We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, very central, great experience......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ta Som Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ranked #168 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very friendly, very central, great experience......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We arrievd in TaSom on the 11th of Nov, we were booked with them for a package for 5 nights 6 days.
Mr. Meng the owner with the guide POK was there to pick us up at the airport. The guesthouse was very basic, but vry clean, everybody was very helpful. All our arrangements were superbly organized and we were very well looked after.
In fact i left my wallet at the reception, got to the market and realized. Rushed back and just prayed that it be there. It was i had left it at the internet desk and they had kept it aside at the recetion as they did not know who it belonged to..... i am really very very grateful to them for this..... Thank u

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laxmihonavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    109
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
16
99
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

A nice friendly guesthouse 10 minutes walk away from the city centre. Super clean and very spacious rooms, hot water, spot on bathroom and even some amenities like free toothbrushes and shampoo. Decent breakfast is included in the room price. Free pick-up and drop-off from whereever you arrive or depart. The staff in reception is a little ill at ease.
WiFi is free but really crappy and often unusable. Laundry was double the price of small laundry places around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjam_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

My wife and I both Loved our stay at Ta Som and Cambodia in general. We could have stayed at one of the fancy Hotels owned by some unknown far away millionaire but based on reviews here on Tripadvisor we decided to stay here and keep the cash flowing locally. We couldn't have been happier. Ta Som is a family run guesthouse and the staff is friendly and extremely helpful. The Guesthouse is within 15 minutes of reasonable walking distance to Pub street, but to be honest, we rarely made it that far before choosing a place to eat and have a few drinks. We particularily liked a place called the Old House Cafe which had superb service and excellent Khmer food and unbelievably resonable prices...(Try the Chicken Amok which is a curry dish with coconut milk...Yummy) We usually hired a Tuk tuk to drive us back to Ta Som and for only $2 for 4 people it was well worth the cost. The temples are absolutely amazing, and will knock your socks off but be sure to save a half a day to visit the floating village of Kompong Phluk. We had never seen anything like it and visually the images of this beautiful village will stay with you forever. Lastly we visited on the last day the amazing Beng Mealea ruins which took 2 hours to get there by tuk tuk but the long journey was worth it as the sights of everyday Cambodian life in the countryside was an eyeopener. Be sure and ask for a tour of the orphange near the village called Harmony Farms, run by 2 Khmer men and western volunteers. The children will make your heart leap with happiness and sadness at the same time. Be sure to make a donation as truly good work is being done here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottSkog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

First impression - good. We booked the Angkor Highlights package tour through email, and Meng was very prompt in his replies. There are ongoing promotions; however, only one of Ta Som's 2 websites features them. We weren't informed of the 10% discount for the package tours, but upon query, it was immediately offered. Personally I wasn't thrilled, but still this didn't cloud my overall impression of the guesthouse and my stay.

My friends and I took the 6pm coach from Phnom Penh, and arrived in Siem Reap just past midnight. The free pick-up service offered was therefore extremely useful - the bus station where we were dropped was some distance away from the guesthouse. We were shown our rooms with minimal fuss.

Room - comfortable and spacious enough. The bathroom was not too cramped, which is rare for a guesthouse. My only gripe was the dust behind the TV rack - and that's just me being a cleanliness freak - and I only discovered the dust when pulling out the TV rack to get access to the power sockets.

Breakfast - basic but decent. We got to choose from a selection of eggs (sunny side up, hard boiled or fried), noodles (friend or soup) and beverages (coffee or tea). The eggs and noodles were good, the coffee was too mild for my liking.

Angkor Highlights tour - brilliant. Our tour guide (I think his name is Phann) was very knowledgeable and humorous. At first I was slightly worried that we wouldn't be able to cover all the temples on the itinerary, but by the end of the 2 days, we had actually covered more than what was stated in the itinerary. Phann brought us to a secluded and quiet spot to watch the sun rise over Angkor Wat, avoiding the throngs of tourists on the main boulevard.

Chong Kneas Floating Village - I thought it was pretty cool that the package tour included this on the itinerary, giving temple-weary tourists a good break. However, on hindsight, I'd have preferred to explore Benteay Srei and the Roulos temples further afield. If you had been on a boat trip to the Mekong Delta, you might find the Tonle Sap boring, despite its status as the largest lake in Southeast Asia, its great biodiversity and the curious reversal of its flow in between the dry and wet seasons.

Location - there's a free tuk-tuk service from the guesthouse to the Old Market, which is near Pub Street, home to the restaurants and watering holes. A tuk-tuk back to the guesthouse set us back by USD2 each time, though I'm pretty sure there are drivers who will accept USD1 in the day.

We have Meng to thank for warning us against buying notebooks or snacks to present to the children in the floating school - some Singaporean apparently bought 10 notebooks for USD40. If it were charity I wouldn't have minded, but this was clearly a well-planned scam. We were quoted USD15, which was still exorbitant given that one notebook could not have cost more than 30 cents, plus our 'guide' was almost certainly entitled to a huge cut.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zestymushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

It wasn't until 30 minutes before I left when I did my research on where to stay in Siem Reap. And Ta Som was the first guest house that caught my attention because of the reasonable rate and the very favorable reviews of previous clients. So it was decided that we will stay here. Our taxi dropped us off in front of the guest house and the staff greeted us with the warmest Cambodian hospitality. The staff were friendly and always willing to help. Our tuktuk driver who took us around the temples was amazing. He's name is Mori and if you want him to bring you around I suggest that you would. He is very reliable. And how can I forget Mr. Meng, the manager (or maybe owner, idk). The coolest person ever. He shared with us his afternoon snacks. LOL! Having said all that, my stay was perfect. I would definitely spread the word to everyone I know that this is the place to stay in Siem Reap. Can't wait to go back. :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dohnpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

This is not a top end hotel. The hotel is fronted by a dirt access road. The staff sleep on the lobby floor at night. If this seems simply ghastly to you, do not stay at the Ta Som. With that out of the way...

This hotel is a great value! The staff is fantastic, friendly, and service oriented. It is located within 15 minutes walking distance to old quarter. Rooms were spacious and clean. Wireless internet was available in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Staff and Service: friendly, helpful and polite - there was always a smile on everyone's face. The guesthouse provided airport transfers (both ways) and also picked us up from the Siem Reap bus station upon our arrival from Phnom Penh. This was great service!

Rooms: The room was clean and comfortable. Our room had a King size bed with air con so it was really comfortable after a hot day outside. The breakfast menu was fixed, but at least they were flexible on the time we wanted to eat. The welcome drink was delicious!

If you're a light sleeper, then you may be woken up early in the morning if your room is on the kitchen side - noises of cooking and washing of dishes!

Location: it's not at Pub Street where the night life is, but it's near the Airport and Angkor Wat. The walk to Pub Street was about 15-20min, but, strongly advice not to walk too long at the streets as it's dusty and the sun is scorching! Tuk Tuk ride was only US$2 so we just Tuk Tuk everywhere we went.

Some areas to improve: wifi strength in the rooms not very strong.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenDaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#156 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Orange Hotel
Golden Orange Hotel
#310 of 338 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#138 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#152 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xing Angkor Hotel
Xing Angkor Hotel
#206 of 338 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#162 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ta Som Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ta Som Guesthouse

Property: Ta Som Guesthouse
Address: 268, National Road Number 6, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ta Som Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New traditional Khmer-style villa with nice balconies, comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. In the heart of Siem Reap, 200 metres from royal residence and park. 5 min to old market, 8 min to airport, 12 min to Angkor Wat. All room rates include daily breakfast. Free pick up and transfer from airport/bus/boat. We provide tour arrangements and garden restaurant & bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ta Som Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing