took place (where the whole SR cities impacted)..It tooks about 4 hr to resume the electricity supply.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeCheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Having traveled around Asia staying at budget guesthouses I found this one to be about the best deal I've encountered. I know what to expect in SE Asia and the four star hotels have never impressed me. Ta Som was extemely comfortable, clean, accomodating and without pretention.
The manager, Mr. Mang Meng, and his staff seem to have put a lot of thought into anticipating tourist needs and put their services in the most easy and logical place one can find them. And they seem to comprehend the value of extending this for a variety of languages, nationalities and currencies. Breakfasts are included and they serve a respectable amount of good food with very little wait. I really appreciated the staff's ability to be there when you need them and answer questions without [--] or surliness. I used one of their drivers on my trips to the temples and he was quite straighforward. Socheat is a very safe driver on his motorcycle and his tuk-tuk and he speaks fluent English. He was easy to find when I finished looking around, which isn't always the case with tuk-tuk drivers. His company on the ride was quite friendly and good-humored. Even if you are staying at another hotel he can be hired at cheatdriver2008@yahoo.com. Overall I found nothing lacking at Ta Som and quite a bit more quality than I expected for US$12 per night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#183 of 374 in Siem Reap
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Orange Hotel
Golden Orange Hotel
#334 of 374 in Siem Reap
107 reviews
1 mi away
Champey Villa
Champey Villa
#193 of 374 in Siem Reap
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#150 of 374 in Siem Reap
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
#251 of 374 in Siem Reap
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#165 of 374 in Siem Reap
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ta Som Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ta Som Guesthouse

Address: 268, National Road Number 6, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £7 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ta Som Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New traditional Khmer-style villa with nice balconies, comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. In the heart of Siem Reap, 200 metres from royal residence and park. 5 min to old market, 8 min to airport, 12 min to Angkor Wat. All room rates include daily breakfast. Free pick up and transfer from airport/bus/boat. We provide tour arrangements and garden restaurant & bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ta Som Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing