We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet relaxing spot outside of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angkor Spirit Palace
Ranked #167 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“quiet relaxing spot outside of town”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had 7 days in Siem Reap and wanted a quiet base from which to explore. This suited us perfectly. It is about a 5min tuk tuk ride to old market and the hotel provides a free tuk tuk service. You can arrange a time for the tuk tuk driver to pick you up for your return journey (free before 10pm). We often didn't know when we would be done so we carried the hotels phone number with us and when we were ready to leave we would have someone call the hotel and explain where we were so we could be picked up. The drivers try and get you to go further than the old market because then you pay them.

The rooms: we had room 108 and it was nice, a little bit dated but nice. We didn't have a bath or safety deposit box as advised on the booking website (hotels.com) but that didn't bother us. The room was close to everything and we liked being on the bottom floor so close to the pool. The only noise problem we had was the trucks going by the hotel at 6am honking their horn.

The hotel restaurant: breakfast was a choice of set menus, there was o my one Khmer option (Khmer noodle soup) this was 2min noodles with some meat and veg. The broth was nice. The other options were western (eggs, fruit etc). My husband had dinner here one night when he wasn't feeling well and had one of the soups ($4.50). He said it was delicious, but again they didn't have many Khmer options and had a number of generic Asian dishes but again mostly western food (burgers, lasagna etc).

Service: the staff were wonderful, we arrived very early and they checked us in within an hour, it was a wedding anniversary trip for us so they decorated the hotel room with flowers and made it very special, they were able to book tour guides/cars/tuk this for us. Some of the star have better English than others but overall it was good service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yulia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    135
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
79
164
56
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Staff are fun and friendly and the service was great. We will be staying here again the next chance we get. the free Tuk Tuk into city is a plus. Room was nice and clean and after walking around the temples all day it was great to come back to, felt like home for the time we were there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The room I was allocated was not the same as booked on Expedia. Expedia state it has a bath and shower, robes and slippers and the room size is larger.
No rooms have a bath, no rooms have robes but they do provide flipflops so that could count as slippers I guess.
I showed the reception staff my expedia email and they upgraded my room.
Standard rooms aren't that big and have basic showers, the larger rooms are massive and have much nicer showers.
The building itself is wonderful except for the neglected bits. The tatty ourside bar area not used for years and used as a store room for example, the toilets accessed from the general area near reception are disgusting.
Providing yo always use the loo in your room and don't go looking around the whole grounds i's fine.
The staff are so nice, friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are excellent as are the dinners, but why were we the only people there in the evening? The food is so tasty and much nicer than anything we had in town.

The free tuk tuks are great, 2 mins to the night market or pub street if that's your sort of thing.
Pool is clean and lovely to come back to after touring in the heat all day and plenty of pool towels too.
Their tour desk is great, we had Mr Be and his tuk tuk. $15 to drive the 2 of us around the temples, provide plenty of cold water and nice places to eat.
And at £15 pn via expedia for 2 people a real bargain, but with some money invested in it it has the potential to be better but would be more expensive.

If I came to Siem Reap again I'd happily stay here gain.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in Siem Reap located in a quiet area. Free tuk tuk rides to the city centre, only 5 minutes. Food is average but okay. Try Haven Restaurant in town, excellent food, but make a reservation in high season.
The swimming pool is very nice!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a lovely budget hotel with unique decor. We stayed for New Years Eve and appreciated the fact that the location was a little out of town because it was more quiet than our friends' hotels who stayed closer in, and we appreciated the shuttle tuk-tuk into town. Only about 50% of the tuk-tuk drivers knew where it was when it came time to come home again though, which was a bit of a problem a couple of times.

Our family room was great, comfy beds for all of us, but it was located very close to the front desk which meant we heard every arrival when they walked down the corridor, and one night the entire staff had a party beside the pool which went on until midnight, keeping us all awake.

The service was good enough... eager to please if not a little incompetent. Our shower didn't work properly and that wasn't fixed. The toilet lid was broken and they didn't mind (but nor did we). Breakfast was tasty but repetitious. The pool is a highlight. If you are happy to be flexible with your expectations, taking the good with the bad in a zen-like way, then this is a great place to stay in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor to avoid the noise of people passing your room along the corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a great hotel in a very quiet location. The rooms are huge, some of them with 3 large beds. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Most guests go to the city for dinner, so they tend to be a little disorganized when they take the orders and prepare dinner. We had dinner there twice and it took ages to get our food. The pool is a great reward after a long day of walking. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This has to be the most beautiful and unique hotel I have ever stayed at, The staff were extremely courteous and polite and made me feel like a member of the family. The gardens, pool and surrounds are magnificent, The hotel is quiet and tranquil and very suitable for singles, couples and families. A little bit out of town, but well worth the extra distance to stay at such a lovely place.
A big thank you to the warm and friendly staff for making my stay a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on the west side open onto a lovely pond and fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#132 of 337 in Siem Reap
54 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#161 of 337 in Siem Reap
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Champey Villa
Champey Villa
#221 of 337 in Siem Reap
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#139 of 337 in Siem Reap
474 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#117 of 337 in Siem Reap
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Spirit Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Spirit Palace

Property: Angkor Spirit Palace
Address: Phneachey Village | SvayDangkom Commune, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#72 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Spirit Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Spirit Palace is a uniquely styled hotel featuring traditional Khmer architecture. It is close to downtown, the temples and airport. You won't be able to resist taking pictures of the building. Relax in our tropical gardens, swim in our saltwater pool and enjoy Khmer hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Spirit Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Spirit Palace Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing