We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spot that uses it's location as an advantage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #21 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot that uses it's location as an advantage”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at Sojourn in August and had an absolutely brilliant time. We spent our first three nights in Siem Reap in town at a different hotel. Sojourn sent a car to pick us up, they even gave us drinks for the car ride. Once we were at the hotel, the staff was very attentive, and provided us with scented cold towels.

The hotel is in a small village, and it uses the location to it's advantage. It was a great contrast from our time in Siem Reap. They have a deal with Tuk Tuks for 3 dollars we would have a driver for the evening. We took advantage of this and went back into Siem Reap for dinner one of the evenings.

We also enjoyed the cooking class. It was very cool to visit the home of a family in the village. The class could have been better in that it could have given a better overview of what are they key foundations of Cambodian cooking, but all in all it was good.

The only two issues we had were that the pillows were a little too large, and the water in the shower didn't get as hot as we would have liked. Other than that, we had brilliant time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    79
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
183
457
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

this is a fantastic hotel with nice rooms and great staff: the best staff we've have ever experienced. Our last night the surprised us with a very romantic dinner with candles all! and that was only one of the surprise of which were many more!!

Food in the restaurant is great, with a good menu and great breakfast. Villas look flawless with nice design and are spacious! Dedicated drivers at your disposal is also nice.

summarized: perfect!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliza_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in an Apsara Villa.

Location:
Found in a small village out of town, it's not in the city itself but didn't feel isolated as it's only a short ride into town ($3 return tuk tuk ride, just let the driver know when to pick you up). It's not a particularly well known location so far so would recommend using the hotel tuk tuks.

Rooms:
Well appointed and clean, but did feel it was missing some basics like a pen, a mirror in main area (there was only one in the bathroom), etc. The shower is always important to me and Sojourn's is great (big pan head with decent pressure). Also I did like that there was an overhead fan on the patio where you could sit.

Food:
The food was good and seemed to be reasonably priced in compasion to other places we ate in the city. Breakfast was a la carte so variety wasn't an issue and the quality was high.

Amenities:
The swimming pool was great and always quiet, it is warm but cooled me down sufficiently after a long day at the temples. There isn't a seperate spa so massages are in the room which isn't great if you're sharing with someone not having a massage. There is free wifi available and although no desktop pcs are provided you can rent laptops.

Service:
Always polite but there were some communication problems in organising transfers and tours. Problems arise time from time anywhere it's how they are dealt with that matters, the staff quickly sorted out my issues and demonstrated they are very customer focused. I felt some staff were inexperienced but it was low season and they were very polite and eager to assist.

Overall:
From the outstanding reviews I had exceedingly high expections and although I did have a pleasent stay I can't say it was outstanding, a lot I think to do with value. A seperate spa and communal aircon room with some comfy chairs and a couple of computers would have gone a long way.

I would recommend the Sojourn especially for couples and those seeking a more chilled out place to relax in, but it's a little on the expensive side for the amenities provided.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We had a great time in Cambodia and this was largely due to Boutique Villa Sojourn. Service is excellent and we loved how small and quiet the place is. Nothing against children (generally like them very much) but we do not enjoy hotels with kids running and screaming about so we were very glad that Sojourn is not geared towards young families (which is why we chose it).

Our driver Mr Ngim and guide, Sokha, were always helpful and informative. Mr Ngim was always on time, drove safely and when Sokha was not around, Mr. Ngim would tell us about the area.

The a la carte breakfast was great. I especially liked the Cambodian rice congee and the steamed pancakes with coconut filling.

The only negative would be the unavailability of a spa at Sojourn. We received a 1-hour massage as part of our package, which we claimed on the first day. The masseuse were from Sojourn's sister hotel. Unfortunately, the girls seemed rather inexperienced as they were talking and laughing throughout the massage. Also, mine had a cold and sniffled constantly (I was terrified snot would fall on my back but luckily, that didn't happen although she stopped quite a few times to wipe her nose and then continued massaging me). She also burped loudly a few times. My massage was also very painful (I have a Thai massage at least once a month so I'm used to tough ones) but my partner was satisfied with his. We decided not to complain at the reception as we didn't want to possibly break these ladies' ricebowls.

All in all, DO stay at Sojourn (great cocktails as well, esp the one with the watermelon) if you go to Siem Reap. We are definitely planning to stay there when we go to Cambodia again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco / Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The hotel is clean and beautiful. The service is warm, friendly, and personal. The staff do everything they can to make you happy and comfortable. The food at the restaurant is DELICIOUS! Which in a way is too bad, because there was not much motivation to try restaurants in town. I also enjoyed getting massages in my room.

We booked a weekend package which made our quick trip to Cambodia very comfortable and convenient (transportation, food, a guide, etc. were all included).

I also appreciate that the hotel seems to have a social conscious (educating guests about Cambodia and its challenges with poverty, hiring people from the local village, sourcing local & sustainable products).

Thank you, Sojourn Boutique Villas for a great trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShailaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My partner & i recently visited Siem Reap. Our stay at Sojourn was wonderful. All though a small distance from the town which might not suit some people.
I found it totally refreshing. It was nice to return to some where quite, after a long day of site seeing.
There was all ways a tuk tuk driver available to take you into town if you wanted too.
The high light for me of our stay, was the staff. They were all so nice & made us feel very welcome. The setting was perfect. The villas very clean & spacious.
I have nothing but praise for Sojourn. I dont think any one would be disappointed with staying here. Alan power

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powwow67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

It's all true: we had a most wonderful stay here. Thanks to all the staff. One of us especially enjoyed the cooking class. All the temple tours that they arranged were excellent; great staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller99ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#5 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shinta Mani Siem Reap
Shinta Mani Siem Reap
#9 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
2.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#6 of 340 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Property: Sojourn Boutique Villas
Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing