We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Angkor Resort
Ranked #30 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Out of town resort hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

First the good things:
The hotel´s common areas are well-appointed and attractively decorated, the rooms are very clean and nicely furnished. The pool area is small, but the room balconies over the water are a nice touch. The management is interested in their guests and trying to make things work. They do take a personal interest.
The less good things:
1.The rooms are divided up in a sort of dysfunctional way. The decision to have a traditional shower room (which takes lots of room and also provides a channel for noise) along with a regular bath and shower, toilet room and then have the small sink in the middle of the room is kind of strange. No place to put cosmetics. Sofas in room leave little open space, so things seem cramped.
2.The regular staff do not speak English as well as at other local hotels and generally seem a bit overwhelmed.
3. The shades in the room provide privacy during the day (can look out, but not in), but not at night. Then one has to close curtains! The closeness makes the poolside rooms seem to lack privacy.
4.The biggest drawback of the hotel is its location. It is quite far down the airport road out of town. Unfortunately its remoteness does not translate into a beautiful large quiet garden setting.
Tuktuks will take you into town (only 10-15 minutes), but if you use the hotel tuktuk this requires planning both for down and back. No spontaneity. It is easier to spend the $4 to get your own tuktuk - at least back. It seems that the hotel is geared to guests who come for a couple of days, take a tour of Angkor Wat, sit at the pool and eat at the hotel, use its spa, etc. Maybe go once for a couple of hours into town to the market. If you don´t want to have the center of your vacation be your hotel, this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: Stay in the back. Probably second floor rooms have more privacy. Probably don´t want to stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PamMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Your comments and recognition of our services and facilities assists us in enhancing our guest experience further

As part of our commitment to ensure we meet and indeed exceed our guests expectation is the ongoing development of our associates, this includes both technical and soft skills. I would welcome feedback on any specific concerns you encountered

Regarding our location, whilst we are not in the "centre"of town, I have to say it is actually our strong point in that we are close enough but not too close to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle, traffic and crowd. As with the majority of the hotels in Siem Reap, one has to take a Tuk-Tuk regardless and would not be able to step out and walk to the main part of town. It gives you the opportunity to relax and be away from the crowd after a day sightseeing.

Your comments will be shared with our team and as with other comments on Trip Advisor, our team and I appreciate your feedback and allows us to evaluate our offerings.

Wishing you a great year ahead and If I could be of assistance please do contact me directly and would be pleased to assist

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    77
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
196
325
41
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here once again, now the Sothea has been taken over by the Ananantara group. Surprisingly, no changes have been made to renovate or upgrade the hotel. The main disappointment is the breakfast, which is presented in a poor way, the restaurant looks dated and dark. Dining experience can not measure up with other hotels in Sieam Reap, like the Park Hyatt or the Shinta Mani, which are in the same price category but are much more stylish. We decided not to stay here again. The rooms though are spacious and nice, all overlooking the pool. Location is so so on the national street with merely hotels which cater to group tours.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank JR1Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for sharing your experience of your return stay at our resort.

I note your comment on our breakfast offering and would welcome feedback on specific areas you feel we did not meet your expectation. Our current breakfast offerings provide both Asian and European choices as well as selection of Khmer specialties. However, I would be please to look at other areas where you feel we are lacking.

Having re-branded as Anantara in November, I am pleased to share that we have various Anantara enhancements that is scheduled for the property. Though, I am pleased to note that you appreciate our rooms product and certainly offers one of the largest rooms with over 48 SQM for the leading room type category and up to 140 SQM for our Sothea suites

Your feedback is most valuable to us and allows us to set our standards higher. I appreciate your comments and concerns and please feel free to contact me directly if I could be of assistance in the future

I wish you a lovely 2014

Warm regards

Socrates

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed at the Anantara for 6 nights during the festive period 2013 with my family and parents. The hotel had recently changed from the Sothea and so I was unsure if this was going to effect the overall running of it. There was nothing to worry about however.

Plus Points.
*The Staff. They were all so warm, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they remembered the little things that we had asked for during our stay. They indulged our 3 year old, playing and making a fuss of him which he loved.
The management were lovely too and gave us some good ideas about what to visit, do etc.

*The rooms were in a good condition, clean and had everything you wanted. They were large enough to have the 3 of us in and still plenty of room for playing and moving about. The balcony was a good addition.

*The pool was great to relax by. It was calm, quiet and peaceful although very cold. I imagine it warms up over the course of the year but be prepared to be brave getting in at the moment!

*Breakfast gave us enough options to make us feel that we could have something different each morning. It certainly filled us up for the day ahead.

*Location wise, the hotel is about 10 mins from the airport and 5-7mins away from the centre of town in a tuck-tuck. It was nice to be out of the centre actually and if you let the reception know that you would like to go into town they will organise a complimentary tuck tuck for you.

The only down side was the prices of the food from the restaurant. On a few occasions we got lunch for our little one at the hotel and it cost the same as a meal for all 3 of us in town. Granted we are paying for the service, location etc and I understand that it is going to cost more because of this, but I do feel that it was still on the expensive side.

Overall I enjoyed staying at the hotel very much and I would stay there again if we were to ever re-visit Siem Reap.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeCbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience of the Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa.

Our asset is definitely our associates and thank you for recognizing the excellent service our team provided to you and your family particularly your young one.

Indeed our location is most ideal, close to town but far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle of the center with our complimentary tuk-tuk a short ride away

I note your feedback on the pricing of the meals and will evaluate. I am pleased that the offering is good but we will continue to ensure that we provide an exceptional experience in this regard and improve where we need to.

Your comments will be shared with our team and I would like to thank you once again for staying with us and please feel free to contact me directly for future requirements

Kind regards

Socrates

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our four days stay at Anantara exceeded every expectations in every way. We had the most wonderful stay, greeted with warm welcome, beautiful and comfortable room, delicious breakfast, excellent dinner, stunning pool area, spa was good and the staffs at the hotel were outstanding! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had the most amazing, peaceful and relaxing time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou and season's greetings from Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience here on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us and appreciated the facilities we have on offer.

Most importantly, our team of associates exceeded your expectation and extended warm hospitality.

Your comments will be shared with our resort team and thank you for feedback

Should you have future plans to return, please feel free to contact me for assistance

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed there recently as a last minute getaway from the kids and a chance to visit the temples. We asked for airport transfers and upon arrival we were greeted with cold towels and staff who immediately took our bags. The hotel was a short drive away (delayed slightly as The Cambodian Royal Family was passing by!) and again had cold towels and for once, a really tasty welcome drink. Despite us hating the notion of guided tours, we took up their offer for the next day including a 4.30 start for sunrise over Angkor Wat. The whole day was superb. Our guide was courteous, knowledgeable and a very willing photographer and really added value to the trip. He didnt try pushing any sidetrips to local shops or anything - whatever we wanted to do he did and he did it with a lovely warm smile. After sun-up and a walk around Angkor Wat, we headed back to the hotel for some breakfast and a quick snooze before heading back out to the other temples. The breakfast is nice, but as the hotel has only 40-odd rooms its not the massive buffet most asian hotels have. The staff help out and all the basics are covered, and covered well. The sliced fresh mango is especially good!

The next day we elected to take one of the hotel tuk-tuks arond the lesser known temples without a guide. Again - superb! Again the driver was knowledgeable and was happy to point out certain bits of trivia as we rode along.

We decided to take the tuk-tuk back to the airport but on the final day it was already being used by another guest so they offered us the 4x4 instead at no extra charge. A wonderful way to end the trip.

A lovely moment encapsulated the professionalism of the staff. After having some dinner and enjoying the nightlife in town we decided to head home. We called the hotel (they give you a free cell phone to make calls) to send a tuktuk to pick us up (again, complimentary). We were advised that as it was late, all their drivers had gone home and we were to get into any tuktuk and the hotel would pay. So we jumped into the nearest one and went to the hotel. Upon arrival, the manager came to us and simply said "Thankyou Sir, please have a good night" and ushered us into the hotel without a word of what price we had agreed with the tuktuk driver (an exhorbitant one). We didnt look back and nothing was ever mentioned. Very classy!

If we visit the temples again, this is where my dollars are going.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarkar256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa as your resort here in Siem Reap.

Thank you for sharing your experience and I very pleased to read that you had a lovely stay with us. Being a smaller property, we are dedicated to provide a more personalized service and I am pleased that our team made your stay a memorable one.

We work with a group of professional guides and having personally been on these guided tours, it is very positive to read of your experience when visiting Angkor Wat

Your feedback will be shared with our resort team and thank you once again for recognizing our team

I wish you a lovely end to the year and our best wishes for 2014.

Warm regards

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our three day stay at the Anantara exceeded expectations in every way: the ambience was first class, the pool welcoming, the food/dining room was excellent and staff went out of there way to ensure a welcoming stay. More over they ensured that we were able to see the major sites at our preferred schedules so we avoided the crowds who visited the temples at the usual times. The Tuk Tuk service was a bonus. We really enjoyed the hotel driver and his attentive service. From the GM Socrates, all the staff made out stay very memorable.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwirobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.

It was our pleasure to have welcomed you here in Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa and pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and more importantly the service and hospitality that our team offered during your stay

Being a smaller resort, we aim to ensure a more personalized service, ensuring that your individual needs are taken care of

Please feel free to contact me directly for future planned visits and indeed if you have any colleagues, family or friends that wish to visit this wonderful city and it will be my pleasure to welcome them personally

Wishing you a lovely end to the year

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you like hotels where you are nothing more than "another guest" this is not the place for you. Outstanding service , they take care of every small detail, good breakfast buffet, rooms are comfy, peaceful and quiet. Complimentary Tuk Tuk service to take you downtown :) . We really loved our stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your lovely experience here at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa.

My team and I are very proud to receive your feedback and delighted to read your experience. Our ideal location is very tranquil and close to all the attractions without being too hectic. I do hope that we would have another opportunity to welcome you back here in this wonderful city and please feel free to contact me directly for future assistance

Wishing you a lovely end to the year

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,314 reviews
2.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
2.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
2.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Angkor Resort

Property: Anantara Angkor Resort
Address: No. 6 National Road | Khum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly The Sothea)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#11 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#26 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Angkor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Cambodia's ancient wonders in unparalleled comfort with Anantara's all suites luxury experience. From complimentary airport transfers and delightful culinary amenities to the undivided attention of your discrete but attentive personal butler, no detail has been overlooked. Customise your journey with an all-inclusive Discovery Package including à la carte dining options, daily activities and temple pass, or select an indulgent Wellness Package focusing on refreshing treatments to have you looking and feeling your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Sothea Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing