We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Khmer food at tourist prices”

Ranked #374 of 879 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Restaurant details
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic Khmer food at tourist prices”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a local friend. The food did not disappoint us as there was a good group of us and we were able to order close to a dozen dishes. This is good Khmer food, tasty, not too sweet or greasy. The restaurant is not much too look at (well, it's your average tasteless local dive). Unfortunately the prices are meant for foreigners (overpriced).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mister S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real khmer food and chefe”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This one of real Cambodia restaurant in siem reap
I asked them many guestions sound great all is Dane by Cambodian people I love all this food and drinks are excellent
I would recommend this restaurant To all local and client
Visit Cambodia taste real Khmer food

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 843reviews843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best lime juice I've ever had!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had to give this place one extra "star" just because I liked the lime juice so much! Other than that, there was nothing exceptional here but it's difficult to judge when you eat somewhere only once. The service wasn't really fast, but not terribly slow, either.

We stuck to food that we thought we'd like and didn't order any Khmer specialties. We just wanted a good lunch in a nice cool place to get us through an afternoon of sight-seeing. (See photos for the food.)

We would have never found this restaurant if our tour guide hadn't led us to the front door.

It was lunch time on a Monday when we visited and there weren't many people there. The restaurant itself if fairly large.

Besides the excellent lime juice, I ordered a "Lemon Shake" and it had a wonderful grassy overtone to it... I really liked that, too. I'd go back here just to try more of their [non alcoholic] drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuao, cagayan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We had amok, spring rolls, tom yang & Khmer fried rice. They were all good! But we had to wait for a loooong time. It was probably because the place was full.

Nonetheless, it is worth to try if looking for traditional Khmer cuisine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mannyandmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good simple Khmer food near Kbal Spean”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This restaurant was a lovely airy spot near Kbal Spean (river of 1000 Lingas). Food was fresh and delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borey Sovann Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Borey Sovann Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing