We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, smiling staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #40 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, smiling staff!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Well designed, unique rooms complemented by friendly staff who were always ready to help. Our group of 10+ had a great time staying at the B&B, hotel and boutique resort. The staff were helpful, accommodating and always ready with a huge smile. The booking got a little confusing due to the number of people and various locations, but this was handled well by staff. The three properties create a little community tucked away from the madness of pub st which is still only a short 5 minute stroll. We will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepcalmandcarry0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    193
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
127
502
171
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We were at the Golden Banana for 5 nights in early November, 2011. We had an amazing time. The hotel was comfortable and clean, and the staff was was friendly, welcoming, and incredibly helpful. The staff helped us arrange tours of the temples, recommended restaurants and sights in and around town, arranged our transportation to Phnom Penh, and even bought us a cell phone sim card. And they even arranged a (surprise!) tuk-tuk driver to help us out in Phnom Penh. The pool, the food, and the amenities are all hard to find elsewhere in Siem Reap. If you're going to be in Siem Reap, definitely book with the Golden Banana.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Loved the place - well appointed rooms, good food. We had an upstairs room overlooking the pool. Our little balcony came with a stone tub. The amok here was as good as (or better than) what we had else where in Cambodia.
Unlike some of the other reviewers, did not feel an outsider in a gay environment. Staff very friendly and helpful. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent.
We retained the driver the hotel sent to pick us up from the airport. He had a tuk tuk for sightseeing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Everything about this place is fantastic. The staff is so sweet and friendly. They arranged our driver and guide for the temples (We went with Narath...great guy), offered us cold towells after a day of touring, and provided a lovely poolside breakfast each morning. The property itself is so charming and comfortable, our room had a gorgeous upstairs balcony with an outdoor shower & tub. I had big expectations for this hotel and they were all completely fulfilled, and more. Golden Banana does not need to change a single thing, it is a perfect little jewel in the jungle!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The Golden Banana resort is one of a cluster of four different Golden Banana properties catering to different price levels. This one is the most expensive, although by international standards it is quite cheap. It's not a super luxury hotel by any means, but its a fun, relaxed, charming place to stay.

The way to get around Siem Reap is by tuk-tuk, basically a three wheel contraption consisting of a motor bike attached to a cart. The hotel will offer to pick you up at the airport with one, and it's a much nicer way to travel the streets than a taxi. The reception staff are very friendly and competent and will take the time to explain the hotel to you and show how to get to the old town center with its traditional markets and surprisingly chic cafes and restaurants. The location of the Banana is good, a bit away from the hustle and bustle but only a few minutes walk to the center.

The rooms are spacious, and all come with a terrace with its own outdoor stone tub in case you want an outdoor shower in the tropical heat, rather than use the bathroom that comes with the room. The rooms do have good air conditioning though. There is free internet in the rooms, although the signal was a bit unstable when I was there. All the rooms are arranged around a lovely pool, itself surrounded with masses of colourful tropical plantings. The hotel has a small restaurant and bar, serving poolside meals and drinks.

You could stay at a more luxurious property at three or four times the price, but I found this informal, laid-back little resort a real pleasure, and would definitely choose it again.

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

a great place to stay near pub street that has charm in being a small place with personalized service. in local neighborhood so you feel like you're staying in cambodia, not some fenced off resort cut off from from everyone and everything. included breakfast and all other meals and drinks were very good quality wise and price wise. pool is salvation after tromping around the temples or looking around. staff tries very hard to meet your requests. we had ground floor room that was a little dark, ie not a lot of sun, and had semi-private seating area, but the upper floor rooms with balconies looked really nice.

Room Tip: upper floor room with a balcony for more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyof4traveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had a small group staying at the Golden Banana, three rooms in the Resort and one family duplex in the hotel. All the rooms were very homely, comfortable and we were very happy there.
The staff were so accommodating and we loved our little oasis in Siem Reap.
First impressions on being brought down a back alley were a bit daunting, but once we settled in and were familiar with our surroundings we just loved the place.
Don't expect super luxurious and everything perfect, it is boutique and has it's quirks but such a lovely place to stay and has everything you need .
The hotel is also a big supporter of the local NGO's and responsible tourism which is impressive.

Room Tip: The Delux villas have the living area on the ground floor with a sun deck upstairs, if you have mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#19 of 353 in Siem Reap
3,595 reviews
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
#18 of 353 in Siem Reap
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#4 of 353 in Siem Reap
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#58 of 353 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#28 of 353 in Siem Reap
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suite Rooms build around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an alfresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a Boutique Design Resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of Local and Western dishes, a fully functional Front Desk who can help you organize al your tours and travels and there are Spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing