We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great concept, and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #30 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great concept, and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The name of this place gives a western appeal to it... while the Golden Banana may sound a bit funny - it definitely lives up to its reviews on TA. On arrival, after our 5 hr journey from Phnom Penh, we were greeted by warm smiles and we were seated in the comfy chairs. Drinks came out and we had all the staff come to take our bags and fill in our details. We then made out way to our rooms up some long, high stairs. The stairs lead us to a room high up and gives us a good view of the skyline. SO perhaps the climb was worth it. Proximity to the city center and tuk tuks were very convenient and we actually enjoyed spending time in the resort, by the pool side, with a waterfall and tropical sun chairs. An omnipresent male staff presence meant we could get help with bags and heavier items up the steep stair case. the six of us also had a giggle at the artwork in the rooms, which all added to the humourous vibe of this resort. but it made us happy and refreshed - and we felt then that we were on a holiday. thank you golden banana!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gotraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    187
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
121
488
165
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Like much of Cambodia, it does not cost much, and yet is great value. The hotel organize pretty much anything, so it is really easy to get things done for you at a very low cost. Perhaps costs a little more than other hostels in the area, but a lovely place with lovely people, and nowhere near as expensive as the absurd tourist hotels scattered elsewhere. Love the eggs and fruit breakfasts, and the cute yet modern and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hogiebear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Golden Banana was a joy with its super friendly staff, lushly landscaped grounds, and nicely appointed rooms. I had a large balcony overlooking the pool, and the bedside lamps came with dimmers - a nice touch. I stayed here off season and the rate was great. My stay at Golden Banana made my visit to Ankgor Wat very enjoyable. Highly reccommended!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have nice views of the pool and over the roof tops of Siem Reap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajter5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Golden Banana Resort was just what we were looking for: a bit of luxury (clean, large rooms, private balcony, pool), but with personality. Location was great; it's tucked away in just across the river from the Old Market, so it's quiet but central enough if you want to walk rather than take a tuk-tuk. Not recommended for those with mobility issues, as the staircases (to the balcony in the villas, and to the rooms for those that are not on the ground floor) are narrow and steep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachell_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Great position so close to town.down an alley so quiet at night. Pool was great after a day out sightseeing. Staff very friendly and helpful .Breakfast is adequate and tasty without being a full on buffet. Tuk tuk service through hotel is well organised. We had booked our own tour guide for temples but feel hotel could have done this for us.Open air bath was a real treat and was a highlight of our stay in all hotels .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi30b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Moved out of an average hotel into this one and the difference was huge. We stayed in the Superior rooms (but not the Villas) and the rooms were spacious, well equipped, comfortable and beautifully styled.
The pool was very welcome although it doesn't get much sun.
The food was probably the only disappointment but as all the bars and restaurants around the night market are only a couple of streets away it didn't matter.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beefcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

My partner and I stayed 4 nights in the 2 level suite overlooking the pool.
All the staff are so friendly and always smiling and willing to chat with the guests.
Reception can organize a tuk tuk anywhere for you with their own tuk tuk and the set price is billed to the room which is very covenient.
We definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#23 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#33 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#13 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
#14 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#26 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suite Rooms build around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an alfresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a Boutique Design Resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of Local and Western dishes, a fully functional Front Desk who can help you organize al your tours and travels and there are Spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing