We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thunborey Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Medamrei(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Amazing Residence(Svay Dangkum)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seda Villa(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
56
49
11
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
49
11
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Excellent Hotel with friendly staff and daily room service. Still don't know why they only charge 18 bucks for this... Service was great they did also let us have a shower after we already checked out (in a room that was already cleaned).
Location near Old Market was also fab.
No pool.

Room Tip: All rooms I have seen so far look alike. Just depends on number of beds you want.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuJoKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you so much for spending your value time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks and the staff were very helpful, the rooms were spotless and the location was very handy to the Old Market & Pub Street. , There is a lift, free water, breakfast & Wi-Fi but no pool. However, if you want a swim you can go a few doors down and pay $3 at the Angkor Friendship Inn.

I would recommend this hotel to all travellers and also volunteers wanting somewhere close to everything at a good price.

Room Tip: Levels 1 & 2 are best for WI-FI
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you so much for spending your value time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is probably great usually - showers are hot with good water pressure, rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and their rates for tuk tuks and other services are great. Just a sunrise or sunset tuk tuk is $5US, driver for a day is $11, a day including the longer trip to Banteay Srei is $15. We thought these prices were good and lower than you get trying to bargain. We took the air conditioned bus to Phnom Penh for $6 per person. The bus has a toilet, but it's disgusting! The man at reception said the bus stops along Sisowath Quay, the riverside, but it doesn't. Maybe close but we didn't spend a lot of time walking around looking at streets before just getting a tuk tuk for $2 to our hotel. There are three free computers you can use in the lobby, just beware of the hordes of mosquitoes (Siem Reap in general). The breakfast isn't great, eggs, two slices white bread, jam, and a little bit of fruit. Coffee tastes really strange, and the OJ is tang.

Location is great. Lotus Dream massage is down the street to the right, so good! 3 Hour Laundry is a few meters to the left, and the nice young woman there did a great job with our laundry.

On to our unusual problems. The second night here the electricity had problems on the entire first floor, causing the lights to flicker and the air conditioner to make the loud sound of a garage door opening every few minutes. This happened after we were settled in bed. It took a lot of back and forth running to reception before someone even took it seriously. Then they shut off our electricity and told us to change rooms - in pitch black! We asked for a flashlight and received a cell phone and were told to use that. They said "the flashlight is busy right now." Haha. Finally we convinced them to turn the electricity back on briefly so we could at least see our things to gather them. We had already changed the night before because the first was surrounded by smokers and smelled awful. Knowing that I didn't want a smoky smelling room, they had sprayed loads of perfume into the room they wanted us to change into. What smell were they hiding with all that air freshener? So we moved again and were in a twin bed room, smaller than we'd originally booked. All of this made for a late night. Next morning we're in our tuk tuk about to head off when a receptionist runs at us and tells us we have to change rooms back immediately if we want to keep our bigger room with the double bed. Inconvenient. Our last night there, at about 2 in the morning, the air conditioner started making the garage door sound again, except really high pitched. It got louder and louder until it sounded like it would wake up the entire floor. To avoid changing rooms again, we just asked for a fan and turned the AC off. Staff claimed it was a "black day," but why only one floor and why did it happen twice?

Overall, probably a good hotel, but with problems. Electricity is not good and pretty quirky. We didn't get too much sleep because off all that. Changed rooms a total of four times in only four nights! Hotel doesn't make any effort to separate smokers and non smokers. I pushed a lot and got a refund, which they promptly credited me. The boss said, "Because I feel sorry for you." Haha. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah10155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review, and I still say I feel sorry for you for your trouble stay cause by our little bit problem of the electricity. I already told you that it never happens before, and you already got back one night refund immediately after you expresses your feeling. I did not see any pushing a lot like you said. One more thing is all of guests in the entire floor did not complain about moving their room because they clearly understand the situation except you. I remembered that night, after changing the room to the 2nd floor, you did not like the smell in that room, so my staff gave you two more rooms to see and smell, so I think you would get a good choice.

Anyway it was still our problem, so we are going to double check the electricity everyday to prevent any strange cause. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

At first we stay here (thunborey Hotel) for couple days. services was excellent and all the staffs was polite and kinds. They do the bed sheets every morning. Always clean and fresh.

Closed to all faculties.
I give a 2 thumbs up. If m stay in siem reap again. Thunborey hotel is my first choice with no doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Spent 2 nights with my family last December 2011. The hotel is just a stroll away from the old market. Rooms are big and comfy with working A/C, hot showers, cable TV and clean sheets. There are provisions for lift/stairs and free wifi in the lobby. Breakfast is serve in the rooftop. Accommodating/friendly staff. Though a short bumpy ride from the main road is the drawback. Over all: fair deal, value for money.
Look for Mr. Mao (mrmaoangkor@hotmail.com) if you're in need of a guide for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews