We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly retreat walking distance from all the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #35 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly retreat walking distance from all the action”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Really impressed with the Golden Banana. Quiet, comfortable and extremely welcoming. A little oasis in the city. The rooms were huge and quiet and everything worked. Very strange pictures on the walls! We had a balcony room with a bath and that was perfect in the morning. Staff very attentive - good breakfast after excellent cocktails the night before. One minute walking distance from a market and a few mins out the other side to Pub street and the main action for the evening. We only stayed one night so didn't arrange tours but they had all the information and would have booked anything we'd asked. Many thanks!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat-Nature-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    190
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
126
496
166
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel was small, we never stay above 50 rooms; too many kids! We had a room with an upstairs, with a bath and sunbeds perfect for book reading.
Breakfast was fine set menu with mix and max choice.
Hotel is friendly, modern and clean
We like to be walking distance from the bars, so we don't have to do tutu's all the time
this location was perfect, bit back street but we could walk through the market, over the bridge and into the chaos or head down the river for a quitter more refined experience

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack55555Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very nice property. Just a few minutes walk from the Pub Street/downtown area. Friendly staff. Great rooms. Nice bath/shower with plenty of hot water (unusual for southeast Asia.) Good restaurant. Nice pool. Quiet area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mongrel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a wonderful boutique hotel! The rooms are lovely and the staff are sweet and pleasant. The pool was wonderful and relaxing. The location was perfect- far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk (about 5-10 minutes) to center for shops and bars. It was great to come back to after a day touring the temples. The food and drinks were good and the service was even better. We really enjoyed ourselves here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin3980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Kristin 3980,

Thank you for your great feedback!
It is always nice to see people fully enjoying their stay at our Resort.
For sure when they fit 100% in our concept like you guys did.
We really hope to see you coming back in the future, if you do so please let us know in time and book direct so we can offer you the special benefits we have in place for our returning guests.

With kind regards,
Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton East Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just returned from my second visit to this hotel in a month, enjoyed it so much my first trip couldn't wait to get back. Once again the staff were wonderful and nothing is to much trouble. I took two friends with me for their first trip to Cambodia and they were very impressed with the Golden Banana resort. I can think of nowhere better to stay in Siem Reap

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors involve quite steep stairs so ground floor rooms are advisable for any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balabrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our first hotel in Cambodia and we were all really pleased.

Location- great; 5 minutes walking into "downtown" Siem Reap
Rooms/Hotel- love the red doors and layout. Less than 10 rooms in this location so everything is really personalized. Loved the pool with the small waterfall. Very relaxing.
Staff- AMAZING, flexible, helpful, respectful. Can help with booking tuk tuks, tours, etc.

Definitely recommend people to stay here- already recommended this hotel to 3 of my other friends visiting Siem Reap the following week after I left!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmhsieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was well beyond any expectations I had. It was peaceful and quiet yet close to the night life and attractions. The staff is second to none and make feel like part if the family. The pool was a wonderful retreat after a day tours. The food and drinks were consistently good and always served with a smile. I can't wait to come back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lbflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Lbflex,

Thank you for your fantastic review on our Tripadvisor page!
We are very happy to read you gad a 'spectacular' time with us.
Indeed our concept is in the first place to let the people feel like home in a most comfortable way.
Our management team does a lot of efforts to offer our staff a fair package and pleasant working conditions so they fully enjoy their job and as a result serve our guests with a smile.

Please let us know when you would like to come back so we also can offer you our special "returning guests" benefits (valid on direct bookings only)

With warm greetings,
Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#56 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#16 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#29 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
#21 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suite Rooms build around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an alfresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a Boutique Design Resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of Local and Western dishes, a fully functional Front Desk who can help you organize al your tours and travels and there are Spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing