We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel de luxe...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smiling Hotel & Spa
Ranked #282 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I spent 3 days in this hotel in January. It s a **** hotel. Rooms corridors and lobby were very clean. I asked for a large bed in a quite location. I had a very big room (32 sq m as indicate on my reservation via hotels.com -expedia-) a little bit noisy -there is big road and some weddings party with heavy sound ) Cambodian people cant drive without horning....They don t have double glassed windows as we have in Europe! The lobby people were very courteous and helpful. They speak good and fluent English with a characteristic Asian accent!. My room had very good equipments and amenities. I had a saloon side. The TV screen is a little bit to small to see correctly channels from the bed.. There is a small shower-cabin inside a big bathroom. My mattress was hard for my back especially after seen Angkor temples... I had free pick up from the the bus station with an A/C car ( only one pick up for each booking : you have to pre-book and to give your flight or bus details). They have free wifi internet. This hotel is a bit far from the city but the cost of a tuk-tuk taxi to go downtown is around 2 US$. Lot of big asian tourists noisy groups arrives in the evening. Good clean and not so quite place to stay outside the city.

Room Tip: Ask by mail the room you want and give them the pick up details.... There is a swimming pool and I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristianMONCEAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

This Hotel is wonderful! Nice, clean, beautiful, rooms with wifi and great cable tv selection! Beautiful pool, great restaurant, and cordial staff! If you ever go here, ask for Syden Tiger! He is the BEST Official Angkor Wat Tour guide I have ever dealt with! He is very knowledgeable and his English is excellent!! Great prices, too!! STAY here, you will LOVE IT!!! Kevin G (50 countries)

Room Tip: Pool side facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 44countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

it's claimed as a local 4 stars hotel, location is out of the city although siem riep is small , rooms nothing to shout about, hard beds and pillows, but bath / room amenieties are aplenty indeed , which is nice/ starting to show its age already espcially the toilet
the air-cons seemed to be pre-set, unable to change ut even after calling housekeeping, room temp was 27 degrees Celsius !!! even after chaging air con temp from 17 to 15 degrees C, really humid and uncomfortable

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GChan516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The room is spacious and standardise. The cleanliness was excellent.
The staff were so helpful and friendly. Overal its a nice and cozy thus,
worth the money to stay here. I had my own Tuk Tuk service and the driver was wonderful.
Recommend to choose a big room like a suite to enjoy with friends. They even have
an awesome jacuzzi bathtub. :D I had a blast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ratana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We moved to this hotel after having a disastrous time at another across town. Lobby is beautiful, staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, (I say rooms in the plural as we were upgraded; good public relations management!) and the pool was great after a hot day at the Temples (and Siem Reap in general actually.) Quite far out of town but it's only a $2 tuk tuk ride away- don't pay any more and don't let the drivers outside try it on as they did us one night, $6, as if! Had a meal in the restaurant one night which was fantastic, top notch food and service. Also shared a burger for lunch one day and ate it by the pool, more than enough for one person, that was very good too.
What puzzles me about this hotel is why there is a beautiful air-conditioned dining room which in the whole six days we were there we saw only ourselves use it the once but you have to eat breakfast battling with the flies and other creepy crawlies in the dreary open air dining room by the pool? (The hotel has a slight open aspect to it in the centre and they seem to have a war with the local insect population.) Breakfast we found to be poor compared to other hotels we've been to in Asia and staff need training in the basics of customer service. Internet, there was only one machine working out of the four but we always managed to get a go.
Incidently, we stayed in Siem Reap for six days but feel we stayed three days too long.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penbryngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Room for twin sharing basis was a good size. We stayed at first floor but if u r lazy, there is an elevator instead of staircase. Bathroom was clean, however the hose of the toilet water pressure was so strong that if u r not careful, u tend 2 get a blast - a shock 2 ur nether region. Shower was quite low even for a barely 5 foot nothing of me. Housekeeping was good - regret that i didn't take away all d complimentaries goods given each cleaning session as it was replaced every time they clean - standard for 4-star hotel (1 forgot abt that!).

Pancake for the buffet breakfast was excellent - i can still remember d taste.

During my stay wi-fi at the first floor was off. Have to go down 2d lobby to surf d net. only 1 pc that enable internet surfing.

view from the window of our room look into a house which is nothing to write abt...

Overall quite good and d big plus is it is very near to Angkor wat however quite far to the center town - night markets!

Room Tip: probably better to get a room at the top floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

If I could give 6 stars for service I would, the people here are magnificent. it's rare to find a hotel where excellent service is provided by everyone from the manager (Roth K), to the reception desk, restaurant staff, tuk tuk driver ("Mr Payne" as we called him) and tour guide. Even though the last two are not directly employed by the hotel, the hotel referred us to them and we could not have been more pleased. We've traveled pretty extensively and our experience at the Smiling Hotel & Spa (where we stayed in October 2012) is to this day unmatched. We had a presidential suite, which was huge and featured a large jet tub. The pool was cleaned dutifully by a young man every morning and was the largest most pristine pool I've ever seen at a hotel. Till this day we still talk about this marvelous pool. The breakfast offered a large selection of asian and western foods and my husband could not get enough of the made-to-order omelettes.

The hotel may not be in the center of Siem Reap, but I wouldn't want it to be. Who wants to hear all that noise at night? The US$3 tuk tuk ride to the center was more than fair, especially when you grapple with US$20 taxi rides in New York City and even worse fares in Tokyo. Siem Reap, the hotel, the people, the food, everything about our trip was wonderfully charming and we cannot wait to go back.

I'd like to give special mention to our tour guide, whose name escapes my memory. He was formerly a monk and has a son and wife. Not sure if that helps identify him, but his English was great and his attention to detail as a tour guide could not be more appreciated. Angkor Wat is undoubtedly beautiful but he enhanced its beauty with all the information he was able to provide. I (a female) was wearing shorts the morning we met him and he had the wisdom to tell me to change into something more conservative since we were visiting a temple. We were so grateful for this, as we would not want to offend anyone or desecrate an ancient holy place. Apparently, many other tourists were not given this advice and we saw many a french and british lady walking around wearing shorts, oblivious to how they must look from a Cambodian perspective. All tour guides should be this honest, especially since as tourists, we travel long distances to appreciate and be humbled by foreign lands and their ancient treasures. Unknowingly offending the locals is something we very much want to avoid!

We tipped our tour guide 20%, which was all the cash we had on us, but if we could have we would have provided a much much bigger tip. Please, if you have the honor of having him as a tour guide, tip him and everyone else you encounter in the town generously. As middle class Americans (note, we are far from the 1% or any of the rich classes for that matter), we often have to cough up 15-20% tips for services in the USA no matter if they are good or bad, but with prices in Cambodia being but a fraction of what they are here, Americans and all others from developed countries can afford to tip amply.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the presidential suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reesespuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2 mi away
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
#31 of 384 in Siem Reap
501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angkor Era Hotel
Angkor Era Hotel
#199 of 384 in Siem Reap
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucky Angkor Hotel
Lucky Angkor Hotel
#224 of 384 in Siem Reap
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#79 of 384 in Siem Reap
477 reviews
29.5 mi away
Sokha Roth Premium Hotel
Sokha Roth Premium Hotel
#279 of 384 in Siem Reap
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor Heritage Boutique Hotel
Angkor Heritage Boutique Hotel
#162 of 384 in Siem Reap
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiling Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiling Hotel & Spa

Address: National Road No. 6, Chong Kaosou village | Sangkat Slor Kram, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#181 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £27 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiling Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiling Hotel and Spa is a newly established, Deluxe Four Star hotel, seeking to share true Cambodian hospitality and luxurious facilities with visitors the world over. Situated only four kilometers from the bustling city centre of Siem Reap and seven kilometers from the majestic Angkor Wat, Smiling Hotel and Spa is ideally positioned for those seeking to experience the wonders of Cambodia’s past as well as the exciting Cambodia of today. Boasting 150 well appointed rooms, with 86 more to be completed during 2012, Smiling Hotel and Spa offers luxurious and comfortable accommodation with international standards. Between the large outdoor swimming pool, massage rooms, spa and sauna, gym, restaurant and cafe, guests will be able to relax in facilities of the highest quality. Our friendly and accommodating staff will ensure that your stay at Smiling Hotel and Spa is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smiling Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiling Hotel And Spa
Smiling Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing