We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #39 of 386 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed 2 nights. The breakfast was very european and yum. Staff were very accomodating. We had a welcome drink, a photocopied map and a great intro. Rooms are comfortable with private bath's on the balconies. My shower wasn't the warmest but pressure was good. Location is awesome, if you tire of the tuk-tuks you can walk to Alley St, Night markets, Pub St.

Room Tip: downstairs poolside is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissKym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2011

A great place, location and staff. Even for me as a professional traveler I cant say enough to express my happiness in staying here. The staff is great, personal and helpful, the location is just a stroll from the old town and the rooms are spotless. I do need wifi for my work and it was free, and much better then in most big chain hotels I have stayed.
The name is a bit funny but for me and me colleagues it was the best choice to go for a smaller place and really enjoy the Cambodian culture. I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank germantravelerlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Thank you for a really wonderful stay. We loved Siem Reap and coming "home" after a long day at the Temples was really fantastic.
Facilities, rooms, pool and staff were amazing and helped us with organising a guide and tuk tuk...thanks for waiting up for us when we had our all nighter in Siem Reap.
Back home now and miss your fabulous breakfasts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We are so glad we stayed here. Everyone who works at this hotel is so incredibly nice. They work really hard to make sure all their guests have a wonderful stay.

Our room was great – super clean, big bed, tile floors, nice bathroom and we loved the balcony with the outdoor bathtub.

Breakfast was good (the eggs were the best choice). We looked forward to the fresh juice & tropical fruit every morning.

The salt-water pool was wonderful! It was so nice to come back after a long day of temple climbing and cool off with a drink by the pool. Their mixed drinks and the Amock are sooooo good!

The GB is the perfect distance to the middle of town (pub street etc.) 12 min walk or 5 min via tuk-tuk. The center of town can get a bit hectic, so it was great to stay in a place that was not directly in the middle of it all. The GB hotels are located down a cute little alley. The main street before the alley has a few small restaurants that mostly locals go to. We liked the fact that we were not totally surrounded by tourists. We often walked home at night and felt safe (but females coming back alone at night should take a tuk-tuk - it is only $3 USD)

We arranged all the tours and airport transportation through the hotel- totally easy, and the drivers and guides were great. My advice is not to do back to back temple exploration days. We took a day off between our tours and stayed by the pool, had massages and checked out the town, it is smart to pace yourself. Remember – it’s a vacation!

If you are looking for friendly, mini-tropical oasis in the middle of Siem Reap – this is your place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neige8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Reading reviews on TripAdvisor is so dangerous. You see litanies of mind-numbing, scrappy moans, and you wonder nervously (bearing in mind you have no way to know, and are likely booking from a distance) whether there's veracity in this nit-picking; it sows seeds of doubt. What you don't get to see (or hear) is the people who are complaining. If you did you might gain perspective. I've never written a review before, but felt compelled on this occasion. It's roughly like this: if you're a low-key, normal, cheerful sort of person looking to have a delightful time in a beautiful place, not looking to antagonize anybody or establish your superior guest credentials, not looking for reasons to gripe ... then you'll have a wonderful time at the Golden Banana. It's completely lovely. The staff could not be more sunny and sweet, the rooms are spotless, spacious, the pool salty, clean and refreshing. It's a shining little oasis. However, if you're miserable and wear your misery like sackcloth and ashes wherever you go, then you'll probably find cause for some complaint or other. But that likely has more to do with you than anything else; perhaps the cost of the hotel would be better spent on therapy? Or (if you have the money) stick to Mandarin Orientals, where the entire modus operandi is geared to mollifying misanthropes and curmudgeons. Everybody else? Go to The Golden Banana, I think you'll be very happy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LookStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Golden Banana is a nice little hotel situated down a lane the other side of the river from the Old Market. The area is OK, a bit dark at night (GB have their own street lighting as Siem Reap don't provide much street lighting outside of the main town area). The road to the GB is paved up to a point and then it's like a dirt track so it's a bit tricky after heavy rain (lots of mud and puddles).

The day we arrived we got two rooms one above the other (M and L), but the air con in M wasn't working so they moved us to a ground floor room (C) which was near the pool. As it turned out, we might as well have stayed in M because there was a storm around midnight and the power to that part of the town went off until about 9am next day so no lights, no a/c and worst of all for us, the drains backed up and the bathroom in C got flooded. In the morning when the power came back on, there were thousands of little wriggling things on the bathroom floor in the mud - tadpoles? tiny fish? I don't know what they were, but wasn't keen to stay in that room again after that in case there was another storm. Please be aware if you go there, C isn't the best room - it's dark and dingy and if possible get a higher up room as you'll have a nicer time.

Anyway, the a/c man came out and fixed the a/c in M and we moved back there and were much happier after that.

The GB staff assured everyone that the power going out like that was very rare but as it happened again during a storm 2 days later, I think they were stretching the truth slightly!

The rooms were clean and well looked after, the breakfasts were OK (3 choices, all vegetarian). We ate lunch there and that was fairly average - they mentioned in their room info that their chef was one of the best, but I can only assume he doesn't start work until the evening - we didn't eat there in the evening so I don't know what the food was like then.

The pool is small but that's all you need really - just a quick dip to cool off. The prices in the restaurant and bar were similar to most mid-range restaurants in the town and the staff were happy to help out with organising tuk-tuks, temple visits, horse riding trips etc.

I would mention that as it's dark and badly lit around that part of town, solo female travellers might be best to think about getting a tuk-tuk home (even though it's walking distance from town). I walked back with my teenage daughter one evening (about 9.30pm) and we had strange groups of guys calling to us, one group offering us drugs.......nothing too threatening but it did seem quite seedy, especially around the riverside area on that side.

People with mobility problems would have to go for a ground floor room I think as the stairs to the upper rooms were quite steep. It's not very stroller friendly either.

To sum up - it was a nice looking hotel but I think they need to invest in a generator and for that reason I'd probably stay elsewhere if I went back to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor standard room (C)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigSis2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Miss BigSisSingapore,

We like to thank you for leaving here your review about our Resort.
This is always very helpful so we can improve our services and comfort where necessary.

Regarding your remarks we like to reply with some small comment to make sure there are no misunderstandings.
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel and Resort are indeed situated on the other side of the river in a quiet pedestrian street 5 minutes walk away from the hustle and bustle of the centre.
During anytime (day or night) we can organize a Tuk Tuk who will bring you in a very comfortable way to any place you prefer, normally for one dollar.
Especially during night time we advice our guest to use this service not because it is unsafe, but the streets are not lit and can be a bit dirty.
Cambodian people are used to offer many services, mostly legal and do it normally in a very friendly way.

About the long power cut you experienced we want to apologize, this really happened in my entire life of 5 years in Siem Reap only one time before, shorter power cuts can happen but are unusual in our neigbourhood. That it happened that period of time had to do with the very early start of the reainseason . we assume that the power authorities were not prepared for that yet.
At this moment we are waiting on some price quotations for placing a generator but it’s a very dirty option for normally a small problem in Siem Reap, that unfortunately happened when you were there a few times. Most (smaller) hotels do not have a generator in Siem Reap.

The remarks you made about our room C are clearly a reflection of a more personal impression which off course we respect.
This is a room we specially created for older people or people with disabilities or children who request a room on the ground floor without stairs. It has its own private garden and is indeed a bit lesser bright room because the it is situated in a corner of our property where we have lots of lush greens growing.
Many guest like this room because of that, because it gives the room a more intimate and cosy character, but that’s personal.
If we find out (like in your case) guests don’t really appreciate this type of atmosphere we are more than happy to provide an other room.

About the water that came back trough the drain because of the heavy storm; this is rather unusual, but I have to admit that I have found some life fish on the streets after heavy rains that must have flushed from the rivers into the systems. It is very unusual and we really haven’t had this kind of inconvenience before in our property.
Our engineers had a look to it after and cleaned the total draining system so this would not happen again.

Again we appreciate you informed us about those issues and hope these didn’t ruin your holiday too much.

With most kind regards,
Tommy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved everything about it. The staff become friends, the pool is divine, the poolside area became our own personal livingroom where we'd order drinks from the bar in the late afternoon and chill after a long day of temple-seeing. Each room has it's own separate entrance, more like individual suites than a hotel room feel. Our room was large & clean with a great patio overlooking the pool area, and a safe to keep our valuables in. Breakfast was included and ordered off a menu with decent selections, or for an extra couple of dollars you could choose from additional items. Staff were extremely accommodating and friendly, and there's a free computer in reception for guests to use. Town was a short 5 minute walk away (maybe 10 if you're strolling) or there's always a willing tuk tuk around when we wanted a ride. I would stay here again, without hesitation, and almost don't want to recommend it to others for fear it will become too popular when I next return. Don't even bother looking elsewhere. This place is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anothernusadua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#34 of 386 in Siem Reap
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#27 of 386 in Siem Reap
3,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 386 in Siem Reap
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
#31 of 386 in Siem Reap
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Kumm Sala komreuk, Krom 10 | Phum Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £54 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style villas and deluxe suite rooms built around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an al fresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a boutique design resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of local and Western dishes, a fully functional front desk that can help you organize all your tours and travels and there are spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing