We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ....Fantastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Star Angkor Villa

Five Star Angkor Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Five Star Angkor Villa
Ranked #348 of 500 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ....Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Good location..very near to the old market or pubstreet...rooms clean and spacious for 3 of us..toilet was clean, water is low pressure sometimes but it's ok for us. breakfast was normal, nothing fancy..helpful to arrange a free tuktuk from the airport, and reasonable price for touring around the temple. Mr chalom tuktuk driver was honest and nice to us...oh ya..got a pool table and a big screen projector

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

The owner Phil is very nice, but wasn't very helpful as far as recommendations. The site we booked from said that Phil was a co-owner of a travel information guide, but when we asked him questions his answers were very vague.
With that said, we stayed in a room that should've cost more than the price we booked it at, but since the website was wrong he honored that rate without any hassle.

Our bathroom was kind of gross with an open drain running from the sink to the ground shower grate. It felt dirty to us so we ended up moving to a different hotel closer to town for a cheaper rate and better quality.

There is also a lot of street construction going on just north of the guesthouse that is blocking the road to town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmani25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed here for 4 nites. Took the 3-day tour of the temples and River/Tonle Sap lake through the GH for $85/person, which includes everything during tour but drinks/lunch and museum tickets.
Food, drinks, laundry were good. Wireless internet in restaurant/lobby/lounge (couldn't get signal in our room) was great! Location was excellent and mostly quiet in our aircon room. Also, we went to restaurant across the street from GH, which was great.
For gay travelers, this GH was very accepting. We found Cambodians here to be friendly and accepting, but not familiar with gay couples.
Best was 3-day tour (with suggestions from Phil, owner/operator), which included Silk Farm (great gift store, but very expensive), Angkor Nat'l Museum (new, world-class museum), Tonle Sap river/lake tour on Day 1 (not my fav); Angkor Wat and Thom on Day 2 (fantastic), all other temples on Day 3 (amazing!). Plus, we saw a parade at Angkor Wat and asked driver to go there to see the parade, which he did. Tuk tuk driver was Chan Nam (sp?), who was good. I gave him drinks during the day and a tip at the end of our stay. If you hire him, make sure you know EXACTLY where to meet him after visiting a temple (we got lost a few times).
We hired him for one more day to go to sunrise at Angkor Wat, then to Banteay Srei (sp?) and finally to Kulen mountain area (specifically, mtn across from Kulen mtn.), which was a long tuktuk drive, but well worth it for me (it was beautiful and shows how the ancient civilization req'd water and honored its source). Went under waterfall to cool off after hike up mountain. Cost $25 (for whole day for both of us).
This was our first time in a guesthouse; we came from staying in 4 and 5-star hotels in Philippines, Malaysia, & Vietnam. We wanted to save on hotel and spend on tours. There are many, many hotels/guesthouses in Siem Reap, please consider this one.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbentley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Stayed here from 5-9 July 2009. Great value for money (US$12 per night) and friendly staff. Room was tidy (tiny stain on sheet but I think it was Cambodian mud, which I am still trying to get out of my t-shirt!) Room had a ceiling fan and air con which we used every night. Bathroom is tiny! (shower next to toilet not in separate area, sink around corner and almost impossible to reach). Water pressure ok (good enough to wash hair but not back massage type pressure). Overall the room fit its purpose and for US$12, it was great value. Hostel also sells burgers for US$3.50 which are very tasty and a great reason to stay here. Hostel tuk tuk driver is very friendly too and hostel gave us free airport pick up and drop off. Overall, this hostel is perfect for a traveller on a budget or someone that only uses the room for its purpose - to sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jth39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

I stayed at the villa for 3 nights. The room has air-cond and an ensuite. There are cheaper rooms with fan but for the price difference, I'd say go for the air cond in Siem Reap's heat and humidity. The room was cleaned and the bed made up everyday.

Phil, the manager, is always pleasant, helpful, and professional. He arranged an English speaking guide for me (Sok), an air cond car and a driver (Tokla). Sok and Tokla are both highly recommended for their professionalism.

The only thing that can be improved on is perhaps the water pressure. In the 3 days I was there, only 1 day did I have a low water pressure for the shower, so it might be just an occasional thing.

Phil will go out of his way to accommodate requests (well, where possible). I had yoghurt included in my continental breakfast when I enquired about where I can get some. Laundry is a god send, at USD2 per kilo, you always have fresh clothes.

Very close to the Old Market and walking distance to the famous Pub Street (I can recommend Soup Dragon, their salad is safe, washed with purified water). I can't say the same for Kampuccino.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

my fav memory in this guest house is the fish amok. ;) it's totally WICKED!

it was a really nice, friendly place. my room was very clean and bright -- took the room with the most number of windows. it's less than 5 min to old market but without the noise, and it's a pleasant walk by the river getting there.

locker provided for storing valuable stuff like passport and other gadgets, but the manager will let you put your stash of cash in his safety box. ohh... wifi in your room!

bed is good and firm, great for the tired body after the temples. ensuite bathroom is clean, and well equipped, but a little cramp, especially getting to the sink. good hot water supply, though i hardly used it as it was really hot during my visit, and being sun burnt...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betaorix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iloilo city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

the rooms are clean and the rates are very affordable. the staff are accommodating. the added advantage is this is run by a Briton who has gotten to know cambodian culture. he can give you travel tips and does not tolerate the nasty practice of making tourists spend more than what is necessary in a foreign land

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#123 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#37 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#26 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Star Angkor Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Star Angkor Villa

Property: Five Star Angkor Villa
Address: #421 Sivatha Boulevard | Road to Tonle Sap, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 500 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Angkor Villa is Western managed and is ideally located 300m from the Old market and Pub street area. The Guesthouse has both A/C and fan rooms to suit all budget travellers. We also have restaurant and bar with big screen t.v, free pool table, free internet, free wifi and free pick up. We do not hassle our customers into taking any of our Angkor tours or taking any of our other services. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing