We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh I want to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #19 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oh I want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Went to Cambodia in April and stayed at the Sojourn for three nights. The staff here are wonderful, so friendly and will do anything for you. This was a very restful place. We arrived very early in the morning and was not supposed to check in until the afternoon, but they gave us our room when we arrived and offered us our breakfast on this day instead of our last day, as on our last day we would be leaving before the restaurant opened. The food at the restaurant was very tasty and everything was presented lovely. The rooms are basic but very clean and have everything that you need for a perfect holiday. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to go to Siem Reap and would return in an instant. Fab hotel.

Room Tip: Cannot say anything about a fitness centre as the hotel did not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easysides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    79
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
182
457
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

we stayed in this place for 4 nights despite our initial booking for 5 nights.

it could have been a nice place to stay if the services were better organized. first off, the hotel is far from downtown. you need a tuk tuk the get there which costs you $3 for the first hour!(some hotels provide free tuk tuk from sunrise up till 11pm). and when they don't have any tuk tuk available, you have no choice but to hire a car for $5 for the first hour. for the price you pay here, you can actually save at least 50% and get a much better service oriented hotel somewhere with complimentary tuk tuk the whole day.

the hotel doesn't provide a do not disturb tag to be place on the door and during some magical moments(you know what I mean), we were disrupted by our main door being unlocked only to be saved by the little hinge that prevents others from outside to open the door. phew!

you can't smoke in the hotel/villa and by all means, we do respect that. there is a balcony just outside for you to smoke. we, however do not chose to smoke there. we smoked at the open PRIVATE shower which was at the back door as we prefer to have our own privacy.(I hate to wear clothes just for a smoke so my option doesn't require me to do so). yet I'm being penalized for $50 fine!

on our unintentional last night at the hotel, something was wrong and we only discovered it when we woke up. apparently, one of our window were being left opened which only god knows what could have happened that night. nothing was lost though but as we brought this up to the management for any compensation, all she can say was, "did anything happen?" with the look of nothing is wrong then! that's just unreasonable!

oh, that was the main reason we left there early prior to our 5 nights booking.

so please read the reviews and think if the hotel meets your requirement rather than just looking at the positions the hotels are at in TA.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rawkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sojournboutique, Owner at Sojourn Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
It is extremely rare that we comment on customer reviews preferring to allow customers the opportunity to express their opinions and let reviews speak for themselves. However in this situation we are very disappointed that this customer has posted this review, and feel we need to make comment. This guest's problem is completely around the charge we applied for them smoking in the room & not a fair review of Sojourn. We detected that they had smoked in the room after their first day, and gave them a polite reminder that we are strictly non smoking in all rooms. This continued for several days before finally we applied the charge as they continued to heavily smoke in the room. Their assertion that they only smoked in the outside shower area is completely fabricated. As you walked into the room it reeked of smoke, and near the window they had opened there was large amounts of cigarette ash, etc on the floor. When the guests were advised that we would charge them a cleaning fee they became very agitated, told us they would leave (which we we said they could without any cancellation charges) and then issued a thinly veiled threat that we should compensate them for their inconvenience or they would write a bad review on tripadvisor. We believe that we had no choice but to refuse this absurd request. Subsequently they obviously have written this review. After they left we could not sell this room for 4 days as it smelt so strongly of smoke. To ensure the room was at Sojourn standard we also had to send all of our curtains and blinds to be laundered. In the interests of all guests we would like to take this opportunity to once again advise that we do not allow smoking in our rooms, but do provide ash trays on each rooms balcony - most of our smoking customers respect this and we have never before had to impose a charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

It's better you know this before doing wrong: the hotel, with swimming pool and a delicious bar inside the pool (!), spacious rooms (we stayed in room, not in villa) very well furnished with style is NOT in the center, but at 10 mins from it. The last part of the road is a little bit bumpy but remember that you are in Cambodia too. Although someone is saying that not so many tuk tuk know about the hotel, the staff is booking car service for only 5 US Dollars: they pic up (say hello to Synon!) and wait you for all the time you need till you want to return back to the hotel. What else?
Another tip: if you hate Geckos do not go here. I don't like them but for me was no problem at all to find one inside the room. If you ask, the staff will gently remove it from the room, but we keep instead.
The staff is great, they call you by name at all time, very friendly, available and nice! The Spa service (my wife had a room service) is perfect! You feel like a queen (if you're female, of course...). By night it's very romantic.
The breakfast complete and well prepared, a suggestion: not to order too many things because the portions are quite big!
Last: music in background extremely nice! I asked the staff to give me the title of one song one time!
The hotel offers also guide service and as far as I know, Cooking school and some other things, and a part of money is going to the local people! Thanks again to all of you!

Room Tip: We had one room at the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
271 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel by the reviews here at Tripadvisor and directions but do not understand the people may have liked a hotel that is located as bad as this. The taxi drivers, tuk tuk, no one knows the location because the region is very poor and far from the center. Our room was on the first floor and had a lot of dust in the chandeliers, you saw that there was no service at the hotel. Despite the friendly staff (this happens in all hotels in Cambodia) do not indicate this hotel because it is not good option.

Room Tip: The tip I give is to find a hotel closer to the center. It has excellent options at all price levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This place is fantastic! It is a little far from Pub street but they can always arrange a driver. We booked our tuk tuk driver, Mr Wah frou Sojourn and we continued to use him even when we moved to another hotel (because Sojourn was fully booked and had no more rooms). I highly recommend Mr. Wah, he was very easy going, navigated the temples well, careful driver and courteous. He made our day trips smooth and easy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juxworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

my husband & I stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. Enjoyed our stay a lot. This place is in the middle of a small village 15 mins by tuk-Tuk from siem reap. its a small, green & well maintained property with excellent staff. We chose this place basis the reviews in trip-advisor, Am glad that we did. Would recommend this highly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnilKrishnaSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked the three night getaway and weren't disappointed. Our driver taught us so much about the culture and sites we visited, nothing was too much trouble for him. Our Villa was so peaceful and clean and we loved the outdoor shower. The massages are pricey than in town but well worth every cent.

Service was better than we have received in any 5 star resort with staff greeting you by name each day and going above and beyond at all times. The food was fantastic.

Really could not fault anything whilst staying at the villa's. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlliMatt592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#4 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#14 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#5 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
2.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#6 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Property: Sojourn Boutique Villas
Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing