We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smiling Hotel & Spa
Ranked #277 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 2 September 2010

A little out of town, but easy to get to the centre with tuk tuk. Lovely quiet rooms, staff helpful and eager to please. Tip, take a tuk a tuk from the hotel for a trip around the temples.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigger1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

There were a lot of things to like at this fairly new hotel. The front desk provided great service such as hiring a tuk-tuk driver to see Angkor, arranging bus tickets, etc. The included breakfast buffet had a large selection of tasty items. The pool which was great for cooling off from the hot weather. The business center provided computers free of charge to guests. The location was a bit out of town but I paid only $2 for a tuk tuk ride one way into Old Town (although the drivers will usually ask for more). The rooms generally had 4* amenities such as good toiletries, bathrobe/slippers, electronic safe, and a TV with many cable channels. The beds were firm (as is common in Asia) and the air conditioning didn't do a great job of cooling down the large U-shaped room. This was easily the best value of my trip to Southeast Asia and won't disappoint you if you don't mind being outside of Old Town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This is a brand new hotel and still has some teething problems with construction round the pool whilst we we there. Breakfast was plentiful and a mixture of East meets West. You are away from the main hotels and that is not a bad things, tuk tuks are cheap and plentiful and you feel more immersed with the locals rather than hidden away.

The staff can't do enough to help and the rooms were great - amazing value and a great base for siem reap and exploring the temples

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The hotel still under minor construction e.g. Spa is not operational. the rooms are aceptable with a modest size, I had some probelms with my safe as every time I locked it i was not able to open without the assistance of the receptionist.

Breakfast is very basic, hence this hotel is ok for a base to visit the Temples, is a bit distance from the city centre (tuk-tuk ride 5-7 minutes USD$2.00). The major dissapointment was no WI-FI but they did had a business centre with PCs for the guest.

Overall was ok.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank rapsromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We had a great 3-night stay at this wonderful hotel. It is a little out of the central tourist area but it costs $1.50 each way in a tuk-tuk to get to pub street. But if you don't mind not being with a billion other tourists, there is a little restaurant right behind the hotel at the Golden Mango Hostel as well as a barbecue place on Apsara Rd/Rd 60 (about 4 minute's walk on the left hand side) which serves good duck and beef (though i think they overcharge tourists, but not egregiously so). there are a few other places we didn't try but probably fine if you don't need burgers and fries. Plus, it is a bit interesting to walk around the area as it is not very touristy.

Of course, the hotel has a restaurant and it is pretty good but I would not recommend ordering the hamburger. The meat was "chopped" rather than ground -- a little different. The prawn sandwich, however, was very good as were their fries and appetizers. On the whole, a little pricey but good stuff.

Breakfast was very good with CRISP, not soggy, bacon and an extensive selection of both Asian and Western offerings. Plus, they never ran out of stuff. You could get there ten minutes before 10AM and if you wanted more of something, they always brought/cooked it for you with a smile. Nice guys.

The hotel also has the best pool I have ever seen. It is large and beautifully set -- perfect for sitting around on the lounge chairs. And because it is surrounded by the hotel, it is always partially shaded -- minimal need for sunscreen. It is a cool-water pool, which is extremely nice when dealing with mid-day Cambodian temperatures, and has a 3-ft perimeter all around so that you can hold little children and walk around without worrying about going too deep. But watch out for the jet streams near the ladders. Sometimes they are set very strong and will push you off the ledge. The hotel has large tour groups going through but we usually had the pool to ourselves or with couple other people.

There are also indoor jacuzzi pools with both hot and tepid water and they will adjust the bubble levels for you if your kid (like mine) doesn't like too much splashing. A nice way to end a dip in the pool. I wish the tubs were outdoors, but really, I feel bad about complaining.

The only things I think the hotel could have done better (aside from the indoor jacuzzi) would be better-adorned walls in the rooms and free in-room internet ($3/hr or $10/day). They do have an air-conditioned computer room with free internet access but it is nice to work in your own room.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel. It is chic enough for couples but most definitely fun enough for families. Plus, everyone is very friendly and accommodating. A very pleasant stay, indeed.

Go there and check it out!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClassicsReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

The hotel sits east of the town where locals live and shop. The area may not be glamorous and the grounds of the hotel are lacking lush greenery, but it's the inside of the hotel that counts and where the Smiling Hotel scores all its points. Air conditioned rooms, bathrooms with hot water, clean outdoor pool, indoor jacuzzi, free internet, 80 TV stations, and a breakfast buffet. And bathrobes, slippers, 2 bottles of water, and an extensive toiletry set. All of this for a price that was well below $50/night. Hint: check Agoda.com. A one way trip to town should cost $3 on a tuk-tuk and $1 if you bargain hard for a motorbike. Was so happy with my 5 day stay that I extended it to 10 days!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobermory64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We were upgraded to a suite which gave us a lot of space. When we arrived there were not many guests but business picked up during our 5 night stay. The staff were "smiling" and very polite. The beds were comfy and the pool was good to relax in after sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.4 mi away
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
#288 of 378 in Siem Reap
19 reviews
2 mi away
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
#32 of 378 in Siem Reap
476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angkor Era Hotel
Angkor Era Hotel
#191 of 378 in Siem Reap
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#120 of 378 in Siem Reap
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#61 of 378 in Siem Reap
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucky Angkor Hotel
Lucky Angkor Hotel
#224 of 378 in Siem Reap
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiling Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiling Hotel & Spa

Address: National Road No. 6, Chong Kaosou village | Sangkat Slor Kram, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#178 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £27 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiling Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiling Hotel and Spa is a newly established, Deluxe Four Star hotel, seeking to share true Cambodian hospitality and luxurious facilities with visitors the world over. Situated only four kilometers from the bustling city centre of Siem Reap and seven kilometers from the majestic Angkor Wat, Smiling Hotel and Spa is ideally positioned for those seeking to experience the wonders of Cambodia’s past as well as the exciting Cambodia of today. Boasting 150 well appointed rooms, with 86 more to be completed during 2012, Smiling Hotel and Spa offers luxurious and comfortable accommodation with international standards. Between the large outdoor swimming pool, massage rooms, spa and sauna, gym, restaurant and cafe, guests will be able to relax in facilities of the highest quality. Our friendly and accommodating staff will ensure that your stay at Smiling Hotel and Spa is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Smiling Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiling Hotel Siem Reap
Smiling Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing