We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky but Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angkor Spirit Palace
Ranked #191 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The architecture is in style of the ruins and is fun to scrutinize. The rooms are good size, spotless and well sound proofed. The restaurant is on the third floor and the last flight of steps was not made for western sized feet, but not impossible. Worth the climb for the serene breakfast.
We had issues with several amenities including the hot water, air conditioner, and safe, but all were quickly repaired by the attentive staff. When there was an issue that could not quickly be resolved, they made arrangements to make us comfortable.
The temperate pool is set in a extended garden and has a nice bit of a deep section. They seldom remember pool towels and need a basket in which to deposit them.
This hotel is very family friendly with grounds where kids can run around.
Because it is a bit out of the central hubbub the hotel keeps several tuck-tucks on hand to ferry you back and forth to town for free. We chose to pay the slight fee for a tuck-tuck for our excursions to the Ankgor Wat sites as well as other side trips. The fee is about $15 a day, more if you go a long distance. $27 was the most we paid for a day of six or seven hours. We ended up with Be as our driver and he was wonderful! He had communication skills in English, knew the area including restaurants well, had sense of humor, and made our six day stay much more enjoyable. He is an asset for the hotel and worth asking for.

Room Tip: I liked being downstairs close to the pool, but the backside may have had less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freeddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel - by far my favourite in Cambodia. The staff are amazing, so friendly and the hotel is beautiful. It is by far the best value for money hotel i've ever stayed in. I would highly recommend he Angkor to anyone staying in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Let's start with the few negatives. Angkor Spirit Palace needs some updating. There were some stains on the wall from what appeared to be a fixed roof leak. The place was a bit dusty, but the rooms were clean. The shower was missing a sliding door which caused some water to cover the bathroom floor. The furniture was a bit outdated, but we were not looking for modern luxury comforts. The hotel exterior and surrounding has a beautiful charm to it, and we enjoyed exploring the hotel almost as much as the temples! The pool was also very clean and was refreshing after a hot day of exploring around Siem Reap.

The staff were extremely helpful and greeted you every time you passed by. Breakfast is included, the fruit and yogurt were amazing (I have a very sensitive stomach and did not have any problems with anything I ate here). There is a free tuk-tuk pick up from the airport, also until 10 pm, a tuk-tuk driver will take you to and from the town which takes about 10 to 15 minutes. One of the drivers, Mr. Bea, also took us by tuk-tuk, for the whole day to Angkor Wat, Ta Prohm, Bayon, Killing Fields, and a few other places. I'm not sure how much a tour would have cost, but all we needed was transportation as we have books. Wi-fi was not too bad!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indioandchanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

People make a place and the staff at Angkor Spirit Palace hotel couldn't have been more delightful. I don't think Mr. Sochea, the manager, ever slept. He certainly always seemed to be there, smiling, no matter what happened (a power outage one evening for example). The sweet, kind breakfast staff couldn't do enough for you. I arrived with my ipad and the attendant rushed to find an extra chair so I didn't have to clutter the table while I was eating. Everyone spoke a bit of English and even if they didn't, they so clearly just wanted to help that a little non verbal communication went a long way.

The location of this hotel is actually quite a bit outside the town of Siem Reap and that's a good thing! It made it more of an oasis and since the hotel provided tuk-tuk transport to town anytime we needed it, it was the best of both worlds. They also arranged for drivers and guides and tours as needed, very concerned for customer satisfaction. And there's a pool! A good one! Is there anything better than a swim after hours spent in awe and dust inside temples?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christineBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Angkor Spirit Palace exceeded the expectations by leaps and bounds. This is a very peaceful hotel just outside the city, not so far from it at the same time. The amount of greenery in the campus is amazing. It is perfect and most ideal to relax and rest after having spent a really tiring day at the Angkor Archaeological Park. Touring the temples can be really tiring as they are huge and there are a number of stairs that need to be climbed, which makes it all the more important and required that the hotel be nice and quiet. Angkor Spirit Palace is all of these. Not very far from the airport too. Takes about 20 minutes by tuktuk. Almost the same time to reach Angkor Archaeological Wat.

Room Tip: Room numbers 106-109, on the side of the swimming pool are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalpnesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

My family of five stayed here and loved it. The pool is superb after a day of temple hopping or sight seeing. Food is great and the staff are very helpful friendly.
Far enough from the rat race for some peace but a short tuk tuk into the main part.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daron1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just stayed here for a night but man this place was very nice! Location is nice, not too far not to near (10-15 mins) on the busy streets of Siem Reap. Free tuk tuk rides are available at the place so it's not a hassle if you decided to roam around the city.

The rooms are big and clean with a big toilet too, other facilities like A/C, tv, refrigerator, wifi, etc. are provided and in good running condition, there are even several common toilets aside from your own toilet in the room. The place was so unique that you would still feel you're still at the Angkor Archaeological Site because of the hotel's intricate design, the atmosphere was very peaceful and very nice to relax after a tiring "temple" hopping. Finishing off your day at the pool is so so sweet and relaxing.

The staff are also very friendly and accommodating and it seems they would provide you tips on where/where not to go (didn't have much time for this as our group was on a rush). Breakfast was nice and satisfying, I am not sure if there are nearby restaurants to eat near the place (if you don't feel like eating at the hotel).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balbonelesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#152 of 365 in Siem Reap
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#135 of 365 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#139 of 365 in Siem Reap
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#43 of 365 in Siem Reap
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#96 of 365 in Siem Reap
232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#143 of 365 in Siem Reap
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Spirit Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Spirit Palace

Address: Phneachey Village | SvayDangkom Commune, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#71 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £22 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Spirit Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Spirit Palace is a uniquely styled hotel featuring traditional Khmer architecture. It is close to downtown, the temples and airport. You won't be able to resist taking pictures of the building. Relax in our tropical gardens, swim in our saltwater pool and enjoy Khmer hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Angkor Spirit Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Spirit Palace Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing