We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #34 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better base at Siem Reap. Lovely staff, friendly bartender. Daily adventures handled smoothly and with good suggestions thrown in to help.

I realized after a stay at a not-so-well-run, uptight, snooty small hotel rececntly that I base what a good, small, personable, valuable, experience-based, friendly but not intrusive, hotel should be, on this hotel.

Simply fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over new year. It was great being in a gay owned / managed place and while the customers were gay and straight it had a good vibe. Staff were attentive, helpful and pleasant. After my partner was ill for a couple of days they went out of their way to make some food she could eat. Room was lovely- outside bath slightly overlooked and bed v comfortable. It's hard to think of anything that could be improved- only minor thing was the pool was cold!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaKelly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear MonicaKelly,

We very much appreciate to receive your positive feedback.
Also for us it was a pleasure to have both of you staying as our guests.
Regarding the special food request during the period your partner was not feeling well, this was no problem or effort at all, our chef is well trained and can cook or create almost any special request.
If necessary we just go to the market to buy it.
We hope your partner finally recovered well during the continuing of your trip?
About the 'cold' pool, indeed this time of the year ('winter') the pool doesn't heat like during the warmer season. This year we can say the cool mornings and warm afternoons are a bit exceptional and very different than previous years. Never the less this creates very pleasant temperatures; excellent to do some temple or other visits. On top of this a refreshing jump in the cool pool in the early morning or at the end of the day works very well to improve your blood circulation and prepare you for your next tour. :-)

We are very much looking forward to welcome you again next year!

With best regards,
Tommy
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights. The staffs are great and always very helpful. The hotel is clean and is located in a nice quiet alley. The bathroom could use a little upgrade but overall it's a nicely decorated, charming hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blazyrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

As long as your open minded this hotel has excellent service with a staff thats friendly and always have a smile . Rooms and the property are well maintained and would stay here again . If traveling with young children might look at other options as seems to have a large same partner clients base which was fine with us .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Wahoo 1000,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very happy to hear you had a comfortable stay with us.
We are indeed an open minded gay/strait friendly resort that welcomes everyone.
The concept is to offer our guest a homey feeling away from home with a strong focus on a personal customers service.
We have regular visits of families with children, most of the times this works perfectly, as long as the children and parents also can respect the calm and serenity we like to guarantee to all our guests.
If you are looking for a more "family friendly" place with many other children to play with our resort might be not 100% suitable.
When you like the charm of a boutique resort where you can spend some nice quality time with your partner or family in a tranquil atmosphere; this is the perfect spot.

With warm regards,
Tommy
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Location is excellent - easy from airport - to the Sites and 10 min walk to "Pub Street" the unofficial center of Siem Reap. Staff were always helpful and friendly and went out of their way to assist - the manager of the site was always on hand and helped over a period the (free) wifi link went down to get alternative connections and keep us on line. Cars / Tuk tuk's were arranged and all arrived as expected. Rooms are good but would suggest trendy or interesting rather than boutique in nature - but we just slept there.Out flight was cancelled out of Siem Reap and the resort not only allowed us to stay for the day and use its facilities but also provided a bathroom to shower and change before our 14 hour delayed flight left - excellent service yet again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from walk ways (pool area) if you want a bit more quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADTMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I spent 8 nights in the GB Resort, choosing a deluxe villa which was a good call I think as the private rooftop sunbeds were great after a morning temple-hopping. Room was nice, breakfast OK but the big plus here is the brilliant staff - everybody was so smiling and genuinely helpful - nothing too much trouble - eg we gave our list of chosen restaurants (from TA reviews) to the guy on reception and he booked them for us and gave us a note with days and times.

Go there - you won't be disappointed and much better than a big anonymous plastic hotel. .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_HirstUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Our five point review:

1. Staff is very helpful and polite. Addressed all our requests.

2. Breakfast is included and satisfies your basic needs though portions are not "American-sized".

3. Best part is proximity to downtown, within easy walking distance but far enough so the craziness of pub street isn't felt.

4. Clean and comfortable.

5. Would recommend!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#29 of 365 in Siem Reap
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 365 in Siem Reap
3,747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#43 of 365 in Siem Reap
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
#16 of 365 in Siem Reap
794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#33 of 365 in Siem Reap
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Kumm Sala komreuk, Krom 10 | Phum Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £59 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style villas and deluxe suite rooms built around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an al fresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a boutique design resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of local and Western dishes, a fully functional front desk that can help you organize all your tours and travels and there are spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing