We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely Conflicted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #19 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Completely Conflicted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

It's taken me a few days to begin this review because I do not know where to start. On one hand, I loved the hotel. On the other hand, I think it has some serious management issues. Here's my story:

We arrived at Siem Reap's airport at 11:30pm on a Saturday where my wife and I were met by our driver. He was very professional and efficiently shuttled us in a comfortable Toyota Camry to Sojourn. When we were arrived we were taken to our Apsara Villa. We immediately had mixed feelings. There was no welcome gift, and the room was nice, but by no means luxurious. After 20+ hour of flights to get to Siem Reap, we needed a chance to unwind, but Sojourn disappointed. The bed is hard and fragile. The bath was large, comfortable, but not quite spotlessly clean. Sojourn's location is very rural, after 9:30pm, lights go off, and there is absolutely nothing to do unless you go into town....

The next day, things took a turn for the better, and the real charm of the resort became apparent. The pool is quiet, a great place to relax. The restaurant is great, the servers are extremely warm and likable. We did the cooking lessons, which we highly recommend as well as the destination dining. Every employee is unbelievably warm and friendly. They took us to the local village to see their way of life which was humbling and eye opening.

Next we utilized the hotel's guide and driver for a tour of Siem Reap's temples. they were very friendly, and we enjoyed spending time with them. The guide's english was probably a 7 out of 10, so we had to work quite a bit to understand him, but he was very friendly. If you are inpatient or want a native english speaker, you might need to look elsewhere for a guide.

On our last day at the resort, there was a strong storm that knocked out power to the resort. The resort quickly utilized backup generators. Unfortunately the generators spewed C02 and carbon monoxide across the resort. I woke up very nauseous with a very big headache. I tried to sit outside at the pool, but the sound of the generators and their emissions were too much to handle. I went to take a nap indoors but our entire villa was full of emissions. I became really sick and had to check out of the hotel immediately. Although I explained the situation fully to the Australian management of the hotel, they did not seem like they were that concerned. I had to push them to get me a taxi immediately, instead of waiting an additional 15 minutes. I told them that I was worried about the health of the other guests too, but again, they didn't seem too concerned. I was too sick to walk in the stifling heat. In the end, our taxi driver took us to the hotel's other location in downtown Siem Reap where they provided us an air conditioned room for the three hours before our flight. I'm very grateful that they accommodated us, but still not certain that they recognized or cared about the seriousness of the situation. For 24 hours, I was very, very ill.

So all in all, there's a lot of great things about this hotel:
-Scenic location/ambiance
-Friendly staff
-Good restaurant
-Cooking Lessons
-Connection to local community
-Cheap taxis/tuk-tuks

At the same time, our last day in Siem Reap and first day in our next location (HCMC) was completely ruined by the hotel's mismanagement. To this day, we have not even received an apology, explanation, or any type of offer to make up for the discomfort they caused.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Packinmybags8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    79
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
182
457
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We spent two nights at the Sojourn and wish it could have been longer! After riding through the city of Siem Reap, we were so glad that we had chosen the Sojourn which is out of the crowds and city. We took the Weekender Package and they delivered EVERYTHING they said they would! From the time the driver picked us up at the airport to the time he took us back, everything was perfect. We ate dinner both nights at the Sojourn because the food was really excellent (the breakfasts were excellent as well). When we arrived at the Sojourn the "French Guy" sat down with us and explained what we would be doing and told us about the resort. He was very helpful and competent in every way as far as we were concerned. We also booked massages in our rooms and found then to be excellent and about $15 for 90 minutes. I especially loved the outdoor shower. All of the plumbing worked just fine. The villa was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. When we arrived, we were provided with a crepe and a drink. After a very warm day of touring the temples with our guide, we loved being able to hang out in the pool and order drinks at the pool. bar. The pool area is gorgeous. We had the driver take us to Siem Reap on the way back from the temples and walked around a little bit but we really just wanted to get back to the Sojourn. The only thing I didn't like about the tour (which isn't the fault of the Sojourn) is that when we were on the lake cruise, two small boats approached us. Both of these boats had small chidlren with big snakes around their necks. They came right up to our boat as if they were going to board. Being as I don't like snakes, I finally asked the guide to ask them to go away. We did see some people let them board their boats so I guess not everyone felt like I did about it.....just a warning that if you don't like snakes, you might want to tell your guide in advance tha you don't want any children with snakes to come to your boat. We found one day of temple touring to be sufficient for our tastes.....lots of walking and climbing but they were really fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Our trip to Siem Reap was absolutely perfect thanks to Sojourn Boutique Villas. Was traveling with an 8 month old and wanted to ensure a comfortable, safe, and fun trip. We stayed 4 nights and booked the Temple Villa for 3 and Terrace Room for 1 night (since the temple villas were all booked up). Both rooms were modern and well maintained. Couldn't use the outdoor shower in the villa because there were lots of mosquito outside but did enjoy the deep tub in the spacious bathroom. Also decided to go with the Sojourn's 3 Night Package which provided all the transport/tours/snacks to see the incredible temple sights in Siem Reap. They had an excellent driver with AC car and tour guide lined up. Not to mention the package includes massages and cocktails! The staff at the hotel were so accommodating and helpful- always smiling. If you are a young couple or like nightlife than staying in downtown Siem Reap is for you. It is a short drive but it's such a vibrant area (night markets, pubs, restaurants, massage parlours, etc) that it's best to be in the thick of things. If you are traveling with children or just like some peace and serenity the Sojourn is perfect. Everyday after viewing the temples we napped and relaxed at the pool and enjoyed every second of our holiday. We didn't want to leave!


Do book in advance!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_Food_Phanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Spent 3 nights while visiting Cambodia for temple touring. The room, staff, management, food, everything was great.
The hotel is situated near a village and away from town. This made for a very quiet and peaceful stay. The hotel was very accomodating in ensuring that visitors have transportation in to town. A tuk tuk will be reserved for a $3 round trip for as long as need it and the cost is simply added to your bill. BTW, it is worth going in to town to check it out. I was surprised at the amount of activity on Pub street.
The pool was a welcome respite after a long hot at day touring the temples. The swim up bar was very convenient.
The food at the hotel was excellent. I was surprised since the hotel is so small. I expected average food but was always pleased with the quality.
The service was excellent. The staff and management was always friendly and worked hard to make my stay as pleasant as possible.
For first timers to Cambodia, no one told me that there is no need to change dollars for Cambodian currency. The dollar seems to be accepted everywhere and is the preferred currency. The costs for just about everything is very low here so bring a lot of smaller bills. There is also an departure tax so be sure to keep a few dollars for the return trip home.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utsixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

enter the grounds and you are transported to a well tended little village flowers everywhere little charming villas great terrace room managed to stay in both beautiful pool extensive menu bkfst/dinner heady drinks some complementary /bottle of wine in villa upon arrival took 3 day package with tours exceptional /staff was gracious accomplished everything with a smile as to previous comment "couple of australians" were away having a baby as for "french guy" i found him to be extremely helpful and knowledgeable my stay wonderful and hope to visit again cambodian people gracious

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

The positives :The Hotel is calm and far from crowded downtown in a small village. Relaxing swiming pool with bar. Very good breakfast.

Negatives: sink problem in shower and toilets, when we took a shower the bathroom became a non usuable swiming pool. Toilets did not work. We called many Times the réception but problem not solved and we had to call many Times and insist before they sent someone who, at the end did not solve the problem.

The owners who we understand are a couple of australians, were never there which maybe explains the bad management. Instead, the Hotel was managed by a very young and not experienced french guy. the staff are very friendly and do their best, but unforthunately they are not trained.

This Hotel has a huge potential and could be better if it was better managed.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed in an Asparia villa for 5 nights and it was the most amazing stay we have ever had the pleasure of experiencing.
From the moment we arrived, every member of staff couldn't do enough for you, calling you by your name every time they spoke.
The hotel itself is set within walking distance to a very traditional village (which Sojourn donates a considerable amount of $'s to) which was wonderful walking around, saying hello to the beautiful kids that live there.
They arranged all of our Temple passes and sorted all of the 'tuk tuk's' for the town and temples.. The trip into town only costs you $3 as the hotel subsidises the drivers the rest... Fantastic. Make sure you ask for Mr Boun as he's a legend....
We really could not fault this hotel on anything, so if you are going to Siem Reap then treat yourself with a stay here, YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPPOINTED......
Oh, and the rooms are huge, with the best bathroom you'll ever use......

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohwow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#5 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#15 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
2.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#6 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Property: Sojourn Boutique Villas
Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing