We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It has an asian & homy feel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ta Som Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ranked #165 of 334 Hotels in Siem Reap
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“It has an asian & homy feel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

This was my first visit to Cambodia and Ta Som guesthouse surprised me with a high hospitality standard. The chilled welcoming drink was fantastic.

My friend & I had a big room meant for 3 persons at no extra charge. Room is spacious. It has a wall fan though air conditioning system is working fine. We stayed 5 nights and had our room cleaned every day.

The staff is accommodative especially when our group (of 21) requested for early breakfast on Angkor Wat marathon event day. Service was fast and breakfast complete with fruits.

Location of Ta Som guesthouse is good. The guesthouse is clean, cosy and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yunxia010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    109
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
16
99
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

I found this small hostel to be very good value for money and really liked the personal service that was offered. The tuktuk driver Mr Moori was both our host and our guide as he took us wherever we wanted to go and waited to bring us back again. He also served us in the dining area which made for a continuous service. Any problems we had, he sorted out straight away. The room was serviced every day and was clean. The air con was very effective too. Very good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amlnitrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

We enjoyed our stay in Ta Som Guest House. Mr. Meng, Mr. Poly, and everyone in the guest house made us feel so welcome. Even though it's not a small guest house, they managed to create a comfortable family environment. We also liked they didn't mark-up the prices of bottled water, beer & soft drinks more than the supermarkets like many other guest houses/hotels.

Although the staff asked where we going or if we needed a tuk-tuk everyday, I didn't find them pushy as they were always so friendly and accommodating. Afterall, they are running a business and it's a form of good customer service, especially to those who actually need the transportation.

Each of the room has a slightly different configuration so it's good to look at a few rooms if they are available. Originally, I had a fan room with a window that faced the staff quarter. They later switched me to another fan room with a proper window when it was available. I appreciated the gesture as the guest house was fully booked during the Angkor Half Marathon. All the rooms are equipped with both fan & A/C so if you pay for the A/C, a room with a window facing a wall or the staff quarter may not be an issue, else the room may be a little stuffy.

The fried noodle and fried rice for breakfast were a little too salty for my preference, but they were tasty. The fresh baguettes delivered at 5am every morning were excellent (I happened to be up when the delivery came in.)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

I enjoyed my stay in Tasom Guesthouse. All the staffs are friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The tours arranged by the guesthouse were well planned and our English speaking tour guide (Thai-not sure if I spell his name correctly) was friendly and knowledgable. He explained to us details of the structures & history of the temples. The guide was so good that he ever complied with our special requests to visit the waterfall, local village and rice padi field. I will highly recommend my friends who are visiting Siem Reap to stay at Tasom Guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

My wife and I stayed 3 nigths in november 2010 in a double room on the ground floor. The room was basic ,with ac, tv, fridge and a facing kitchen window, bathroom was also basic but with a good hot flush shower, staff is quite good, in the lobby there are 3 computers with free internet, breakfast was basic but not bad. We paid 15$ per night (2 people with breakfast) so this is not the best hotel in which I stayed but is a good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigigigigigi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We arrievd in TaSom on the 11th of Nov, we were booked with them for a package for 5 nights 6 days.
Mr. Meng the owner with the guide POK was there to pick us up at the airport. The guesthouse was very basic, but vry clean, everybody was very helpful. All our arrangements were superbly organized and we were very well looked after.
In fact i left my wallet at the reception, got to the market and realized. Rushed back and just prayed that it be there. It was i had left it at the internet desk and they had kept it aside at the recetion as they did not know who it belonged to..... i am really very very grateful to them for this..... Thank u

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laxmihonavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

A nice friendly guesthouse 10 minutes walk away from the city centre. Super clean and very spacious rooms, hot water, spot on bathroom and even some amenities like free toothbrushes and shampoo. Decent breakfast is included in the room price. Free pick-up and drop-off from whereever you arrive or depart. The staff in reception is a little ill at ease.
WiFi is free but really crappy and often unusable. Laundry was double the price of small laundry places around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjam_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#153 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Orange Hotel
Golden Orange Hotel
#305 of 334 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#136 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Xing Angkor Hotel
Xing Angkor Hotel
#195 of 334 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#160 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Champey Villa
Champey Villa
#208 of 334 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ta Som Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ta Som Guesthouse

Property: Ta Som Guesthouse
Address: 268, National Road Number 6, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 334 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ta Som Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New traditional Khmer-style villa with nice balconies, comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. In the heart of Siem Reap, 200 metres from royal residence and park. 5 min to old market, 8 min to airport, 12 min to Angkor Wat. All room rates include daily breakfast. Free pick up and transfer from airport/bus/boat. We provide tour arrangements and garden restaurant & bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ta Som Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing