We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Angkor Resort
Ranked #30 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“City oasis”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at an Anantara hotel and we enjoyed every moment! Consistent with other hotels in this group, we thoroughly enjoyed every moment in this well designed, luxurious and unique property. The absolute stand out was however the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and from the moment you arrive it is clear they are dedicated to ensuring you enjoy your stay.

You can see Siem Reap in a few days, but this is a great place to spend a few more days really relaxing and enjoying the full spectrum of local attractions at a mor leisurely pace.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony or pool deck are the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1journeyatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Warm greetings from Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Thank you for choosing to stay once again at an Anantara resort and for choosing Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa here in Siem Reap

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our elegant, luxurious facilities in the resort and able to enjoy your trip to the Kingdom of Wonder

Ob hehalf of the team, thank you for recognizing our service and the team's exceptional hospitality. Our people are our biggest asset and your comments are warmly received

Thank you for your time in sharing your experience

Warm regards

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    77
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
196
325
41
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just minutes from the airport, this hotel, although not considered a 5 star, had all the amenities you could want. A spa, pool, beautiful rooms, bar and great restaurant. Only spend 2 nights here, but was impressed by the warmth, friendliness and helpfulness of the entire staff. This was my last stop before returning to USA, so indulged in a deep tissue massage and facial.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our resort here on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities, the tranquil setting of our resort and our spa treatment and facilities

Most importantly, it is very heartening to read such lovely feedback on the warm hospitality our resort team provided. Your comments will be shared with our team and would be appreciated by all

thank you for choosing our resort

Warm regards

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nice hotel and excellent service. Rooms clean bright and comfortable. Staff could not do enough to take care of your every need. Massage a bit disappointing.
Food was excellent especially dinner. Person driver to take you into town and pick you up is a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Warm greetings from Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Thank you for your most valuable comment on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, our lovely rooms and facilities and most importantly the hospitality provided by our team.

I do note your comment on your spa experience and though it is normally one of our best service and facility in the resort, I will review with the team as how to improve the treatment you were provided on this occasion. This feedback is most helpful for us to keep getting better

Thank you once again and for choosing our resort here in Siem Reap. Please do contact for future assistance with reservations. Should you have any colleagues or friends planning a visit to this destination, please do provide my contact

Warm regards


Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel has most of the little comforts and luxuries associated with the Anantara brand. The staff are very courteous and we had a very warm welscome from the General Manager and Olivia. The breakfast was very good and the dining room bright and inviting. It was very nice to start off the day in this way. The food in the restaurant for dinner was average though and service faltered. Apart from this, we were very happy and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peridotwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for your lovely feedback of our resort. The team and I are delighted that we are able to deliver your expectation of the Anantara brand and make your visit to Siem Reap a memorable one.

I note your comment on the dinner experience and It is as area that we will definitely do better in particularly with our new Executive Chef on board, our dining experience will be redefined and offer a new culinary journey altogether

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and please do contact me directly for future assistance

From all of us here at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Warm regards

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A wonderful and memorable experience from beginning to end. A shame I was only able to stay one night after a business trip to Phnom Penh. Customer service was exceptional. Staff were friendly and helpful. As I was arriving early in the morning I didn't expect my room to be ready. But I was picked up at the airport, taken to my room for an express check in and was then able to head out for a one day tour of the temples. I also did the early morning tour the next day. Khmer massage was perhaps the best massage I have ever had. Bliss. Breakfast was lovely. I didn't dine in the restaurant but the staff recommended a lovely place in town.
Car service was a treat with cold towels and drinks after each temple visit - a welcome relief in the extreme heat. My guide was not very good but he was from an external service (no fault of the resort) so make sure you ask for somone experienced when you are booking.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I had a late flight and was offered the spa area to change and shower etc before my flight. But because the hotel was not busy the staff allowed me to stay in the room until later in the day so I did not have to move everything.
Not in a central location but the free shuttle service is great and very accommodating.
A fabulous oasis and I would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flemmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Warm greetings from Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share your exceptional experience of our resort.

I appreciate you were only here for a brief stay but I am delighted that we managed to make your stay a memorable one and that you managed to experience the various facilities and service of the resort. Our Spa is one of our est facilities and the team will be delighted to receive your feedback. I note your comment on the tour guide and will certainly share this with our service provider.

Thank you for recognizing our associate's hospitality and I do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you for a longer stay. Please do contact me directly for assistance

Warm regards

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I spent 2 nights in this wonderful resort. Customer service was exceptional, staff are amazingly friendly and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Having said that, there is no need to book a deluxe room as the only difference with a standard room is a supposedly outdoor shower. In fact, the shower is covered by a transparent roof and we did feel outside and ended up not using the shower.
Besides this minor point, everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid deluxe room as you will pay for a useless outdoor shower which is actually covered by a roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback here on Trip Advisor

I am delighted that we contributed to a memorable experience of your visit to Siem Reap.

Your comments will be shared with our team and they will take a lot of encouragement reading your exceptional experience

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience

Kind regards

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We actually stayed here last May, but we couldn't find the details of this place on TripAdvisor at that point, and we still couldn't this time so we thought we'd get the ball rolling!
You have to stay here! It's perfect. We had a suite which came with it's own butler. It has a large saltwater pool - (which I managed to drop my iPhone in), a number of spa treatments, it's own rickshaw driver at no extra cost to run you into town (you must go to Pub Street, but beware young children trying to make you buy baby milk - which they then hand to their father around the back, who no doubt runs off to sell to locals and make a quick buck, who then tries to grab you the next day and realises that they saw you yesterday and then suddenly lose all memory of their rather fluent English... I'll shut up now).
The rooms were awesome, incredibly spacious and very private. The food, in particular breakfast was perfect. We were met at the airport and transferred in a wonderful car, nothing was too much effort. They offer a heap of activities and trips. They arranged our trip to the very nearby Angkor Wat Temples (mind blowing by the way) which came with a guide and air conditioned vehicle. My partner arranged for breakfast at the top of Phnom Krom Hill which included seeing the sun rise, a blessing from a monk at the temple, silver service, chef, waiter - without doubt one of the most romantic and memorable breakfasts I've ever had. We had a private dinner in the courtyard which is surrounded by water and has it's own waiter. I could go on, and I would love to, but for fear of boring you - I simply urge you to go. You will not regret it. Cambodia is beautiful, but the Sothea made the trip. Very few places are perfect and without flaw - but this place truly is. Thank you Sothea for raising the bar and for giving me memories which I will cherish for the rest of my life x

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor and for sharing your exceptional experience of Siem Reap and our resort.

We believe our accommodation are special and exceptional, spacious and elegant and I am pleased that you enjoyed them.

Most importantly, the service takes priority and I am very happy that the resort team were able to take care of your stay to make it a memorable one. Siem Reap is truly Kingdom of Wonder and I am pleased that the team here contributed to your memorable stay

Please feel free to contact me directly for any plans of return visit

Warm regards

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,314 reviews
2.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
2.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
2.2 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Angkor Resort

Property: Anantara Angkor Resort
Address: No. 6 National Road | Khum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly The Sothea)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#11 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#26 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Angkor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Cambodia's ancient wonders in unparalleled comfort with Anantara's all suites luxury experience. From complimentary airport transfers and delightful culinary amenities to the undivided attention of your discrete but attentive personal butler, no detail has been overlooked. Customise your journey with an all-inclusive Discovery Package including à la carte dining options, daily activities and temple pass, or select an indulgent Wellness Package focusing on refreshing treatments to have you looking and feeling your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Sothea Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing