We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Ranked #52 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent 5 nights here recently and loved the atmoshere of this plce. Very welcoming and gracious staff with good english.
good tuk tuk to use outside into the town as with wet weather roads and non existent paths becoming rougher and rougher!!
Pool was lovely and refreshing with big loungers and plenty of towels.
Room was large with a fan as well as A/c which was a nice change. Screens on doors so able to leave open at night which was very pleasant in an upstairs room.
good shower and overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for upstairs room with lovely decks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionK625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonalongManager1, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank you so much SIR and MADAM for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor.
I do hope to have a chance to see you again.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    150
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
113
190
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 4 nights there is July. Fantastic, large clean rooms. Staff outstanding. All spoke excellent English. Swimming pool clean and inviting. Staff service at the front desk very helpful. Transport out the front friendly. Close to town but far enough out to avoid the hassles. Can not recommend this place highly enough. When is Siem Reap do yourself a favour and stay here.
Read our quotes on the walls of the bar.
"Fat out like a lizard drinking"
"Life's too short so drink the good wine first"
Thanks Mr Hak!!!!

Room Tip: Up stairs is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonalongManager1, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank you so much SIR and MADAM for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor.
I do hope to have a chance to see you again.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our second stay at Sonalong. We stayed for 6 nights and had a downstairs room which was large and comfortable. All rooms overlook the lush garden. It was a delight to be welcomed by the smiling Mardy every morning in the restaurant. We could choose from western or Cambodian breakfast. The hotel is very quiet but only a short distance to the hustle and bustle of the markets and Pub Street. You could walk but it was too hot. The staff arranged a regular tuk tuk driver for the duration of our stay, Mr Nga. It was great to return to the hotel for a swim in the large pool after a morning exploring the temples. The water was quite warm in the pool but it helped bring down the body temperature. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Sonalong and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonalongManager1, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank you so much SIR and MADAM for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor.
I do hope to have a chance to see you again.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I could not have been happier. Mr Hak and his staff work tirelessly to ensure their guests receive nothing but the best service and enjoy their time at Sonalong. We had upstairs rooms overlooking the garden near the pool which was excellent. The pool is just the best place to relax after visiting the sites or town. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. There is plenty of choice on the menu if you wish to eat in. We had a couple of very early starts and the staff very kindly prepared breakfast we could take with us. It's about a 10-15 minute walk into town. Tuk tuks are cheap and been away from Pub Street ensures the guests get a good nights sleep. Next time I'm Siam Reap I'll have no hesitation in returning to Sonalong. Thanks again Mr Hak.

Room Tip: I go for an upstairs room. There's a lot to be said for relaxing on a balcony with good friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much KEVIN for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor. of course, myself and staff are very happy to be sure all the guests who stay at Sonalong have a peasant stay and we do our best to keep the good green environment day by day as previous review said small green paradise oasis.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Thank you to the Sonalong staff and Mr Hak for offering a professional and personable stay. Being surrounded by the tropical fauna gave the impression of being almost alone while the tranquil pool area proved to be a peaceful space for us as a couple.
We appreciated the local insight into Cambodia history and culture and will be sure to return when next visiting SR.
Thank you Mr Hak

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much MELISA and your KIWI boy friend + your niece for staying with us and spent your valued time to talk with me every morning to get to know about Cambodian culture, especially, you are so generously to sponsor the poor kids who are unable to go to school, because of your help, they can go to school and I do hope they will have a good future.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Sonalong is a beautiful garden oasis walking distance to the old market and pub street. I have stayed here twice now for a total of four weeks and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I was made to feel like one of the family by the owner and staff. The beautiful bungalows are all set individually, one up one down. The rooms are very spacious, with fan, aircon, TV, good bed, sofa, fridge and great wifi. The balcony is the best, with comfortable reclining traditional chairs, overhead fan, and lovely plants. The garden is meticulously planted and lovingly looked after and I just loved being amongst it all. You feel like you are in tropical paradise. Breakfast is yummy and good range of choices. The pool area is well planned so that you are always in the shade of palms, which you need in the heat. It is very quiet and serene.

Room Tip: There are downstairs and upstairs rooms. I stayed in both but probably prefer the downstairs as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much DEBRA for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor and it is very useful to talk with you nearly every day to exchange the experiences about your culture and mine, especially, you are volunteer to help the poor kids in the rural in Cambodia to get good education about English and some things else. Hopefully, all the poor kids who has been learning with you will have a good future.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuenburg am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in the Sonalong Hotel for 4 nights while we visited Angkor Wat. The hotel is in walking distance to town, in a quiet little side street. The manager of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. He was always there to answer our questions but never, but never persisted that we buy something that he recommended. For Europeans this gives you a good and trustful feeling. The hotel rooms are set around a wonderful little garden with all different kinds of lush tropic plants. In the middle sits the pool and it was one of the best things to jump in there after a really hot day in the temples. For breakfast you sit right next to the pool and we could order everything we wanted from the menu.
The room was perfect, enough space for three people and very clean. The personal was extremely friendly and we were really sad when we had to leave. We can recommend this place to everybody who is looking for a small, quiet place in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomoFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much SIR for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor, on be half, I am the general manager and staff, would like to say thank you for your support our local business and do hope to see you next time.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#33 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.3 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#29 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#98 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#37 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort

Property: Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Address: Street 27 | Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by a friendly khmer manager who speaks excellent English, Sonalong Village is situated in a quiet area within walking distance of the main shops, restaurants and Old Market area in Siem Reap and just 15 minutes drive from the International Airport and the Ankor Temple complex. Surrounded by beautiful flowery tropical gardens there are 8 double and 8 twin rooms, each with free Wifi, shower, A/C, ceiling fans, mini bar and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonalong Boutique Village Hotel Siem Reap
Sonalong Boutique Village And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing