We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, excellent service and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #27 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely place, excellent service and staff”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Upon arriving at the airport, the hotel will provide a driver who will deliver you to the hotel. The journey to the hotel you travel through the Treak village just outside of Siem Reap. The village is quite poor and you definitely know you are in a third world country. Upon first impressions, you second guess where you are going and wonder if this is the right place.

Once you arrive at the hotel my first thought was...
What a lovely surprise !
The Sojourn is a beautiful little hotel.

The hotel is pretty small, and we had one of the villas. The Villa was clean, spacious and well appointed. The hotel is in a quaint little village just outside of Siem Reap and is very quiet and secluded. The front desk staff are exceptionally helpful in getting a cab or tuk tuk for you if you want to go into town or want to go on a tour to the temples. The villa we were in had an outdoor shower and an indoor shower with large bathtub and spacious bathroom. The room itself was large and had a daybed/sofa as well. There was wireless internet all over the resort. My only complaint on the room was that the bed was very hard. However the quietness of the resort made up for the hard bed and sleep was always wonderful.

The hotel has a swim-up bar which you can get food at as well. During the heat of the day there is shade at the swim-up bar, so having a quick snack/lunch is fantastic. Breakfast was included. There is a buffet of some fresh breads, fruit salad and juices. There is also a menu where you can choose one item. The coconut pancakes/crepes and the mashed banana on toast were to die for. We also ate dinner at the hotel one evening and it was equally wonderful.
There is a spa at the hotel and a one hour massage can be had for approx $20. For any spa service you are asked to arrive 15 minutes early, where the spa staff will wash your feet and give you a quick foot massage, along with an iced tea drink and a cold towel to help cool you down from the heat. The spa services that we had were wonderful, and we went there a couple of times during our stay.

All of the Staff were awesome. Every day they were incredibly friendly, we were always greeted with smiles. The staff would ask us how our day was, or we needed anything even if we were just walking through the restaurant/lobby area or around the pool.

Overall, I'm very impressed with the hotel. The staff were fabulous with smiles all the time. The staff were also incredibly helpful and would go above and beyond to help you out. The room was clean and quiet. The dual edged sword on the location is that it's quiet, but you are bit out of town. I'd stay at the Soujorn again when going back to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    79
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
188
463
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

we had a 4 day 3 night short break in this hotel. Teh villas are excellent, spacious , clean and well equipped. A little out of town but that meant it was very quiet and ideal for our needs. Travel to town is simple and the hotel provided transport for only $3 return, takes about 10 mins to the centre.
Staff wonderful, very friendly and anxious to please.
Should be on your list of options for a quiet break.
Food very very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigeckscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in April after traveling through Vietnam and we found the perfect place to relax. The villas were spacious, comfortable and the turn down service in the evening was an added bonus. The staff were always smiling and greeted us by our names every time they saw us. We loved being just that bit further away from the main town centre and the tuk tuk trip into town was 10min max and we saw different parts of local village life along the way - loved it.
We booked the Beyond Angkor private tour through the Sojourn - best tour guide and driver we had on our entire holiday. They were both so informative and pleasant to chat with throughout the day. We took a picnic lunch with us that was very nice and even came with cold lemongrass towels to use before we ate - complete with orchid! Perfect!
My husband had a massage at the spa and would recommend their services after a day of temple sight seeing.
We would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone and hope to return one day in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My friend and I are completing or 3 night stay at Sojourn and cannot say enough about how wonderful this hotel is! I have been fortunate enough to travel to over 40 countries and this hotel ranks stands out in my mind as one of my all time favs! The staff are amazing, always smiling and all take the time to get to know your name and where you are from. The location is a little ways out of town but this is not as issue as the hotel hires a tuk tuk driver who will drop you off and wait for you to drive you home. We cannot wait to come back here someday!! The breakfast is absolutely as well!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MAjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here for three nights in March with my sister and it was just lovely. I could not think of a nicer place to stay in Siem Reap because as exciting as the city is, it was so nice to get away from it all and relax in the charming villa beside the pool. The staff were always very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Rooms were spotless with the added charm of tea candles being lit in the evening and fresh little flowers put in the rooms from the beautiful gardens that surround the villas. Our driver, who brought us to the temples and into central Siem Reap was chatty and informative. The food is simply delicious and the spa treatments are an excellent way to unwind after spending the days visiting the temples. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and refreshing experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinBernadette343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were on our honeymoon. We were collected at the airport and the driver came with cold water (and beer for me!).
We had booked a 2 day tour of the temples and were happy that after these full on days we were able to relax in the hotel pool outside the noise of central Siem Reap....the location is about a 10 minute drive or 15 minute tuk tuk south of the centre in a local village. If you want to get into the centre a tuk tuk will cost you a mere $3 return.

The hotel employs only local people and they pride themselves on the service they offer. All the staff were excellent and enjoyed engaging us in conversation....they are the real stars of this hotel!

There was a good menu of about 12 hot options for breakfast along with a continental buffet and we we thoroughly enjoyed our evening meals as well opting for the local specialities.

We both had great spa treatments....an hour was $22 so really good value. If we ever return to Siem Reap we would without hesitation stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and go for an Aspara or Temple villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorpey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here a few years ago with our teenage children and this time with friends, going back somewhere that you had enjoyed before I was a bit worried if the hotel was still as good. I think everything was even better, the trees had grown around the pool giving more shade which will only improve with time.
The hotels best feature is the staff when you arrive at reception, the bar or restaurant they introduce them selves and ask your name and remember them. The food at the restaurant is excellent and there are plenty of choices with specials everyday.
The owners of the hotel an Australian couple, put a lot back into the local community,we did the destination dining in a nearby village, where we were lucky enough to see the local school they are funding, they do this through a registered NGO www.huskcambodia.com . We also did the village walk and saw the things they have funded here.
They have a local travel agency beyond travel who did all of the rest of our trip around Cambodia.
This is one of the nicest and most friendly hotels I have stayed in the world and would recommend it to everyone. The massage I had was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.7 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#9 of 356 in Siem Reap
566 reviews
2.9 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,321 reviews
4.1 mi away
Templation Hotel
Templation Hotel
#23 of 356 in Siem Reap
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 356 in Siem Reap
3,633 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nita by Vo
Nita by Vo
#22 of 356 in Siem Reap
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Property: Sojourn Boutique Villas
Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing