We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding facilities and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #31 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My family and I have just returned from an outstanding trip to Angkor Wat. We followed the advice of other TripAdvisor reviewers and decided to stay at Soujourn - and what a treat we were in for indeed! As we were traveling as a group of 5 and only had 3 nights, we took out the Soujourn 3 night getaway package to make life easier. This meant that the all of our transport (including airport transfers), breakfast and lunch, our tour guide around the temples and a trip to the Tonle Sap Lake were all included in the cost (oh and a massage!). It was lovely to know that we were seeing the highlights of Angkor in our short trip - as recommended by local people - but also having the flexibility to change things if we wanted to.
In terms of the accommodation, the hotel grounds are beautifully kept and the rooms are immaculately clean. The resort is small and therefore very quiet - a lovely contrast to the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap and the temples. The restaurant onsite is great, we had a meal on one evening when we didn't want to go into the town and we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and great food. The pool is wonderful - particularly when also enjoying a drink at the 'swim-up' pool bar!
The staff at Soujourn were amazingly friendly and pleasant. The majority are employed from the local village so whilst occasionally the service was a little slow or things needed to be repeated or checked - we didn't mind at all as it was always done with a smile and with our best interests at heart.
In summary, my family and I were very impressed with Soujourn. They are doing fantastic work with the local community and the quality of their facilities are excellent - I look forward to recommending it to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britishsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

A definite must try place! The villas are just amazing and the location actually lets you get a peek into the village life. The service is impeccable and the food was lovely. All this at a very reasonable price! Oh yes, do get the guides from the hotel for the Angkor/ other temples trip, our guide was really knowledgeable and fun too!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank arunimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights last March, and we can't wait to return! Although not right smack in town, you wouldn't mind at all. My 2-year old very much enjoyed the tuk-tuk ride to town anyway. The hotel staff are very accommodating and eager to please. Service is not yet flawless but you can feel that they are trying their best. The hotel restaurant serves great food at reasonable prices. In fact, we enjoyed our meals in the hotel more than those we had in town. We arranged our transportation and tour guide for 2 days with the hotel. The rates are slightly higher but we didn't mind paying the few extra dollars for the excellent service we received. The rooms here are spacious and immaculately cleaned. The shower area tends to be slippery when wet (my daughter slipped while I was giving her a shower) and a bath mat would be welcome. Also, the bathroom sink drains a little slower than we would want to but this is a minor issue for me. The traditional Khmer massages were great and affordable. We are already planning to go back to Sojourn when their spa opens!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_travel_freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My family (husband, teenage daughter & 9 yr old daughter) stayed for 5 nights at Sojourn in April. We choose Sojourn based on the reviews in TripAdvisor and we wanted to be away from town (10 minutes away). As soon as we stepped thru the airport doors and saw our name on the Sojourn sign held by Mr. Sary, we knew that we would be in for a treat. On the way to Sojourn, we were offered water, pop or beer ... guess what hubby choose! Upon arrival, we were greeted with jasmine bracelets and cold towels to refresh ourselves. One of the reception staff sat down with us to go over our pre-planned itinerary. Since our room wasn't quite ready, we were shown to the open air dining room where our welcome drinks and snack were waiting for us. At that point, Erwan, the manager, came by to say hello and to show us our temple villa with the outdoor shower. It was a nice personal touch. The room exceeded our expections, it was very roomy even with an extra bed put in. Our girls loved the bathtub with the cascading waterfall. The little details like fresh flowers, bathrobes (for 4), slippers (for 4), books and bottles of water were greatly appreciated. Having WiFi was also a bonus.

Breakfast was included with our stay and we got to choose whatever we wanted from the menu. Everything was delicious and served with a smile. Loved the cappucino and chocolate shakes and banana crepes.

Since we had our days pre-planned, we asked for Mr. Sary to be our driver. What a wonderful and knowledgeable man. He also acted as a tour guide as he drove us around in his van. He was very patient with us as we took many photos - he slowed down for us whenever we wanted and even stopped off by the side of the road so that we can sample bamboo tubes filled with rice and beans. Great guy! We also took tuk tuks into town in the evenings - all it took was a quick phone call to reception to ask for a tuk tuk.

We did the Treak Village Walk with Ms. Shokhune and got to see the village and learned about village life. It is good to know that Sojourn do their part to help the villagers by providing water filters and collecting garbage. This is one of the reasons that we choose to stay here.

We also feasted at Destination Dining - our private table was set in a gazebo in the middle of a lily pond surrounded by candles. No details were overlooked, we were given welcome drinks, jasmine bracelets and introductions to the chefs. A musician played, a fan cooled us, mosquito repellent were provided and wine was served. Started off with appetizers for each of us, follow by the main courses (we pre-choose Australian steak, duck, prawns and laksa), then we barely had any room for dessert (creme brulee and chocolate fondue). It was an amazing dining experience. And when we returned to our room, there were fresh orchids arranged in the shape of a heart on our bed ... how spoil can we get?

Our girls loved the pool and the swim up bar, there were even pool toys for them to enjoy. We ordered lunch which was beautifully presented and was yummy. Having a cold drink and relaxing was a great way to spend the afternoons.

We also had in room massages (Sojourn trains girls from the village) which were wonderful, we felt so pampered. They will be opening a spa soon but it was a treat to have our massages in the comfort of our room.

Overall, everything about Sojourn was exceptional but it was the staff members that really shine. Everyone was always smiling and so accomodating. They make you feel at home and very welcomed. We have never encounted such outstanding service and hospitality. We had a fabulous stay at Sojourn and hope to return one day. Thank you Sojourn for the happy memories!

Room Tip: Email Sojourn directly, prompt response
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msm0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Beautiful hotel however the attention to detail and the staff make it one of the best we have ever stayed in. Dozens of tiny details, the most caring staff and the ethos of supporting the local village make it number one with us.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank chelmer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Such a relaxing, luxurious and friendly stay. The location is outside of the town so lovely and quiet - perfect if you just want to relax by the pool, have a cocktail at the swim up to bar and enjoy the sun. Having said that there are plenty of things to do; cooking classes, day trips and even a daily newsletter to read, which gives you tips, news, trips, events etc!

Our villa (temple villa) was so comfortable and every detail considered, from the book bundle in the wardrobe, to the special tea set and incense burner. The bed was so comfortable we completely over slept, but the staff were so accommodating and made our breakfast even though it was way past the cut off time.

The restaurant was great and again very accommodating (you can have your food on your porch or eat your desert in your room if you wish). And don't get me started on the gorgeous cocktails at the bar, the watermelon one was a personal favourite!

Stay here if you want to relax after a hard day sightseeing or if you want somewhere a bit special for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa5380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We were planning a family holiday to Siem Reap and we were recommended Sojourn as a place that would provide a great experince away from the centre of Siem Reap. It was a fantastic place and it deserves to recieve all the recommendations it gets. Why was it so special? As always it is the small things:
1.) The cold towels to refresh after the heat of the day.
2.) The Jasmine bracelets we al got when we arrived. the Kids loved them.
3.) The effort of the staff to call you by your first name.
4.) The tours and the community sense of the hotel.
5.) The can do attitude with all your requests.
6.) The focus on the charitable side and improving the village
7.) The trustworthy Tuk Tuks waiting to take you anywhere
8.) The Pho and Cambodian porridge for breakfast

The trips were exceptional. the Day in the Life is worthwhile for those who want to understand the realities of living in Cambodia. The warmth of the people and the excitement they have when you show interest in their culture and way of life was intoxicating.
We will return and I am sure we will get even more from the next visit. 5 days with a 5 and 3 year old here is fine, just structure your days and the fun they can have is amazing.
Sojourn allowed us to explore the culture of Cambodia, get a real sense of the people and life, yet give us the comforts to be able to relax and reflect on a beautiful country

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.7 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#8 of 374 in Siem Reap
614 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
#22 of 374 in Siem Reap
404 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 374 in Siem Reap
3,786 reviews
1.5 mi away
Advaya Residence
Advaya Residence
#5 of 374 in Siem Reap
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £54 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing