We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Thunborey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thunborey Hotel
Ranked #270 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel provides everything from good breakfast every morning to clean rooms and bathrooms.The hotel is situated about 2 mins walk from pub street. The staffs are very reliable and trust-worthy. Once I left my camera at the breakfast area and they immediately called the lobby to inform me about it. They are friendly and can speak good English.The rooms are air conditioned, clean. I think this hotel deserves more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nishannara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

There are plenty of places to stay in Siem Riep and on this street alone there are several hotels but the Thunborey is highly recommended.

Ideal location just a mere stumble from Pub Street with clean rooms, big bathroom & powerful showers.

But what really makes it are the helpful staff on reception particularly Bin Yan who helped hugely with organising Angkor Wat information & transport, recommending places to visit/eat/drink/shop & generally going above & beyond the call of duty to help all guests. Many thanks !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cornish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

It's a cheap hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the city center of Siem Reap. I stayed in a double room, plenty of space, comfortable beds including airco,mini bar,tv, excellent shower and WiFi is ok. Breakfast is served every morning on the top of the hotel with nice view. Friendly staff

Ideal hotel for couple nights Siem Reap to visit Angkor Wat. The temple complex is about 15 minutes drive by tuktuk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenNL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have stayed in other similar priced hotels in Siem Reap. This place is far better on all counts. The rooms are large, clean and in very good condition. The wifi always works. The breakfast in the morning is outstanding. Just can not say enough good things about this place

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your value time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

It's a cheap hotel with basic amenities. The room itself was large enough and the shower had good pressure and ready hot water. Soap and dandruff shampoo were provided, but no hair dryer. Cleanliness was an issue, since the surfaces needed dusting/wiping and the floor could have used further sweeping. In room slippers provided were obviously used. A/c was strong, wifi was variable depending on which room you got. Breakfast was adequate by Asian standards. Watch out for bugs in the congee. Western items were available. I would say the hotel's strength was that it was centrally located in a safe area and provided the going rate ($1 for 10min) for in room massage.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank lilorchid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We are staying at this hotel during the high season at the beginning of January and and we would not recommend it if you expect a quiet room where you can sleep. The staff are lovely, the room is nice but it was far too noisy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARILYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is located near to pub street and night market of Siem Reap and still away from all the noise and traffic. The rooms are nice and clean and bathrooms are spacious for the price you pay.
The staff is very friendly and always happy to help. I booked this through Expedia and called them for confirmation. The manager, I think his name was Peng was very courteous and offered to send a taxi or Tuktuk, with a charge but not exorbitant. He only arranged for a guide and Tuktuk the next day to visit Tonle Sap and Angkor Wat.

The breakfast is also decent. I was leaving for Phnom Penh by early morning bus after 3 nights stay and didn't have time to have breakfast. These guys packed some eggs, bread and fruits for me to have it on the bus.

The Wifi is provided in the room and it works fine. They would need to work on some of the lighting as I found the room with not sufficient light.

If they add up some good tours with a good tour operator, then people don't need to go out and scout for one. But overall I had a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul_Maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.6 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#33 of 365 in Siem Reap
2,465 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 365 in Siem Reap
3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 365 in Siem Reap
5,363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#145 of 365 in Siem Reap
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#43 of 365 in Siem Reap
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunborey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunborey Hotel

Address: Psakrom Steet | Viheachen Village, Svaydangkum Commune, Siem Reap +855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £14 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunborey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique hotel in Siem Reap, the city of Angkor Wat, one of seven wonders in the world is standing in the middle of the city. Our main building has ceiling, slender columns and built in Khmer wood art decoration. Enjoy the facilities and Cambodian traditional hospitality at Thunborey Hotel. Located in the Old Market area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Thunborey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing