We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique perfection - but disapppointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #39 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Boutique perfection - but disapppointing service”
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The best place we stayed on our honeymoon (with the exception of the Sukhothai in BKK). This place is quiet, spacious, spotless and brimming with style. We looked forward to returning to the saltwater swimming pool and our outdoor bathtub after a day temple-hopping. This is genuine affordable luxury. Stay here.

Only downside was a less-than-knowledgeable staff. When we asked for advice on the sites, the go-to response was to book an expensive car and let the driver figure it out. When we asked the front desk to change our reservation at a restaurant in town, they just plain didn't, said they did, and we arrived only to find our table no longer available. The worst was was leaving Siem Reap. We wanted to take the scenic train back to BKK and they arranged for an expensive driver, assuring us we'd make it to the train in time. We were an hour late and had to take yet another expensive cab into BKK. Just consult the guidebook poolside instead.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micah-and-liba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, Owner at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thanks for your review and we are happy that most of your stay was pleasant. The service was not good and I am very sorry for that, we clearly have to do some extra training to some of our staff. I am not sure what went wrong but the normal procedure would be that we offer guests services at a very competitive rate, we have fixed prices and a price list so that there cant be any mistakes in that, and we for sure not try to get you too late for a connecting trip.
That it happened is not good and I really apologize for that and we will take action and retrain our staff. Our service is normally seen as exceptional and that is something we are very proud of, not this time time though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    193
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
127
502
171
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Great rooms and facilities, and really friendly service. After the heat and crowds of the temples, it was so nice to come back to the laid back atmosphere of the resort. The pool was especially attractive!
Only tip is to watch out for mosquitoes in the bathroom. The first night, we were bitten a few times, but after some bug spray, we re left well alone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ev_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This place is simply a gem of a place in otherwise hectic Siem Reap.
It is a gay friendly place so if this is not your thing stay away, but that being said it is by no means a sleazy hook up place. So sorry to my fellow gay travellers / this is not the place to go for action. It is a very elegant and above all friendly and welcoming place which I have yet to experience in many other cities. We were met by our tuk tuk driver at the airport who after a mild confusion with the spelling of our names took us on the 15 minute drive to the hotel. He spoke good english and was knowlegeable about the place, including many of the temples. So we actually used him as our driver for the next 3 days (cost US$15 / day for a full day - US$25 for the far away temples).
We stayed at the boutique resort. Definitely my preference of the properties they have. (they also have a hotel, which looks equally nice but for some reason I think the atmosphere was nicer at the resort though I didnt look much into the hotel to be honest) .
The location is great - it is on the quiet side of the river flowing through siem reap, but still only 5 minutes walk to the old market and the city centre. Absolutely perfect.
We had tried to book into the villa rooms, but they were full, so we got a 'regular suite' room.
Really nice. Elegant boutique furnishings, really clean, and with a nice bathroom and shower. The king size bed was wonderful to sleep in. While I still don't understand why they call it a suite, the room is really extremely nice. The extra treat is that all rooms have a balcony facing the pool area where there is also an outdoor bathtub and shower. Really nice after a long day of temple-trekking in the Anchor jungle.
The staff at this place go out of their way to help you in any way - be it food, drinks by the pool, organizing excursions to the jungle and the temples of Anchor. And a very nice breakfast is complimentary every day.
The price is 80 US$ per night for this type of room and it is worth every penny of it .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This is my third stay in one or other of the Golden Banana resorts at Siem Reap and it won't be the last. This is a small resort that delivers big resort standards of professionalism. But because it's small you feel immediately at home. The staff greeted us like old friends on arrival and seemed genuinely pleased we had returned. If you sit at the bar for a pre dinner cocktail (special mention for the good humoured barman Lee) you end up chatting with other guests and the owner and manager also drop by. They are a great source of recommendations for eating out etc in the town.
It's not so much gay friendly as people friendly. Typically there is a real mix, famlies, straight and gay, old and young, and as others have said nothing is too much trouble.
I haven't noticed any comments about the food they provide - we ate in a couple of times because we got chatting with other guests and we just wanted the vibe to continue . The food was excellent - good quality Khmer food and great value.
As everyone else says - great contemporary styling of the rooms and the whole hotel design, great staff, great location. The best boutique resort I know of anywhere, and it must be a huge effort to keep something like this hitting all the right buttons - yet they make it seem effortless.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Just came back from a week in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Our trip was an amazing experience from start to finish. Much of that had to do with the Golden Banana Resort. In the interest of full disclosure there were a few negatives. AC could have been better in the room (I'm incredibly heat intolerant so this is probably not going to present an issue to 99% of the people out there...my partner thought it was just fine and even with my heat intolerance I was able to deal.) Also, breakfast was slightly towards the lame side but again, acceptable. Finally, the location might be a turn off for some since it was in the older, more 'real' part of Siem Reap. Nothing dangerous or scary or anything like that. It might, however, appear a bit intimidating since the street is a little sketch looking. With that said you can walk to dozens of stores, restaurants, bars, markets, post office, grocery store, aspara shows etc. So that's the 'bad.' Here's the good: This resort is run with the guest in mind first and foremost. Everyone is so attentive and works hard to ensure the best customer experience. The restaurant was excellent. The room incredibly well appointed, decorated tastefully, comfortable and exceptionally clean. All you have to do is make a request and the staff works so hard in such a committed way to accommodate you. We typically stay in 5 star hotels when we travel and considered the Amansara, Hotel de la Paix and FCC. Something felt 'wrong' about these hotels for us mainly due to the lack of clarity regarding their role in Siem Reap and Cambodia's economic development as well as foreign ownership. It also felt wrong to rack up a hotel bill that seemed to exceed the average Cambodian's per capita GDP. So in the interest of social responsibility, we opted for the Golden Banana. My partner chose the hotel. I went in reluctantly thinking I was losing out on luxury and experience by opting for the more conscientious choice. Boy was I wrong! Sure it wasn't a five star experience, but when you strip away the pretension that's implicit to the best hotels you are left with one that stands head and shoulders above them. I also learned some great stuff from the manager about the GB's commitment to local/community economic and people development that left me really impressed. So if you want to do the right thing while having an amazing Siem Reap experience, choose this hotel. Finally, I really have to give props to the driver that we just happened to get through fortune/karma/luck. His name was Mr. Sochet and he was incredibly knowledgeable, spoke fantastic English (very conversational and really fun to talk to whole driving around the country), never pressured us to go to crazy places/shops/restaurants we didn't want to go to, quick with advice about itineraries in order to escape crowds, and generally just an all around great guy. He really made our trip a success. He even had direct, first hand, recent experience about Preah Vihear that allowed me to realize a dream by visiting this amazing temple (Think Machu Piccu of southeast asia with more relevance to recent cambodian history than you could even imagine!) With him driving (car 3 days, Tuk Tuk 2) we were able to cover most Angkor temples including Bantey Serei and Kbal Spean as well as Koh Ker, Beng Melia and Preah Vihear in a way that never felt overwhelming or rushed but instead relaxed and enjoyable from start to finish every day. And how's this for commitment: A family emergency came up making it impossible for him to drive us three days in. He arranged for a friend (David--another great driver!) to fill in and gave that friend the overview of our needs/likes/dislikes. He didn't leave us high and dry. That's really caring about the customer. So unusual these days but not at the GB!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael-and-Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Loved it! Very attentive service. More of a boy scene. Though it didn't dampen our visit in the least.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank folderover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2010

I stayed at the Hotel for one night then the Resort for three more. The Resort was the better but the Hotel itself is a gem. Both are a short way from the mad bustle of the town which makes them the perfect hideaway. The room I had in the Resort was beautiful, spacious, well equipped and had a wonderful second bath and shower - outside on my own private terrace! The rooms are set around the pool among flowers and foliage. The staff were very attentive and helpful without being obtrusive, and Joel the manager went out of his way to resolve a problem I had. I couldn't ask for a better place to stay - sophisticated, gay friendly and discreet. They also do the best Amok in town, among other very tasty dishes.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terencearthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#18 of 353 in Siem Reap
3,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
#19 of 353 in Siem Reap
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#5 of 353 in Siem Reap
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#63 of 353 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#29 of 353 in Siem Reap
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suite Rooms build around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an alfresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a Boutique Design Resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of Local and Western dishes, a fully functional Front Desk who can help you organize al your tours and travels and there are Spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing