We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angkor Spirit Palace
Ranked #170 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

very nice hotel...quiet and romantic,traditional desing..i love to stay there very much..freindly staff good room service and i would like to recomment to all guys don't foget come to stay this hotel...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sun U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    135
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
79
164
56
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel for three days. The service was excellent and the staff were awesome. We can never forget our stay here. They provide free tuk tuk service and free breakfast. They have tour desk and they arranged all our local trips efficiently and cheaply.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharadwaj1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have many times stayed at Angkor Spirit Palace. The staff is friendly and professional, the rooms are clean, and services are great. They have free tuktuk service into town. it is a great place to stay if you want to be close to, but not in the middle of Siem Reap.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has windows, as some are inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I didn't pick the hotel, my friend did. Usually, I stick with 4+ stars, as 3-stars can go either way. But I can't fault her for this choice. The hotel was not in the middle of town, so you need a tuk-tuk to go to places like the Night Market, and most restaurants, but to me that was a plus: I could get away from the noise at night. Plus, it is not very far: it takes about 10 minutes for the tuk-tuk (which is not as fast as a car) to take you there. Yes, the hotel will drop you off, and agree with you what time to pick you up at a given location in town.
I actually never got much time to explore the grounds as there was so much to see in Siem Reap, and some of the excursions take you quite far from town that you need to leave in early morning and spend the full day out.
So, as a 3-star, the Angkor Spirit Palace fares well, although there were a few things that could have been better. The first night, we were given a room that had 3 beds because my friend and I each wanted our own bed (rather than a king bed) and all rooms with 2 double beds were occupied. That room with 3 beds is right behind the reception counter, on the ground floor. So, the next morning, there were girls (I guess hotel staff) doing some laundry (or some other chore) and who were right by the window. Their chatter was quite loud (I think it might be a Cambodian habit to speak loud even when speaking to someone sitting next to you). In any event, it woke me up early and I couldn't go back to sleep. So, I got out and told the guy at reception that I couldn't sleep because of the noise. He took care of it immediately, and I was able to get back to sleep. Later that day, we moved to a room with 2 bed on the 2nd floor, and stayed there throughout.
On that same 1st morning, given the jetlag, I knew I was going to sleep late. I asked if my breakfast could be postponed by 1 hour pass the breakfast deadline, and they agreed. These guys give new meaning to the words "customer service". At times, I almost felt I was abusing their acceptance of every request I made. On the last day, I checked out at 5pm without being charge anything additional (of course, the hotel wasn't full as we only saw a few couples in the dining room or by the pool). Still, that was very nice of their part.
The hotel gave us a dedicated tuk-tuk and driver, who accompanied us everywhere during our entire time, including taking us to the riverbanks where we could get on a boat to visit a floating village. This driver, Sokontai (I may be messing up the spelling) was too nice for his own good. He spoke decent english and was willing to come for us at a moment's notice, and then takes us back to town at any time. I'd have given the hotel a 6 for service if that was possible (in fact, note to Tripadvisor: reviewers should be able to add one more star to a particular criteria if they so desire).
The rooms are not much to talk about, and the bathroom's shower could use a new curtain. But again, this was a 3-star, so I couldn't ask for Marriott Renaissance or Park Hyatt level.
I must say that when, after booking this hotel, my friend told me how much was the night rate, I was a bit worried: sometimes, the reason something is cheap is because it is bad quality, or seedy. But not this one. For what we paid, I'd have paid the double if I knew ahead that's the kind of service we'd be getting.
Caveat: the restarurant is nothing to write home about, but it's decent and if you come back one evening before dinner and don't feel like going back to town, a nice curry fish will cost you less than $10. In fact, for once, I found a hotel where the restaurant in the hotel was cheaper than those outside (it's usually the other way around). Also, every day, they put 2 bottles of water in the room, and if you finished it before the next morning, just find one of the people still doing some cleaning, and she'll give you a few more. Who can ask for more?

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can be noisy, as the staff's movements can be heard behind the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DustyFeet-MacheAnpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was very enjoyable! All the staff members were kind and helpful. They arranged a tuk tuk driver and booked things we wanted to do. The rooms were a good size and clean. The restaurant was delicious!

Only 2 negatives: 1:no hot water in the taps
2: the sunrise breakfast. A great service provided whereby the hotel gives you a breakfast to take with you when you leave very early to see the tombs. However, the boiled eggs were runny and exploded all over our hands. No plastic cutlery was provided, so we couldn't eat them or butter the toast. We ended up only being able to eat a slice of dry bread for breakfast.

These were honestly only small issues though, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They organized a tuc tuc driver for us that was phenomenal. Very honest and friendly. The rooms had a great size and were clean. The pool is amazing to escape from the hot weather. The hotel is really nice. I would recommend they do a major cleaning in the public spaced because it would be sad if the hotel deteriorates. We used the pool after check out and the bathroom available was just dirty. These are minor issues yet. I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkereste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
547 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 899 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

For cambodian standards, this is a good hotel. Globally, it would be scored lower. Kriss, my tour guide/driver, booked this for me, as I asked for a 3 star hotel. I was given the big room, since we were on triple occupancy. I did see a regular room, and my room is huge. It can easily accomodate a lot more, and the room beside the two rooms my family occupied, had 5-6 people in the room! It had a pool, and garden landscapes. The back side was not as well maintained as the pool side, which is a shame. They could have developed the back side, as it contained a pond that could be developed as another attraction.

The breakfast corner is at the top floor, and it is located facing the east, as the diners will be met with the sunrise. It did not make the area hot, as there was a breeze on all the days we ate here. Breakfast choices is a la carte, and I considered the breakfast as light. It is good, since people who go to Siem Reap are supposed to be going for the temple ruins. It would not be good to hike and climb on a full stomach.

The rooms are not well maintained, unfortunately. The paints on the corners and the jambs are peeling. The door locks had been changed as can be seen with a lot of screw holes and chipped paint. the shower enclosure in my room did not have the sliding door, causing the shower water to splash all over the bathroom floor. The bathroom lights needed to be changed to a higher wattage. There is a difference between a wattage setting up for mood, and making it look dark and dingy. The effect was the latter, not the former. The 2nd room's toilet, had cement walls with an open corner instead of a shower enclosure, but this was better designed, as it did not allow shower water to spill over to the bathroom floor. Lighting was the same dark and dingy type. The split type aircon I thought would have a hard time to cool the room, considering the huge room size and the hot, summer temperature in Siem Reap. However, after 2 nights of not using the blankets, I decided to look at the airconditioning unit and discovered the indoor unit of BOTH rooms had filters so clogged that it looked like it hasnt been cleaned for months. After I cleaned the filters myself, our last night was very very comfortable.

I am giving this place 4 stars, when if it was located elsewhere where standards are expected to be higher, I would only give it 3 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.7 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#160 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#135 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#141 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.9 mi away
Champey Villa
Champey Villa
#223 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#121 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Spirit Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Spirit Palace

Property: Angkor Spirit Palace
Address: Phneachey Village | SvayDangkom Commune, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#72 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Spirit Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Spirit Palace is a uniquely styled hotel featuring traditional Khmer architecture. It is close to downtown, the temples and airport. You won't be able to resist taking pictures of the building. Relax in our tropical gardens, swim in our saltwater pool and enjoy Khmer hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Spirit Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Spirit Palace Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing