We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Truly the best hotel in Asia!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #27 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow! Truly the best hotel in Asia!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 3 week stay in South-East Asia and wow, it was incredible! First of all, the service was incredible right from when we booked our trip with helpful emails helping us to arrange trips to the temples and destination dining. We stayed at a cheaper hotel for one night as we flew in at 6pm and then were getting up at 5am for the temples but a Sojourn tuk-tuk driver picked us up from the cheaper hotel, took us out to the temples (all incredible) and then back to the hotel to pick up our bags and took us to the Sojourn, all for about $11 - great service! The staff were all so helpful, smiley and friendly.
The hotel is set just outside of town which is nice as you get to experience the 'real' Cambodia, we went for a walk in the village one morning and got some awesome photos of the smiley locals, cows, rice paddies etc but the best part was going to the Pagoda where a friendly monk (in an orange robe) showed us around their temple! It was a highlight of the trip, there is the oldest temple in Cambodia there, the practice to Angkor Wat and we got some great photos, he also introduced us to the chief monk and practiced his english with us! So definitely take a walk around.
The villas are set around a gorgeous pool with a swim up bar, we had lunch there one day and there are some lovely sun-beds to relax on. The villas themselves are incredible, we booked a temple villa that had a bath and an outdoor shower. They also give you a stack of books in your room to read or exchange which is nice. They do a chocolate turn down service every evening (although they leave the chocolates in the fridge so make sure you check there!) and one night left petals in our sink and in the shape of a heart on our bed which was a lovely touch!
The breakfast was delicious and my favourite was the coconut and palm sugar pancakes that we got as a welcome treat and had as a special at breakfast one morning. Despite being fully booked it didn't feel overcrowded.
We also booked the destination dining for our last night. It was really romantic and lovely, set over a lotus pond with your own chef, waiter and musician! The food was delicious (although the puddings could have been better). As we don't drink wine they gave us a discount which was good of them.
It only takes about 10/15minutes to get to town by tuk-tuk and in the evenings you just pay $3 for a flat rate for as long as you want there and back which is a handy service.
Overall, we had a lovely stay and left feeling relaxed. We really loved Siem Reap and the night markets are great for shopping and of course the temples were out of this world! I'd definitely recommend the Sojourn and Erwan was especially helpful.

Room Tip: Book the Temple Villa with an outdoor shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MU28traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    79
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
188
463
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband, brother in law, and I recently traveled to Siem Reap and we stayed at Sojourn Villas and it was absolute relaxation and culture. The villas are set in a village, don't be concerned when you are taken down narrow clay paths. This is part of what makes Sojourn so special.

We stayed in aTemple Villa and it was beautiful. The bathtub is enormous with a waterfall faucet. The staff is incredibly friendly, always smiling and very helpful. The swim up bar is awesome, the bartenders have been trained well and although it might take a while for a drink, they are made with precision and care (try the Mai Tai). The pool and bar are a perfect way to unwind after the busy days exploring Siem Reap.

The breakfast is adequate, offering Western and Asian selections. In our experience in Cambodia, avoid any pork or beef as the quality is not the same as Western standards. The fresh linguini with capers is outstanding. I would not recommend the steak. Pool snacks are a hit!!!!

The tuk tuk in to town is very efficient and offers a unique experience and very affordable ($3 round trip). They even wait for you while you are shopping, dining or having a big night out.

The staff will take care of any tour needs, we booked a temple tour and a cooking tour and they were very professional and highlights of our trip. We also booked the 40 km quad bike tour online (well worth it!!!).

Bottom line...this place is amazing, you will not be disappointed, come and relax and take in the magic of Cambodia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This hidden gem just outside of the hustle of downtown Siem Reap is a truly wonderful experience. The staff is outstanding and perhaps the friendliest I've ever encountered in my many travels. Each Villa is a gem with lovely local furnishings and lots of space. Some have spectacular secluded outdoor showers that are so common in S/E Asia. I loved being able to hear the birds and see the bamboo and flowers while showering in an enclosed, outdoor area just outside the bathroom. The huge, indoor soaking tub was also spetacular.

We loved the cooking course that was offered through the hotel and all of the great amenities; including the great pool with the swim-up bar. The flowers and trees on the grounds are beautiful and the smell of the exotic plants is heavenly.
There is a laptop available for internet access at a very small price, so you can keep in touch with everyone.

But best of all, the staff are the greatest! I felt at home and really hated to leave. I want to go back as quickly as possible! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with the outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaLadyHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane,qld
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is a very special place. One of the most unusual places we've stayed in. This was sadly just an overnighter for us, but I know we will be back very soon. We decided to stay in Sojourn on our last night in Cambodia - mainly because it has such rave reviews on tripadvisor, but also because we loved the idea of the 'destination dining' experience to celebrate our wedding anniversary. If this is your first destination in Siem Reap you may feel a little uncomfortable with the location - but have no fear! Although It feels like it's a million miles from anywhere, it's actually not that far from the main area of Siem Reap and tuk tuks are very cheap and plentiful. The villas are simply furnished but spotlessly clean and very tastefully adorned with flowers and nice touches here and there. The floor and walls are constructed of 'polished' concrete which works really well - I've never seen this before in a hotel / villa, but it makes for a very attractive and stylish room design. We had time for a massage here, and the two girls were an absolute delight and very good at their job. Their English isn't the best, (but much better than my Cambodian!) but we had such good fun and giggles with the language barrier - and the massage is as good as any I've had in a top quality European resort / hotel. At the time of writing there is no spa, but I believe there is an intention to build one soon, so at the moment the massage takes place in the comfort of your room. There aren't too many rooms at Sojourn so the place immediately takes on a very cosy and intimate atmosphere. The pool is probably one of the cleanest and best kept pools I've ever seen. Living in Queensland we know how difficult it is to keep the pool and water so crystal clear and clean during the rainy / humid seasons. You really have to get the balance right with the chemicals - but these guys must have a wonderful pool maintenance man who I would definitely like to borrow! Whilst here, we opted for a walk of the local village, which is a very humbling experience, something everyone should do. I would love to have met the owners of Sojourn but they were overseas at the time, but it is evident from their involvement with the local village that they are very kind and charitable people. The highlight of our stay here was the 'destination dining' experience. WOW!!!! Now... we are massive foodie fans, but being in Cambodia, our expectations weren't too high. But the idea of our own private pavilion, private chef, waiter and musician was just too much for us to pass by. And the food?? FANTASTIC! The setting was just absolutely stunning. It's pitch black, but you're surrounded by candles and every now and then you can catch the fireflies flickering around you. There's frogs croaking and fish leaping out of the water (catfish we think!). This was a very private affair for us and one of the most romantic meals we've ever experienced. The waiter was top class, very charming and his timing was always absolutely perfect. This experience doesn't come cheaply by Cambodian standards, but is worth every penny and costs FAR less than a regular quality meal in Australia or Europe. Just one word of warning - the pavilion setting is a short walk from the hotel, but it's pitch black. You are led to the pavilion by torchlight, but don't wear heels like me (God knows what I was thinking at the time!!) We left very early for our flight home the next day so we missed out on breakfast, but the reception staff had made us some lovely sandwiches to take with us. The hotel's driver was unlike any we'd experienced in Cambodia - his car was immaculate and his driving was cool, calm and collected. Very rare indeed. The driver's English was fantastic too. We can't wait to come back to this place and spend a few days. It's not the cheapest, and it's not the best located, but it honestly doesn't matter because the experience is second to none. Whilst we were in Siem Reap we spent a few days at Golden Temple Hotel too - another fantastic place (see my seperate review) and also 3 nights at Raffles (very nice - but bedrooms definitely in need of refurbishment) so if you want the best of both worlds and have at least 5 days in Siem Reap then I would recommend you split your time between Golden Temple and Sojourn. They are VERY VERY different but equally special in their own seperate ways.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destinationqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Loved everything about Sojoune Villas, from the location to the very helpful, friendly staff, the fantastic restaurant. The Manager likes to be called Basil, but is nothing like Basil at Fawlty Towers!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in villa #4 which was at the back of the complex and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHP534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed at Sojourn for the 2nd time, after a previous visit last year around the same time.
This place is still a gem, a refuge in the middle of the countryside - only 10 minutes by tuk-tuk from Siem Reap town.
Not only an oasis of leisure and quiet, also great food, very friendly and personal service from the staff, intimiate small scale, so no groups of tourists.
They're constructing a small adjacent building where the owner plans to set up a spa - so it's only getting better.
A great place - let's just keep this between us and don't tell anyone else please!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddot61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were lucky enough to spend a few days here recently and im delighted to agree with ALL the great reasons other guests have talked about. ! The staff are by far one of the greatest attributes of this lovely little hotel. Always Smiling and genuinely Pleased to help you.
Cocktails in the swim up bar were great.,Also the destination dining was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class. Their tuk tuk drivers and van drivers were a great asset to seeing the best of Siem Reap.Highly recommended and we hope to return :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiqsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.7 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#9 of 356 in Siem Reap
565 reviews
2.9 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,319 reviews
4.1 mi away
Templation Hotel
Templation Hotel
#24 of 356 in Siem Reap
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 356 in Siem Reap
3,628 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nita by Vo
Nita by Vo
#22 of 356 in Siem Reap
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Property: Sojourn Boutique Villas
Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing