We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Golden Banana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #38 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

A friend in NY, NY recommended the attractive Golden Banana where he'd stayed several times. My daughter and I loved our visit at the GB. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely designed and comfortable, our meals in the restaurant were delicious. The location was a short walk to the Night Market and restaurants. The GB staff helped us organize transportation and a guide to Angkor Wat. Our experience at The Golden Banana helped to make our vacation a memorable one. We were sorry that we didn't plan more time in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good. We were on the second floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the Golden Banana Resort in Mid-March. We had a room just off the pool, with a terrace upstairs.

My favorite thing about the hotel was the staff - particularly in the bar/restaurant. They were very nice and always smiling. One afternoon I was at the pool, and the GM was having a staff meeting. I could hear lots of kudos and lots of applause. They seem to have a sense of teamwork and community there. the sign of great management.

The quality of food was quite good and the price more than reasonable.

My only feedback is the bed. To truly experience the sights of Cambodia. you must climb stone stairs, walk miles, and really push yourself. The bed is firm, like most Asian hotels, and while I can deal with that, it also features a wood ledge around the mattress. Some nights I was so sore and tired that getting up to get some water or use the restroom was painful, because I had to traverse the bed ledge. While it was useful for my alarm clock, and attractive to look at, the ledge at times caused me some pains. A small thing really.

I miss the smiles at the Golden Banana. thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights while on holiday. The hotel is nicely located down a little alley, so things are very quiet -- great after a long day touring temples! The pool area is a little oasis, albeit quite small and cramped. We had a Deluxe suite, which is large in size, modernly traditional and has a great porch overlooking the pool. We were on the top floor (3rd) and the climb up the stairs was very steep. We're young (30s) so it wasn't a problem, but if you're older, ask for a ground floor room. The bed in the room is incredibly hard, something quite common in Asian travel. Also, no hair conditioner or body lotion is provided, so make sure to bring your own! The room was large, but needed some refreshing. There were numerous bug squashes on the walls that need a paint-over and the sheets, while I’m sure cleaned, were stained. It was a nice touch though that the beer mugs were keep in the fridge so they were cold. The food is good, not fantastic. The breakfast is an order menu – get the French toast! And the drinks at the bar are really good. Have the Siem Reap Martini. The staff is friendly and very, very laid back. I got a mani-pedi my first day since it was offered from their “spa” area. They basically just called a girl from down the street to do the job. Not very professional and there was no place to have it done. We ended up in my room on an uncomfortable chair. Also, make sure you have small bills on you at all times! No one ever seems to have change! One more thing, the power and internet cut out – internet quite a bit the last 2 days. I know it’s not their fault, but just be aware! I’m not sure I’d stay here again. There were too many other places to check out that looked equally as beautiful from the outside.

Room Tip: The stairs are VERY steep. Try and get a ground floor, or 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twaterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Twaterwoman,

Thank you for spending your precious time to share your experience with other travelers and informing us about some things we have to work on or adjust.
We regret to hear you didn’t fully enjoyed your stay because of some ‘problems’, we take this very seriously and will make sure they get fixed right away.
Your remark about the stairs is totally correct; therefore we will try to replace hem for better ones in this summer. Stairs are really steep in Cambodia, it looks like they want to copy the stairs in the temples.
Regarding the hair conditioner and body lotion that is missing, this is correct, we instead choose to provide in each room Shower gel, shampoo, tooth brushes and paste, ear cottons, combs and 2 kind of natural hand soaps.
We do have a nice spa where you can have a pedicure or other treatment. I am not sure why the staff didn’t offer this location to you. We will train more on this and apologize that it happened like this.
During your stay there where indeed major electricity problems in and around Siem Reap.
In previous years we didn’t have problems with the electricity supply in Siem Reap but due to growing numbers of tourists and bad management of the government this is quickly changing. This year we had already several incidents, therfore we decided to have a generator standby all times so we can prevent this in the future. Unfortunately we were not able to have this backup in place when you were there.

I hope that when you plan to visit Cambodia in the future, you would like to stay with us again so we can show you the improvements and offer you a free stay to make it up to you.

With best regards,
Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed 5 nights at the Golden Banana in March with my 2 teenage daughters.
Everything about this Resort met our expectations,loved it..We stayed in a Deluxe Villa,the outdoor bath and shower were a wonderful way to relax on a hot night.The Staff were amazing,couldn't do enough for us. the room was spotless (loved the artwork).The restaurant had the best Cook in Siem Reap all meals were delicious.It's location fantastic,1min walk to the Art Night Market and 5 mins to Pub Street.Tours and Tuk Tuk's were also very reasonably priced booked through reception.We had a late flight and were given a room for the day at no charge.
The only negative was the Rooster next Door that loved to wake us as early as possible. Luckily we had earplugs so he didn't bother us for the last 3 days.

Room Tip: Only Stairs to the upper levels.Not good for elderly.Choose a ground level. Also the Deluxe Villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breeze12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Great little place. Staff always friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast fruit coffee eggs, you name it. Loved the pool. A dip after the heat of the temples was always something to look forward to. Location perfect for an evening walk to the old market and pub st. Also quiet being on opposite side of the river. On site restaurant great for nites too tired to venture out. Prices reasonable. Traveling alone nice to come back to a place where everyone made you feel at home!! Highly recommend !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chann66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We recently stayed here for one night and had a very pleasant experience. If you come here expecting the level of service and the amenities of a resort, then you might be disappointed, but if you enjoy boutique hotels for the more local experience and appreciate the quirks and charms of such an experience then this is the perfect place to stay. Our suite room was very clean and well decorated. We enjoyed the great shower and the bath tub on the balcony. We were up on the third floor and thought this provided plenty of privacy. The only tradeoff is that there are very high ceilings up there so it takes longer for the air conditioning to cool the room off. Our flight did not leave until late the next day and the staff kindly kept our luggage safe and let us hang out around the pool all day.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LTWT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Golden Banana Boutique hotel and Resort is a medium sized relaxed and informal hotel within a short walking distance of the main town and the day and night markets. Tuk Tuks are always available outside the hotel for the fairly short ride to Angkor Wat and the airport. The mainly young staff are extremely helpful and you are always greeted with a genuine smile from the time you arrive until the time you leave. The rooms are reasonably sized and furnished always plenty of hot water in the shower. Breakfast is served in the pool area and offers a reasonable choice which is prepared to order. Dinner is served in the same area and, after a days sightseeing, is a pleasant quiet place to relax while your meal is being cooked, the three course meal was reasonably priced and of a high standard.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngloSaxon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#32 of 384 in Siem Reap
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#26 of 384 in Siem Reap
3,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
#29 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Kumm Sala komreuk, Krom 10 | Phum Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £54 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style villas and deluxe suite rooms built around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an al fresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a boutique design resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of local and Western dishes, a fully functional front desk that can help you organize all your tours and travels and there are spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing