We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #39 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Everything is a good value in siem reap, but at the golden banana, you get everything you could want, except maybe the beach, for $24 a night (when we were there). The staff were very helpful arranging an english speaking temple guide, breakfast was adequate (egg sandwich with coffee and fruit). The winning point for this hotel is the pool, where we spent all of our down time. Very like minded travelers seem to find this place. One downside, and I'm not even sure if this qualifies, is that you have to walk through a dirty neighborhood to get there. It's totally safe, but i'm sure you will have NO problem finding a tuk-tuk if you just want to get home. If we ever end up in SR again, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlemaitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    193
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
127
502
171
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

First found out about this place on our Lonelyplanet guide before researching it here. We arranged airport <-> resort transfers by tuk tuk, a definite must do.

From the time we arrived at the resort to the time we left, our stay was fantastic. It was excellent value for money. The breakfast was great.

We arranged our tour guide, tuk tuk and car through the hotel. They were all worth it. Would highly recommend a tour guide, its the best way to see this amazing country.

Rooms were charming, ours was upstairs by the bar. This place is excellent value for money and we'll recommend to all our friends and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerlaw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We are a gay couple, and read some positive reviews about this place. We were not disappointed. This place is most definitely gay-friendly. Our driver picked us up from the airport and everything went smoothly from there. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated, down to the prints on the walls and the flowers. There was a lovely breakfast each day and our driver took us to all the sights around Siem Reap each day. The massages each day were great. We even had one of the staff invite us to go out clubbing with him on our last night.
Room rate was US$45 per night which included breakfast.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DumbaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The Golden Banana was fantastic! The rooms had character and were not just cookie cutter hotel rooms. I loved the outdoor bath, the rain shower and the balcony overlooking the pool. This resort was just the right distance to walk to the main market area but was not noisy at all. The service is what truly makes this hotel unique. Recommendations were made, smiles greeted us everytime and the staff were relaxed and happy. I got sick one day and their concern was appreciated. A great find in Siem Reap! (oh and the salt water pool was sublime after hoofing around the temples all day!)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey81HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My Wife and myself stayed here for 4 nights and what can I say? -- Absolutely superb location - Minutes from the market area . The staff are ultra professional. The rooms are clean , breakfast served on time and very well trained and courteous staff. Rooms elegant and decorated in classic Khmer [ Cambodian] style. It was an experience of a lifetime for me and my Wife.
The Hotel arranges everything including the tours. You can always trust the companies hired by this hotel. The staff dont hassle you for tips. There is a tip box that you can use at the end of your stay which is equally distributed among the staff .
The Owner and all the managers take very personal care of the guests and you feel wanted and are really pampered at times.

If I visit Siem Reap again, I will surely recommend this hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharmacentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I would never stay any where else. The staff is excellent, extremely helpful. the rooms are wonderfull. I liked being able to walk to town for dinner and shopping. I had a problem with a tour I had arranged on my own, and the staff stepped right up and helped me solve my problem. I can not say enough good about the hotel. I stay at least fifty nights in hotels all over the world and this was the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humboldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed here as a solo female traveller intent on experiencing what I could of Siem Reap and Angkor Wat in 3 short days.

This was the perfect accommodation for me - very central location with a sense of local "authenticity". Great security, wonderful rooms with a sense of elegance, lovely salt water pool, hotel tuk tuk drivers who are absolutely reliable, very friendly and helpful, very professional management and administration.

The owner, the manager Joel and the charming, sohisticated and very professional staff (management, restaurant, cleaning, security, and tuk tuk drivers) maintain great standards at this elegant boutique resort.

I had a fabulous stay here. I have recommended this boutique hotel to all my friends who travel - straights, gays, families with kids from bubs to teenagers, oldies, and solos.

This is a wonderful retreat from the bustle of the town or after a long day at Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#18 of 353 in Siem Reap
3,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
#19 of 353 in Siem Reap
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#5 of 353 in Siem Reap
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#63 of 353 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#29 of 353 in Siem Reap
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suite Rooms build around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an alfresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a Boutique Design Resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of Local and Western dishes, a fully functional Front Desk who can help you organize al your tours and travels and there are Spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing