We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful garden villa oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Ranked #55 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden villa oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Mr Hak speaks great english and will help with all your needs. The resort is peaceful, quiet and the rooms are beautiful. The pool is great and the pool side menu is fantastic. The resort is within walking distance to centre of town and all Tuk Tuk drivers knew it for the late night ride return back.

Room Tip: Ive stayed multiple times in different rooms and they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    153
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
113
194
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at this delightful boutique hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed every moment. All of the hospitality team were warm and welcoming and for us, epitomised the very essence of Khmer culture. Tours and tuk-tuk rides organised for us were first class; and the bus/airport transfers provided free of charge were very much appreciated.The hotel is in a great location - a quiet oasis only 10 minutes walk away from the centre of Siem Riep - and is very well managed and maintained. We highly recommend this hotel as a base for both exploration and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyatSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I and my girl friend stayed 2 nights at the hotel on road national No 6 on the Khmer New Year and it is so noisy and busy then I had remove to Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort for 2 nights more, it is so peaceful and quiet.
It takes about 10 minutes walking to pub street where you can find every things ( Restaurant, Bar and night market also ). The garden and the pool are very nice as it is so hot about 40 degree and the rooms have A/C working very well and the fan, especially, I and my girl friend can sit on the private balcony with 2 comfortable armchairs over looking the beautiful garden and hear the sound of the bird in the evening every where.

For the breakfast, it is so tasty and fresh, they start from 6:30 am to 10:00 am, even I am a little bit late, but I still have, for lunch and dinner it is reasonable price as well.

I definitely stay this hotel again if I come back to Siem Reap.

Tang Bunna, Phnom Penh ( Cambodia )

Room Tip: I prefer up stair room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My friend and I stayed at Sonalong Village for 10 nights. The hotel was comfortable and very quite considering we were only a 10 minute walk to the main part of town. The manager, Mr Hak, spoke fantastic English and was very helpful. He organised 3 days of private tours for us in an air-conditioned car (which was appreciated when it's 30-40 degrees every day!) and happily helped us fix up our flights when Vietnam Airlines messed us up.

Our room was plain and simple which was fine for us and it was cleaned daily. The only complaint I have is that the pillows were very thick and firm and hurt my neck and the cleaner didn't pay much attention to the mirrors as we had toothpaste on ours since before our arrival. Overall their customer service was fantastic, the rooms were nice and the grounds were beautiful. If I went back to Siem Reap I'd say there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha_June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you so much SAMANTHA and AMANDA for your time to write a review about our resort to TripAdvisor. I am sorry for my housekeeping didn't pay attention about the tooth past, the reason is you used yours that she didn't replace the new one very day, sometimes I have passengers like you, they used their own.
On be half of Sonalong Boutique Village would like to express my deep thankfulness for your 10 nights stayed with us and it is very useful for the future business after we see your review, so that we can improve our services for the next clients.

Best regards
CHHAY HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Mr Hak, whom I've known for years, is a first-class manager. With him in charge, the smooth running of the hotel is guaranteed.
Everything about this hotel is exemplary. The room was luxurious and a real bargain for 48 dollars; the small pool is well maintained; the garden - the whole place is a tropical garden - is beautiful; the food and service are good.
Siem Reap town centre is a 15-minute walk away, or a one-dollar tuk-tuk ride.
Much better, I think, to stay in this small friendly hotel than in one of the expensive 'monster' hotels.

Room Tip: All the rooms have extensive balconies, but an upstairs balcony is best. So choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you so much KEVIN for your keep coming to Cambodia and strongly support stay with us.
Your review is very useful for our future business ( even it is positive or negative ) we are pleased to see you and your girl friend again and let us have a chance to serve.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked into the Sonalong for 5 nights at a cost of $269.79, so roughly $50 a night. The rooms are built in fours with two rooms being on the bottom and then two directly over them. Each has a sitting area, deck or balcony, out front with two comfortable swing chairs.

The location of the hotel is a short 10-15 minute walk or 5 minute tuk tuk drive (don't pay more than $1) to Pub Street and set away from the hustle and bustle.

The room itself was comfortable, having a king size bed, AC, older model tv but with some watchable channels, safe and fridge stocked with your usual minibar items. What I will mention about the minibar is that unlike many hotels that overcharge for an items such as a beer, the Sonalong did no such thing and their prices were quite reasonable. I'd say perhaps a few cents more than picking it up yourself at a corner store (which I usually do) but in general, very well priced.

The pool was clean and welcoming, fresh towels set out every morning for use by the patrons. The grounds themselves are beautiful as well and very well cared for. Trees, flowers, fish ponds, etc. The entire grounds are fumigated every Monday to keep the bugs at bay.

The hotel restaurant served good Thai food. The western dishes could use improvement. Service was always prompt and hotel staff always friendly. The hotel manager, Mr. Hak, was always available should anyone have any concerns.

Mr. Choi picked us up at the bus stop and drove us in comfort to the hotel. He also proved to be an excellent tour guide when we visited Angkor and the surrounding area. Very kind and intelligent man who speaks good english.

The Sonalong proved to be a very comfortable, reasonably priced hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riz513ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear SIR and MADAM, I would like to say thank you for your valued time to write the review, on be half of Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, I am the manager will take note your review about the bathroom ( now the bathroom is under improvement ), hopefully, it will finish at the end of May and it will be the modern bathroom.
We expect to see both of you again.


Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Over the Easter break (April 2012) we had the priviledge of visiting Siem Reap. Our tour was organised by Wide Eyed Tours in Hanoi, Vietnam. It was an all inclusive package deal including air fares from Saigon, Sonalong accomodation, a driver, car and a tour guide for 2 days. We were met at the Air Port by the Driver (Joy), who was on time, courteous, polite, well spoken and very informative. We arrived at Sonalong Boutique Village and were greated by Mr Hak, the owner. He welcomed us with a cool drink, he gave us a full briefing confirming the pre arranged Itinerary, and had his staff escort us to the room. Appart from making a copy of our passports, there were no other complicated forms etc.

My first impression was that it is smaller than the impression I got from their web site, but nonetheless, it is very cosy, friendly, clean and located only a few minutes walk from the main markets, or a $1 ride in a Tuk Tuk.

I had a small issue with the safe in my room, and as there are no phones in the rooms, I strolled up to reception, the young man in attendance immediately followed me to my room and rectified the problem immediately, and waited while I ran through the process to ensure all was good.

The following day the driver and guide were ready waiting for us at the designated time. The Guide (Mr Soekhoum) and Joy took us to the Temples Park for our Saturday tour. The Guide was very knowledgable and we were well informed to say the least. We became all templed out by mid afternoon, so he took us to another location that was not on our itinerary, which was the very sad Killing Fields. I was impressed that they should take us to a non itinerised location without any problems at all.

On day 2, we were up and ready to travel out to Angkor Wat for the morning sunrise. The Guide took us to a good vantage point to view the sunrise. After which, we were taken into the Temple for a more informative tour. After wards we returned to Sonalong for breakfast, followed by a tour of the Lake and the villages on the lake. That evening, we were taken to a dinner folk dancing show, again all inclusive to the package.

Both my wife and myself really enjoyed the personalised time at Sonalong Boutique. Wide Eyed Tours organised us a very comprehensive tour and I have to say that the whole package cost was extremely cheap, considering everything was all inclusive (except lunch on the first day). Mr Hak's staff at Sonalong are very young and hard working, the rooms were kept very clean, and they are reasonably well appointed. If you want 5 star, then this is not for you. If you want a clean, neat, personalised, friendly,very secure accomodation, with good fresh food, then Sonalong is for you.

There are over 200 hotels in Siem Reap to choose from, most are overseas conglomerates raking in the money to send back home. Sonalong is a locally owned entity, and every cent you spend there, most likely stays in Cambodia. Do yourself a favour and visit Sonalong Boutique Village in Siem Reap, and support the local economy. These people deserve it, they are just great, and I cannot recommend them highly enough.
Mick Skehan, Perth, Western Australia.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#33 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#66 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#46 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#39 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort

Property: Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Address: Street 27 | Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by a friendly khmer manager who speaks excellent English, Sonalong Village is situated in a quiet area within walking distance of the main shops, restaurants and Old Market area in Siem Reap and just 15 minutes drive from the International Airport and the Ankor Temple complex. Surrounded by beautiful flowery tropical gardens there are 8 double and 8 twin rooms, each with free Wifi, shower, A/C, ceiling fans, mini bar and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonalong Boutique Village Hotel Siem Reap
Sonalong Boutique Village And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing