We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best hotel (but not the worst)”

Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa
Ranked #387 of 485 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best hotel (but not the worst)”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Ponloue Ankor is a basic backpacker hotel in a very good location in Siem Reap. The room we got for 14 USD (1 USD discount?) was a medium sized double bed room with airconditioning and without windows.

It was a clean and ok room but the air-quality wasn't too good. The warm-water was ok but showering (over 2 min) created a flood in the bathroom. Most of the lamps didnt work and there were nasty electricity cables hanging out of the wall. The breakfast was very basic - one piece of bread and one fried egg - but still better than nothing.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0rdic_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    15
    8
    16
See reviews for
4
11
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The room was quite nice overall and it was fairly clean for the most part, although the shower head was a bit dirty. I paid $10 for a reasonably big room with a double bed and a fan ($2 more for air-con). They picked me up from the airport for free but were a little pushy about getting me to use their tuk-tuk services, etc. to look around the temple. In retrospect, they weren't terribly overpriced - they may have been charging roughly the going rate, actually - but I was a little irritated at having to listen to them complain when I decided to go with someone else. Also, on the last night, the water stopped completely in my room. It had been fine up until that point with nice, warm showers but it was pretty rough when the water suddenly stopped altogether. The free breakfast was just a baguette with egg or jam and coffee but you couldn't really expect too much for $10 a night. They arranged my bus to Bangkok and it was comfortable and air conditioned. I got no information whatsoever at the border which made things rather confusing. The border staff didn't speak a word of any language to me. Still, once through the formalities, someone rounded me up to go to the next mini-van and it was all OK. The roads have been fixed so it's a good cheap way to travel from Siem Reap to Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Aus
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Used this as a stand-in between the hotel I'd stayed in for a week with a friend and another I was going to for my last 2 nights in Cambodia. I got the impression I was the only guest as I didn't see anyone else but didn't find anything wrong with this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and the staff member on reception was friendly. The breakfast was as expected - omelette and baguette, but fine! Great location.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingKarrieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

If you are looking for a nice, clean, affordable place in Siem Reap that is walking distance to the market and shops, this is a great villa to stay at. The staff are very helpful and speak English well. They picked us up at the airport and assisted with tours and recommended places to go. I walked everywhere and felt safe and welcomed at this Villa. A free breakfast was included and it was great to have internet access. Great spot for people on a budget and many NGO staff stay here while working in Cambodia.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGreatWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed here on our first night in Siem Reap. The room that we stayed in is rather dingy, the toilet paper were wet and dried and it looked that they haven't been used in a long time together with the toothbrush, shampoo and soap. It's a good thing we always bring our own toiletries.

The room was priced at $18.00, I mean we've seen much better rooms for less. The room has a/c, a broken mini ref, a hot shower and cable tv.

The only thing that I like there is when I saw the beautiful sunrise outside its door. It was magnificent like a dream.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cholon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#164 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#174 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#261 of 342 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#67 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cercle D'angkor Villa
Cercle D'angkor Villa
#158 of 261 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Sengky Guest House
Sun Sengky Guest House
#301 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa

Property: Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa
Address: Sivatha Road, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 485 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing