We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PRICE & LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunborey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thunborey Hotel
Ranked #243 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GREAT PRICE & LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks and the staff were very helpful, the rooms were spotless and the location was very handy to the Old Market & Pub Street. , There is a lift, free water, breakfast & Wi-Fi but no pool. However, if you want a swim you can go a few doors down and pay $3 at the Angkor Friendship Inn.

I would recommend this hotel to all travellers and also volunteers wanting somewhere close to everything at a good price.

Room Tip: Levels 1 & 2 are best for WI-FI
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you so much for spending your value time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    49
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
38
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is probably great usually - showers are hot with good water pressure, rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and their rates for tuk tuks and other services are great. Just a sunrise or sunset tuk tuk is $5US, driver for a day is $11, a day including the longer trip to Banteay Srei is $15. We thought these prices were good and lower than you get trying to bargain. We took the air conditioned bus to Phnom Penh for $6 per person. The bus has a toilet, but it's disgusting! The man at reception said the bus stops along Sisowath Quay, the riverside, but it doesn't. Maybe close but we didn't spend a lot of time walking around looking at streets before just getting a tuk tuk for $2 to our hotel. There are three free computers you can use in the lobby, just beware of the hordes of mosquitoes (Siem Reap in general). The breakfast isn't great, eggs, two slices white bread, jam, and a little bit of fruit. Coffee tastes really strange, and the OJ is tang.

Location is great. Lotus Dream massage is down the street to the right, so good! 3 Hour Laundry is a few meters to the left, and the nice young woman there did a great job with our laundry.

On to our unusual problems. The second night here the electricity had problems on the entire first floor, causing the lights to flicker and the air conditioner to make the loud sound of a garage door opening every few minutes. This happened after we were settled in bed. It took a lot of back and forth running to reception before someone even took it seriously. Then they shut off our electricity and told us to change rooms - in pitch black! We asked for a flashlight and received a cell phone and were told to use that. They said "the flashlight is busy right now." Haha. Finally we convinced them to turn the electricity back on briefly so we could at least see our things to gather them. We had already changed the night before because the first was surrounded by smokers and smelled awful. Knowing that I didn't want a smoky smelling room, they had sprayed loads of perfume into the room they wanted us to change into. What smell were they hiding with all that air freshener? So we moved again and were in a twin bed room, smaller than we'd originally booked. All of this made for a late night. Next morning we're in our tuk tuk about to head off when a receptionist runs at us and tells us we have to change rooms back immediately if we want to keep our bigger room with the double bed. Inconvenient. Our last night there, at about 2 in the morning, the air conditioner started making the garage door sound again, except really high pitched. It got louder and louder until it sounded like it would wake up the entire floor. To avoid changing rooms again, we just asked for a fan and turned the AC off. Staff claimed it was a "black day," but why only one floor and why did it happen twice?

Overall, probably a good hotel, but with problems. Electricity is not good and pretty quirky. We didn't get too much sleep because off all that. Changed rooms a total of four times in only four nights! Hotel doesn't make any effort to separate smokers and non smokers. I pushed a lot and got a refund, which they promptly credited me. The boss said, "Because I feel sorry for you." Haha. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah10155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review, and I still say I feel sorry for you for your trouble stay cause by our little bit problem of the electricity. I already told you that it never happens before, and you already got back one night refund immediately after you expresses your feeling. I did not see any pushing a lot like you said. One more thing is all of guests in the entire floor did not complain about moving their room because they clearly understand the situation except you. I remembered that night, after changing the room to the 2nd floor, you did not like the smell in that room, so my staff gave you two more rooms to see and smell, so I think you would get a good choice.

Anyway it was still our problem, so we are going to double check the electricity everyday to prevent any strange cause. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang, null, Cambodia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

At first we stay here (thunborey Hotel) for couple days. services was excellent and all the staffs was polite and kinds. They do the bed sheets every morning. Always clean and fresh.

Closed to all faculties.
I give a 2 thumbs up. If m stay in siem reap again. Thunborey hotel is my first choice with no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Spent 2 nights with my family last December 2011. The hotel is just a stroll away from the old market. Rooms are big and comfy with working A/C, hot showers, cable TV and clean sheets. There are provisions for lift/stairs and free wifi in the lobby. Breakfast is serve in the rooftop. Accommodating/friendly staff. Though a short bumpy ride from the main road is the drawback. Over all: fair deal, value for money.
Look for Mr. Mao (mrmaoangkor@hotmail.com) if you're in need of a guide for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phume Phnom, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I spent there 2 night, it was okay but I love their free breakfast, Very good, Food (Noodle, Fried rice, Sandwich, Soup), Drinks (Coffee or tea), Fruit.
The place is not far from the city (Psar Chas), short walk; however, the road condition is not very good, so there are a lot of dust a long the way.
Hotel price were cheap, but if you are in early check-in condition, there maybe some problem with bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linnie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The location is quite good, you could take a stroll towards Pub Street for dinner and back again.
There are one or two small shops selling snacks, bottled water and shampoo and soap. There are also laundry shops next to the hotel where you can send your clothes for laundry. The rooftop dining area is peaceful and relaxing. There is also a lift. Wifi can be a bit weak if you are at the end of the hall... If you need to get a prepaid phone card, walk to the intersection and there are two stalls selling prepaid cards. Very convenient. Good place to stay when visitng Siem Reap.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staycation79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I was stay only 1 night 05/Nov/2011 (#217). it's nice hotel and easy for traveler and beautiful Restaurant with great view. i was early check in but staff have choice to let's us stay at another room first before our room that we book was clean.it's great deal.

But when i check in staff should escort us to the room but they're let's us to find the room by told us about location so it's bad way for tourist.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vichea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#135 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
0.0 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#117 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#98 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cockatoo Resort & Spa
The Cockatoo Resort & Spa
#70 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunborey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunborey Hotel

Property: Thunborey Hotel
Address: Psakrom Steet | Viheachen Village, Svaydangkum Commune, Siem Reap +855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunborey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique hotel in Siem Reap, the city of Angkor Wat, one of seven wonders in the world is standing in the middle of the city. Our main building has ceiling, slender columns and built in Khmer wood art decoration. Enjoy the facilities and Cambodian traditional hospitality at Thunborey Hotel. Located in the Old Market area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Thunborey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing