We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #21 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

If you're looking for a quiet and outstanding service, this place is for you.
We stayed there with my boyfriend for 4 nights and we loved every single thing.
The breakfast is really good (you have a buffet with a selection of breads/pain au chocolat/fresh fruits and you can choose anything from the a la carte menu: we loved the eggs, pancakes and their yummies rolls with cane sugar). We ate three times at the restaurant for dinner (we usually like to go out when we're traveling but the food was so good with an extensive choice that we didint want to go anywhere else - try their tuna with pumpkin mash or their bar in a hotpot).
The rooms are simple and nicely decorated (though dont expect a luxury room). We had the Temple Villa (but we didnt use the bathub or outside shower). We loved the handmade soaps!
We did the cooking class one morning and we loved the visit in a local family's garden, as well as the gorgeous place where we were cooking. The spa is really good and the staff there is very professionnal (we tried the Khmer massage - awesome -thanks Praun!)
The staff is outstanding (hello Sopheap and Norong!). They are all so kind and welcoming. My boyfriend was sick one day and they were trying to do their best to make him feel better (by, for instance, bringing free ginger tea in the room). They also give fresh towels and nice juices on arrival.

This was really a highlight in our 1 month trip in Asia. I would recommend it to anyone (though this is not really a place for children).
Thank you so much Sojourn ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilarose1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    79
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
183
457
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Sojourn is a high-end resort that’s built around a few people -- a dozen bungalows in a garden that’s alive with butterflies and birds. The food in the on-site restaurant is widely varied, and every single thing we ate there was superb. Sojourn is in a village outside Siem Ream, but for $3 you can get a tuk tuk ride to and from town. For longer distances (to Angkor Wat, for instance), Sojourn provided a car and driver, who handled the driving perfectly and was knowledgeable, helpful, and one of the sweetest people we ever hope to meet. My wife and I fell in love with Sojourn and ended up feeling that it was a great bargain, even in Cambodia where you can get a good place to stay for very little. Sojourn is in a class by itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanMateoRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here the last week in May during the low season; so it was HOT. This place is just a paradise. The people who run it are Austrailian, and because it is located in the village, they have a good relationship with the village chief and hire some of the local people to work there. They are professional, kind, and helpful. My husband is on crutches, so we really appreciated having our own bungalow on the ground floor. It was so quiet and cool. The rooms are spacious and clean with all the amenities, plus we got the one with the bath and outside shower. But what we liked most was the food. Honestly, it was the best food we had in Cambodia. They must have a master chef there. We hired a driver and guide through the office there, and just had a fabulous time touring the temples with their help. We would trudge through the heat seeing the temples and then afterwards be greeted at the car with cold rags and drinks! We did get a tuk-tuk driver the last day we were there to take us into town to the market, and to the Blue Pumpkin for ice cream, and he hung around and made sure we got back to our room. The gardens there are beautiful, too, with hibiscus flowers all over, and butterflies flitting about. When it rains, you can sit outside on the porch to your room, have a drink, and watch the rain come down. What a place!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eekin_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Sojourn is about 15 mins from the city of Siem Reap but is a wonderful surprise package. Staff address you by your Christian name from the moment you arrive. The night of our arrival we were sat down with a lovely cold drink and a snack as well, and had every thing explained about the resort.
Breakfast was great a buffet and all hot meals were cooked to order. The pool was a lovely relief from the hot weather. Massages were wonderful. They do their own tours which were great, tour to the temples, cooking class and fine dining experience. This resort also contributes back into the community by donations and employing local staff. All in all a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horstb932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

The 4 days we spent at sojourn couldn't have been more perfect. We were recommended to stay here by some friends and when we check out their site we decided it was exactly what we were looking for. Some days seeing ankgor wat other nearby temples and some meditation at an ancient site and spa treatments and good food at night.
Sojourn is in a more remote area but we just printed off a map and phone number and our tuk tuk driver called when we were close and they guided us there. The room was great, big with flowers and stone bathroom with a Private outdoor shower. The AC was good and tv had tons of channels but we didn't need it as all spare time was spent at the pool or spa. The grounds are like a garden with flowers and butterflies everywhere and the sound of birds.
Yet even after all that, the best thing about our stay was the staff. Everyone addresses you by name and we truly felt like royalty. Service in the restaurant was at a very high level of professionalism and care. The food was top notch also, especially the duck. Breakfast everyday was very good with 3 juices to choose from, watermelon jasmine was very delicious, and the omelettes were great.
We booked a guided tour and our guide Kimthet Lay could t have been more perfect for our needs. He speaks very good English and also French and Japanese. He knew where to take us when it was less busy and all the eat secret spots for good photos. His vast knowledge of history and Buddhism were just what we wanted to learn on our visit here and it felt like we were visiting a friend in their country not just a guided tour. Request him if you can.
The whole team was really impressive and I hope the management can pass along our thanks to Nary, Sopheap (best mojito maker and for finding my sunglasses), Danny and Narang at the front. Really everyone was amazing but I forget their names. All the spa staff were great also and it's a top notch facility.
I read the negative comments on here because I was curious what could have gone wrong and they were completely laughable.
Learning from the locals what this hotel does for the community only made us more happy that our path led us here. I will definitely be back, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouverluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Sojourn Boutique Villas is the perfect base to explore everything Siem Reap has to offer. It's set in the countryside a 10 minute drive from the town, but with a complimentary taxi service each evening this is only a good thing. There is a lovely pool with a swim-up bar and the food served at the restaurant is delicious. The hotel also offer cheap massages, which are the best I've ever had. My only criticism is that I found the beds really hard – other than that I can't fault this place. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have stayed at Sojourn several times now, we would,nt dream of staying anywhere else in Siem Reap.
Owners and staff have become friends and they make us feel like family!
The property is stunning, the rooms and the gardens and the pool.
The restaurant serves fantastic food, breakfast is amazing, varied menu all freshly cooked!
We stay in and eat at the restaurant in the evening sometimes and the food is top class!
Service is 5 star in every area, reception, waiting staff, kitchen, house keeping and spa!
Because the Sojourn is out of town they provide Tuk Tuk drivers to take you around at a very reasonable cost, these are all checked out for safety and customer service.
At this point I must mention our Tuk Tuk driver Mr Loeun, his language skills are very good, english and some french. He took us around and was always very helpful, from taking us to buy a phone to finding restaurants out of the way, we also had many a good night at road 60 and pub street with him and the other Sojourn Tuk Tuk drivers!
Our first stay in Siem Reap we stayed at the Villa Siem Reap, that is how we found the Sojourn owned by Anthony and Fiona at the time, they now have the Sojourn only.
The staff are treated well and have many benefits not offered to many hospitality workers in Cambodia.
Anthony and Fiona are also involved with many other projects in the area, with involvement from staff members, they recently built a school that we were lucky enough to visit, it was a highlight of our trip!
They also run Beyond tour company in town, we have done many of the tours and again they are top class.
All in all Sojourn exceeds expectations and owners, management and staff go all out to help in any situation.
Thank you to all of you, we are planning our next trip as I write this!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashpacker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#5 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shinta Mani Siem Reap
Shinta Mani Siem Reap
#9 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
2.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#6 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Property: Sojourn Boutique Villas
Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing