We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rejuvenating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #23 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“rejuvenating”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We were amazed with Siam Reap, its temples & people.Sojourn was a welcome change from other hotel experiences..... serene surroundings, friendly staff, great food! The taxi & guide arranged by the hotel were excellent. Mr Choob, the taxi driver has a refreshing sense of humor. I would recommend Sojourn & Siam Reap to friends & family. Don't forget to take a good camera with you folks.....excellent pic ops.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shital3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    79
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
183
457
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My family and I visited Siem Reap this past weekend and we stayed at Sojourn Villas for three nights. What an amazing stay! The staff could not do more to ensure we had everything we needed for our comfort. The Manager, Auwin (sp?) was fantastic. I had asked when I arrived if a visit to an Orphanage could be arranged as we had brought with us some clothing, stationery and toys. He readily obliged and together with another staff member, helped us locate an orphange that would receive us during the weekend. No task is too difficult for the staff at Sojourn. You can tell that they take pride in their work and have great attention to detail. The grounds are immaculate and every little detail like serving you with a cold towel (especially soothing after a hot day walking around the temples), remembering your name and your childrens' names, placing flowers and a bottle of wine to help celebrate our wedding anniversary -- all these and more makes us recommend this place as the hotel to stay at if you would like to complement your visit to Siem Reap.

The location is a little farther off the main restaurants lined along Pub Street but then again, a number of the nicer hotels are located off the main strip. The temples and other attractions are at least 10-15 mins away from the main street so you will need to get either a tuk-tuk or car to transport you about. We did not find this to be an issue. The staff helped us rent a car to take us to the temples and other attractions for two days and we had a lovely driver named Mr. Khom. Whilst in the city, we would pop into the travel agent Beyond (located right by Pub Street) and they would readily arrange a tuk-tuk to take us back to Sojourn.

One of the tripadvisors mentioned that this establishment is not geared for families with young children. On the contrary, the hotel management and staff were very welcoming and they even handed out a bag of goodies to our children when we arrived! The staff often found opportunities to interact with our two boys aged 2 and 7. We felt very comfortable there and were not worried about them making too much noise whilst playing in the huge bath and rain shower since these are separate villas and there are no thin walls to work around.

The staff recommended the Sugar Palm Restaurant and we found the food there delicious. Definitely recommend the Amok Fish and the Khmer Curry Chicken. Another eatery is the Blue Pumpkin which serves up yummy ice-cream flavours. There is one branch located right outside the Old Market.

Stay at the Sojourn. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel+£=funlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

this was a bit of a gamble, wondered if it was a trifle isolated from the town, but we should never have given it a second thought.
transport is easily available for forays into siem reap, but staying put was tempting too.
it was not until we had spent a further 3 weeks travelling in cambodia and vietnam that we truly appreciated how much effort must have gone into making this place such a peaceful and professionally run venue
staff are helpful and genuinely seem pleased to interract with the punters. we stayed in the main hotel so did not test out the villas.
three day excursion trip was all organised by the hotel, and the welcome pack was generous and classy
the owners have done a terrific job, both with training their staff (who adore them) and to help facilitate better standards for the village closeby
this place is eco friendly, peaceful and comfortable and in a beautiful setting. highly recommended

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank londonludditelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The staff are extremely friendly and helpfull in everyway. The management went to all lengths to make our stay perfect and the management treat the staff so well which was very refreshing. The food and drinks were always top notch and the pool was amazing. The villas are big and comfortable. I couldn't possibly fault this hotel. Everyone there was raving about how much they loved the place. I would have stayed in close to 100 hotels in my life and this is by far the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at Sojourn in August and had an absolutely brilliant time. We spent our first three nights in Siem Reap in town at a different hotel. Sojourn sent a car to pick us up, they even gave us drinks for the car ride. Once we were at the hotel, the staff was very attentive, and provided us with scented cold towels.

The hotel is in a small village, and it uses the location to it's advantage. It was a great contrast from our time in Siem Reap. They have a deal with Tuk Tuks for 3 dollars we would have a driver for the evening. We took advantage of this and went back into Siem Reap for dinner one of the evenings.

We also enjoyed the cooking class. It was very cool to visit the home of a family in the village. The class could have been better in that it could have given a better overview of what are they key foundations of Cambodian cooking, but all in all it was good.

The only two issues we had were that the pillows were a little too large, and the water in the shower didn't get as hot as we would have liked. Other than that, we had brilliant time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

this is a fantastic hotel with nice rooms and great staff: the best staff we've have ever experienced. Our last night the surprised us with a very romantic dinner with candles all! and that was only one of the surprise of which were many more!!

Food in the restaurant is great, with a good menu and great breakfast. Villas look flawless with nice design and are spacious! Dedicated drivers at your disposal is also nice.

summarized: perfect!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliza_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in an Apsara Villa.

Location:
Found in a small village out of town, it's not in the city itself but didn't feel isolated as it's only a short ride into town ($3 return tuk tuk ride, just let the driver know when to pick you up). It's not a particularly well known location so far so would recommend using the hotel tuk tuks.

Rooms:
Well appointed and clean, but did feel it was missing some basics like a pen, a mirror in main area (there was only one in the bathroom), etc. The shower is always important to me and Sojourn's is great (big pan head with decent pressure). Also I did like that there was an overhead fan on the patio where you could sit.

Food:
The food was good and seemed to be reasonably priced in compasion to other places we ate in the city. Breakfast was a la carte so variety wasn't an issue and the quality was high.

Amenities:
The swimming pool was great and always quiet, it is warm but cooled me down sufficiently after a long day at the temples. There isn't a seperate spa so massages are in the room which isn't great if you're sharing with someone not having a massage. There is free wifi available and although no desktop pcs are provided you can rent laptops.

Service:
Always polite but there were some communication problems in organising transfers and tours. Problems arise time from time anywhere it's how they are dealt with that matters, the staff quickly sorted out my issues and demonstrated they are very customer focused. I felt some staff were inexperienced but it was low season and they were very polite and eager to assist.

Overall:
From the outstanding reviews I had exceedingly high expections and although I did have a pleasent stay I can't say it was outstanding, a lot I think to do with value. A seperate spa and communal aircon room with some comfy chairs and a couple of computers would have gone a long way.

I would recommend the Sojourn especially for couples and those seeking a more chilled out place to relax in, but it's a little on the expensive side for the amenities provided.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#8 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
2.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#5 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Property: Sojourn Boutique Villas
Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing