We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Ranked #75 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very quiet, small and super friendly resort. Staff are amazing. So happy and helpful. Rooms are a good size, a little dated but you are not in them much so it doesn't matter. Nice to have a verandah for each room too. Pool nice size and very clean. Breakfast is great and the dinner menu is good. Just far enough away from the main market and restaurant area to enjoy Siem Reap. Short tuk tuk ride - 3 min if that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baloo_loo_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much SIR and MAMDA for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor.
I do hope to see you again next time.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Gorgeous boutique resort. Resort is set up so that you don't really see the other rooms bar the one that is nearest to you. Great to sit out on the veranda with the best lounge chairs. Good size rooms and the friendliest staff from the moment you arrive with Mr Hak to when you leave. Pool very handy as the when we were there it was 35 degrees. Staff organised everything for us from the bikes we wanted to hire, plus the scooters and the trip to Angkor Wat. Couldn't do enough for us. Take USD as nearly everywhere uses USD, including the laundry just done the road ($1 per kilo). Tuk tuk ride into town is $2

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much SIR and MAMDA for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor.
It is very important to improve our local business near the future and I do hope to see you again next time.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous. A handful of luxury villas set in a fantastic lush garden. It's so peaceful and a welcome relief to get into the pool after a hot day at the temples. The staff were so friendly. The tuktuk driver picked us up from the airport and was always around for local help if needed. The hotel packed us a breakfast for the days we went to the sunrise at the temples and the other days its menu order rather than buffet but you can order as much as you like at no extra cost. I would stay there again. On check out day they let us keep the room until our flight at no extra cost because the next guests were not due early.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonionhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much SIR and MAMDA for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor.
Every things that my staffs and I did, we want the passengers who stayed here are happy and have a wonderful time in our country.
I do hope to have a chance to see you again next time.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Fantastic small quiet resort - sit on your verandah and only see a maximum of 2 other rooms as you look at the surrounding trees and plants. Nice sized pool and offers all sorts of services. Here's a tip - take plenty of small USD notes with you - generally $2 for tuk tuk ride. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. Would definitely recommend and it is a few minutes ride to the markets and restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 112, all seem pretty good - if you want second floor, then perhaps ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much SIR and MAMDA for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor.
I do hope to see you again next time.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights & loved it!! Mr Hak was there to welcome us when we arrived and gave us lots of information about places to see and visit. We were able to book our 3 day temple tour by Tuk-Tuk and car through the hotel and put it on our room bill to pay everything at the end on credit card. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly - always smiling!! My friend has a food allergy and the breakfast waitress was able to write this out in Cambodian for my friend to carry around for restaurants outside the hotel. The hotel restaurant has great food - breakfasts were great and we also ate lunch and dinner here a few times - the amok fish curry in banana leaves was so amazing I had it twice!! Overall we had a wonderful, relaxing stay here and I would definitely stay here again next time I visit!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachtraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much SIR and MAMDA for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor, even positive or negative.
It is very important to improve our local business near the future and I do hope to have a chance see you again next time.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lovely peaceful hotel in a quiet part of town, good value for money, lovely pool (with plenty of sun/shade beds), and friendly staff. The gardens were beautiful and well tended. We will undoubtedly return to Siem Reap and would happily stay at the Sonolong again.
However, there is room for improvement in some areas - only minor details but things to work on.. toiletries not replenished during our stay ( important to us since our luggage with our own toiletries was left behind in Luang Prabang by Vietnam airlines), room cleaning was not as thorough as it could be (verandah ash tray not emptied)
Breakfasts (included) were simple but presentation could be improved and a bottomless coffee (free refills) would be a welcome addition at breakfast.

Room Tip: stairs to the top floor rooms are quite steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much SIR and MAMDA for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor.
It is very important to improve our local business near the future and I do hope to see you again next time.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Sonalong is a find, especially for budget travellers. It's across the river from the centre of town, and a 5-minute, 2-dollar tuktuk ride away. The gardens are delightful, the rooms are lovely, air-conditioned with ceiling fans as well, with nice large balconies. There is a lovely pool, a nice restaurant, front desk service is swift and pleasant, and for the price I would recommend it extremely highly! It's not the Victoria, but it was a genuinely great surprise, and I'll be recommending it to anyone who will listen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peekay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you so much SIR and MADAM for your valued time to wrote a view bout our resort to TripAdvisor. it is very useful for the local business near the future.
I do hope to have a chance to see you again someday.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.7 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#108 of 374 in Siem Reap
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand River Angkor Hotel
Grand River Angkor Hotel
#87 of 374 in Siem Reap
298 reviews
1 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#59 of 374 in Siem Reap
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#73 of 374 in Siem Reap
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#89 of 374 in Siem Reap
880 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#45 of 374 in Siem Reap
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort

Address: Street 27 | Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#38 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £28 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by a friendly khmer manager who speaks excellent English, Sonalong Village is situated in a quiet area within walking distance of the main shops, restaurants and Old Market area in Siem Reap and just 15 minutes drive from the International Airport and the Ankor Temple complex. Surrounded by beautiful flowery tropical gardens there are 8 double and 8 twin rooms, each with free Wifi, shower, A/C, ceiling fans, mini bar and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonalong Boutique Village And Resort
Sonalong Boutique Village Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing