We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil haven in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #33 of 385 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I was fortunate to return with my husband to Sojourn Hotel in Siem Reap for my second stay this past week. The hotel not only lived up to my initial stay but it had surpassed my expectations on this second visit. We were greeted by Van Hourm and Pisey ( two delightful Sojourn staff members ) and were shown to our villa room. We then had a booking for "Destination Dining" a new experience Sojourn has added to their guest activities. We were walked down the village road to a candle lit path which led to a most romantic outdoor kitchen and pavilion dining area positioned over a lotus pond. We had preorded our food earlier in the evening from an extensive menu. On our arrival we met our chef Raidy ( our personal chef for the night ) and Pisey was to be our ever attentive waitress. The setting was idyllic, the food truly sumptuous, the wine flowing and the total experience was magical. At the end of our romantic dining experience we were escorted back to our room at Sojourn Hotel where an array of frangipani petals had been arranged in a heart shape, the bath had been sprinkled with petals and the ambience of the hotel room reinforced what a magical stay this was. This hotel is a must for anyone who wants to experience a vacation with a difference. The tranquility of the location, the superb service offered by the friendly staff and the attention to detail will not disappoint the discerning traveller. Kaye

We

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbach2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

We chose Sorjourn Villas because it was out of town in a quiet village and the reviews on Trip Advisor.

The private villas were simple but elegant. Spacious rooms with a private balcony. The service was what you would expect from a 5 star resort. The staff could not have been more attentive to our requests and needs. The villas are 10 minutes from town but at our request the hotel always had a tuk tuk in just a few minutes. The Tuk Tuk fee was only $3.00 to town.

The pool and pool side bar was delightful after a hot day of exploring.

Breakfast was included in the dining room or served in our villas. The menue was wonderful with many choices. So much better than the hotels that serve a buffet.

The nights we did not want to make the trip to town and had dinner at the hotel. The prices were higher than in town but the food and service were excellant.

We went horseback riding, visited the local village, Ankor Wat, massages in our rooms, all was arranged by the staff at the hotel.

If you are looking for an oasis outside of the noisy Siem Reap town Sorjorn Villas is the best choice.

The owners have many programs that support the local village. We donated money for rice for the poorest families in the village. The village elder decided which families had the most need for the rice and we delivered the rice the rice with the staff. It was heart warming to help and the people were so apprectiative by our contribution.

I thought the price was a great value for the accomondations and service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We stayed at Sojourn in February and absolutely loved it. We were a little concerned about the location, and thought transport might be expensive, but this was not an issue at all. The hotel arranged a driver for us, who we used for our entire stay, with really good rates. We used a tuk-tuk most days and a car for one day when we went to some temples further away. Our driver spoke really good english and was able to help us out with planning temple visits and was also just a really interesting person to talk to.
The breakfast menu was amazing, with a lot of variety. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and there was a lovely communal/happy vibe around the place. Absolutely loved the pool, it was great to just chill out during the hottest part of the day.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Sojourn Boutique Villas have many positive aspects and only a couple of 'negatives' depending on what you like. There are only 10 villas around a lovely pool, surrounded by perfectly manicured tropical gardens and East meets West decor. Attention to detail was astounding: orchids everywhere, a shower room for the last day when waiting for the plane, late check-out if they can accomodate...I even saw a chap scrubbing decorative pebbles clean! The staff were really lovely, smiling before you even reach the front gate and the villas were, of course, wonderful (we had the cheaper Apsara villa). A huge plus for me was the food: absolutely fantastic breakfasts (coconut / savoury crepes...I'll never forget them!) which set you up for the day. We rented bicycles - but - they only had huge beasts for mountain bikes so I had to borrow an employee's one-gear shopping bike. Rental was also more expensive than in town. On that note, the Villas are a 15-minute cycle / tuk tuk from the town centre or half an hour from Angkor Wat. DO NOT try to walk back at night as you risk being savaged by dogs (no exaggeration). Bear this in mind if you want to be in the thick of it or within walking distance. Finally, try to settle your bill early as we had someone else's food bill plus extra tuk tuk charges. Overall, a tranquil hideaway where all you can do is relax.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My husband and I spent a week in January at this tranquil paradise. At Sojourn the delightful and gracious staff treats you with the utmost respect and kindness. Narom, Chantay, Mr. Yay, Mr. Hear, Da, and Rachael were wonderful to us.
We cannot say enough about the beauty and cleanliness of Sojourn. Our villa (number 9) was luxurious and spotless. Our bathroom, with both indoor and outdoor showers, was a dream and the linens and amenities were deluxe.We had excellent guides and a kind driver, Sothay, who took care of our every need. The oil massages were some of the best we experienced and the breakfasts were generous and delicious.
We appreciate the connection Sojourn has to responsible tourism and to the neighboring Treak Village. We were impressed with the programs to hire, educate and support staff from the village, and to improve life within the village.
Sojourn is a delightful place to come back to at the end of each day and wake up to each morning.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

This is my second trip to Siem Reap, and I didn't think anything could top my stay at Pavillon d'Orient. I was wrong. Pavillon didn't have any rooms available, so I booked a stay at Sojourn based on a friends recommendation, and I have to say I was impressed. The property is beautiful, with 9 villas and 1 penthouse (we stayed in the penthouse, will try the villas next time). The hotel (not sure why it's under Inns/B&B here) has a lovely saltwater pool, and a restaurant that's open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The pool also has a pool bar with a seperate food menu, including one for kids.
The rooms & bathrooms are spotlessly clean, with lovely furnishings and toiletries. The food at the restaurant is extremely good, with generous portions. No doubt, it's a tad more expensive than restaurants in the city, but that's to be expected. The service is a bit patchy (it took more than a day to get someone to fix our safe, we received the turndown service only 1 out of the 4 nights, restaurant service is slow), but you can tell that the staff are trying. They also always greet you with a smile and a "How are you today?", which goes a long way. I'm sure with a little practise, Sojourn will iron out these minor kinks.
The location of the hotel is a bit far from the city - around 15 minutes by tuk tuk to the old market area, and close to 40 to Angkor Wat. But this was never an issue for us as the hotel arranges tuk tuks with as little as an hours notice. The fact that we woke up to birds chirping instead of gasoline fumes makes it worth it.
The hotel also takes an active interest in the Treak village nearby (I understand all the staff & drivers are hired from the village), and you can do your part by signing up for the village walk (50% of the proceeds go to the village). It's great to see a hotel give back to the local community.
All in all, this was one of the best hotels I've stayed t in the region, and will efinitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We have been all over Thailand, Vietnam and a little bit of Cambodia and this place is by far the best. Everything here is gorgeous, perfect and the service is wonderful - our driver was happy! and every staff member was smiling and friendly, especially with our one year old. The food is also reasonably priced for the quality. It's a bit out of the way location-wise, but the village is beautiful and for a fee they provide drivers with cars and tuk-tuks who are honest and safe. We booked an extra night and wish we could spend the rest of our trip here. A definite must-stay!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotton_pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.7 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#7 of 385 in Siem Reap
652 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
#17 of 385 in Siem Reap
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Sumeru Boutique Hotel & Spa
Sumeru Boutique Hotel & Spa
#19 of 385 in Siem Reap
202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Advaya Residence
Advaya Residence
#9 of 385 in Siem Reap
176 reviews
4.1 mi away
Templation Hotel
Templation Hotel
#22 of 385 in Siem Reap
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#30 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £49 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing