We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and private hotel, staff happy to please, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angkor Spirit Palace
Ranked #190 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights during low season, and were offered the rooms at a very good rate.

Rooms were simple, but relatively new and always very clean. Pleasantly surprised with a welcome bowl of fruit and free bottled water everyday. Bedspread was welcoming with flowers in the shape of 2 hearts (how cute?!).

The place was formerly a traditional dance school, so a lot of the traditional charm was maintained in the building. They had a salt water pool which was so novel, and something we look forward to everyday after hiking through the ruins.

The staff were happy to shuttle us for free into the city and back, and arrange tours etc. With the

We also met Mr. Kim (owner) who was assisting us on the last day of our stay. As the place had few rooms, everyone was very personal in their service and relations with us. I was really happy with that as I did not want a big hotel impersonal in this historic and ancient city.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Angkor Spirit, it was a real charming place, quiet and let us appreciate the slower life in Cambodia.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cccch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2009

Honestly, of all the places we've stayed around the world, this place was very unique (in a good way). It is like having your own private hotel out in the Cambodian countryside (it's about 5-10 minutes outside of the city, but the hotel staff was always happy to drive you into town, free of charge, and pick you up later).

The building used to be a cultural center and has been converted into a new hotel. As a result, there are some unique attributes to the place. Many of the rooms are really huge, like 2-3 times a normal hotel room size. There is air conditioning in the rooms which works fine. You'll have a nice fruit basket on your arrival (including some local specialties like dragon fruit). They made a nice heart out of flowers on the beds as well which made the place really charming. There is also a great swimming pool which has fountains pouring water into it.

The building, even though it is not far from town, is actually out in the countryside, so it doesn't feel like your standard Marriott or something like that. Next to the hotel are cows and water buffalo and you can hear some chanting from a nearby Buddhist temple. You will definitely feel like you are in Cambodia and not in some nameless, interchangeable city or country.

We got the package deal (go check the hotel's actual website for the description) which included, all for a very reasonable price, the hotel room, transportation to and from the airport, breakfast and dinner (and the portions were absolutely huge --and very good--you also get some drinks), a tour guide and driver to see the sights and transportation wherever we wanted to go.

If you want a really great experience (and exceptional value) where all of the staff is super nice and you really will get personal attention from the wonderful owner (Mr. Khim) and his staff, this is the place for you. Mr Khim's personal experiences will give you great insight into the local Cambodian culture.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroldandgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We are a couple coming from Switzerland and travelling for 10 months around the world. Angkor Spirit was recommended to us by another traveller and it is probably one of the best places we visited during our trip. We first planned to stay 3 nights (with the package) and we finally stayed 5 nights. Mr Khim (the owner) is a wonderful person and always ready to help to organise the temples visits as well as other activities around Siem Reap.

The hotel is very peaceful, has a very nice swimming pool and the rooms are totally new and confortable. The hotel building is also very charming, a great place to chill out after a busy day of visit. All the employees were very friendly with us during all our stay.

We particularly appreciate the free pick up to the bus station as well as the free shuttle to go into the town center at any time of the day. The hotel is located at around 5 minutes drive from the center.

We highly recommend this place as it is a great deal in term of price and quality. Thank you again Mr Khim for our great stay at his place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I was taken to the Ankgor Spirit Palace by a tuk tuk driver. What a great little hotel - peaceful, clean, good service, friendly staff' great value. Wonderful traditional building.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We stayed at the Angkor Spirit for 3 nights after Lotus Lodge was fully booked. This was no hardship though as Cameron (the owner) made sure our 3 nights at his new hotel was even better than our Lotus experience. The pool is as good as any 4* hotel and the service and value exceptional. The location is slightly out of town but the staff had no issues with driving us in and picking us up on several occasions. Overall a very good choice for Siem Reap and visiting the Temple sites.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We love the tranquility of the hotel. It felt wonderful and relaxing being able to spend the whole afternoon in the clean pool. Mr. Khim, the owner, has been really kind to us. He took us to most of major temples in his comfortable car. He was even willing to stop by a barber in a small village and acted as the translator for us & the local family.
The hotel is very clean. The staff are nice and helpfull. They were always ready to take us downtown whenever we like and pick us up afterwards.. all free of charge.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We are three guys traveling a lot and we feel so lucky to find these nice and quiet place! A lot of plants everywhere a clean swimming pool, big rooms and all brandnew! Is a little bit out of the city (20 minutes by walk) but we always got a free transport as soon we asked for it. The kindly staff did always offer to pick us up later on. We like to recommend this Top Hotel for enjoyful holiday and a recreational time!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pilatusgeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.5 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#149 of 365 in Siem Reap
522 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#134 of 365 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#136 of 365 in Siem Reap
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#85 of 365 in Siem Reap
875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 365 in Siem Reap
510 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#141 of 365 in Siem Reap
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Spirit Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Spirit Palace

Address: Phneachey Village | SvayDangkom Commune, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#71 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £21 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Spirit Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Spirit Palace is a uniquely styled hotel featuring traditional Khmer architecture. It is close to downtown, the temples and airport. You won't be able to resist taking pictures of the building. Relax in our tropical gardens, swim in our saltwater pool and enjoy Khmer hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Angkor Spirit Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Spirit Palace Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing