We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #27 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Fairview, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

You know you must be on an adventure when your cab is traversing potholes to swallow cows. Then you turn down a tiny street and pass through the gates to exhale. Sojourn will revive you. Its staff are beyond accommodating and sweet. The rooms are generous and will spoil you. The food will leave you with no desire to even visit another dining establishment. Truth be told I almost wish our trip were reversed so we could have ended here instead of beginning our journey here.
We chose to tour Siem Reap for its obvious history before embarking on a cruise up the coast of Vietnam. I will certainly return. Never mind the insanely low cost for any spa treatment (the few we tried were worth so very much more - everything in perspective). The heated floor in the bath was surprising though welcome after a body scrub and wrap done in our villa.
The pool has its own bar to swim up to and enjoy a cocktail while watching the geckos play. And you are maybe 20 minutes from Angkor Wat and all that Siem Reap has to offer.
Just go. You will be rewarded.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    79
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
188
460
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Villas are located in quiet location just outside siem reap town. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Most of them knew me by their first name. They organised trips for me to Angkor Wat , Tonle Sap Lake etc. Ride to city centre and return is only $3 so it is not an issue at now. Siem Reap is beautifui place to live and this place of the hidden gems.

Room Tip: As I was solo traveller, I stayed in Terrace room. I think Villa rooms will very nice for Couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramod N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burpengary
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel late Nov to 1 Dec. it was great. The rooms are very nice, we had one of the villas, the food is some of the best we have ever experienced. The staff are happy and friendly and could not do enough for us. The hotel is just out of town and is accessed by a road that has a short dirt section. Only $3 for tuktuk or $5 for cab to town and it is worth paying and staying in the boutique hotel with not many room nod lots of leisure. Nice pool and drinks are reasonably priced.

Had out own ironing board which is great for Asia. The beds were a bit firm but that is the only thing we could say could be improved. Would stay again anytime. For any one who spends their working lives being "farmed" in cube hotels this is the place to be.

Siem Reap is a great place and there is cheap restaurants with great food.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annie_bogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This place is gorgeous- very soon after you get here you'll wish you'd booked for longer. We were met at the airport by the driver who essentially became our driver the whole time we were in Siem Reap. The hotel is set in beautifully-maintained gardens with separate villas around the swimming pool. We booked a temple villa with the outside shower (there's one inside too which my husband was glad of as- for some strange reason- he didn't like to use the outside shower). It's totally private being surrounded by high walls and absolutely blissful. Breakfast was great as was dinner- not to mention the cocktails! There's a great spa- we had massages and body scrubs-all just heavenly. And the staff- they just couldn't do enough for you- everyone was genuinely welcoming and wanted you to enjoy your stay. We spent two days at the temples- first day just hired the driver and second day we also hired a guide. We were templed out by the end of day 2 and I fell asleep in front of the TV at 9pm! Absolutely loved Sojourn and all the temples- each was different from the others. The hotel is a little outside the town centre- which was absolutely the right choice to make- can't say we really liked Siem Reap town but would recommend Blue Pumpkin if you go into town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Martens-Latem, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We spent 3 wonderful nights has Sojourn! It really is paradise: peaceful (nothing to do with the village of Siem Reap and factories tourists), beauty of the place, excellent food. Each villa has a large bedroom, a dressing room and a bathroom + separate shower avc a close with table and chairs by the pool. I was scared at the beginning because we reserve with breakfast included in the morning and we were offers a menu with prices per item! But, initially, no problem, breakfast was well understood: we could choose what we wanted in a beautiful card. The kitchen is very high quality and great value for money. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex. UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. The staff were delightful and couldn't do enough for all the guests. Such lovely smiley staff. The food was excellent, the rooms well appointed and spotless. The grounds were beautiful and the pool was like a hot bath!!!! This is an Eco hotel and there are heat exchangers which is why the pool was so hot. There was no pressure to ever turn the air con off so the room remained cool throughout our stay. I would recommend is hotel as its location being out of town meant it was very quiet. We also saw real life as we came and went in tut tuts.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room upstairs .....it was huge. We had a beautiful terrace where we dried our washin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Just over a year after our first stay, we returned for 2 nights at the end of November 2012. (You can find my earlier, glowing review on this website.)

We had great memories from our first trip, which is why we returned, but the hotel exceeded our expectations so much this time that it's hard to put into words. This from somebody who is on their 58th review.

The rooms have been spruced up: they now have dashes of colour through plants and flowers, which is a great improvement. They are now more lively and natural. We loved it.

We were there for a pretty important life event and found beautiful touches in our rooms (flowers, chocolates, tea, juice...), perfect service in email or phone communication, and incredible attention to detail for everything we wanted...and indeed quite a lot that we would never have thought to ask for.

Another big plus is that the hotel does a lot for and with the neighbouring village. Most of the staff are from there (so training + jobs), you can buy village-made objects (cute stuffed toys for example), they have installed water filters.. and the list goes on and on. This is a major difference with some of the abominations you find in the centre of Siem Reap that belong to tycoons, go for massive unsustainable development and generally don't care much about local communities.
I strongly recommend the village tour. It's very instructive and most of the money goes towards a village improvement fund. We merged ours with a temple visit to enjoy the sunset over the rice paddies while farmers were bringing their water buffaloes home for the night. Just as beautiful as from the more famous temples and not crowded with tens of Korean tour groups.

Others have gushed about the beautiful, natural grounds, the excellent (really excellent) food and the wonderful level of service. All true, and all deserve repeating.

I could go on and on about how amazing this hotel is, but I'm sure you get the gist. It's a really unique experience and staying here will make a huge difference to your visit to Cambodia.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesuit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.9 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#37 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,313 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#9 of 353 in Siem Reap
553 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#18 of 353 in Siem Reap
3,595 reviews
1.9 mi away
Templation Hotel
Templation Hotel
#26 of 353 in Siem Reap
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Property: Sojourn Boutique Villas
Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing