We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seven Candles Guest House
Ranked #8 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was the beginning of our holiday and we absolutely loved it! The staff and very friendly and welcoming, all to willing to help you. They have some advice printed on your room of places to eat and things to do which is very helpful. The guest house is about a 10 min walk to the main part of town with free bicycles available from the guest house. Our room was clean with TV, Wifi, comfy bed and balcony. We did a food tour with the Guesthouse which was the best part of our Cambodian adventure. Can not recommend this place highly enough! Book it in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    84
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
74
187
88
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Couldn't fault anything about this place - absolutely amazing guesthouse. The staff are lovely, there's a really nice vibe. Excellent value - air con, fan, television, free tea and coffee, water on arrival, free computer with internet on our floor, book exchange, free use of a great selection of DVDs, free bicycle hire and great information on local restaurants and eateries.. You can book transport from here.

We didn't want to leave! Highly recommend this place. It's about a ten minute walk from the busier town, pub street etc - you can either cycle, walk or get a tuk tuk for around a dollar.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsetvista91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I am a 70 year old traveler, and i had an opportunity to go to Cambodia for a month! i stayed the entire time at Seven Candles Guesthouse, and i had a wonderful time. The first vacation that i was not ready to go home. I loved the family atmosphere. Such kindness cannot be described. How lovely to be surrounded by such attention and fun! It was nice to be with the children of the Ly family! My room was perfect, comfortable and very clean. How nice to put my dirty sweaty close in the hall to have them return all clean, folded etc. One time when my laundry was returned, i had some cash in an envelope in my laundry, apparently i had left some cash in a pocket (bad habit of mine) and it was returned! Not so sure that would have happend anywhere else! i loved the breadfast on the patiro every morning....it was like eating with family....Tuk Tuk drivers very polite and they try to serve you to a high degree....I loved those yourng men. A SPECIAL THANKS to the 3 year old Yutt, that made me so happy to see his beautiful little sweet face....Any way, i am rambling....i would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingsenior1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at Seven Candles in August 2011 (Not 2013 - menu didn't go back that far) with a girlfriend during a long trip through South East Asia. This guest house is so much more than a place to stay! Not only is it clean, with helpful amenities for guests (i.e. breakfast, private tour guides & drivers that can be arranged on site, laundry service, and internet), but the owners/operators are the sweetest family. The little ones are eager to make friends, and the staff is incredibly warm and helpful. Seven Candles is also associated with the Ponheary Ly Foundation (Ms. Ly and her family run the guest house) which supports education initiatives in Cambodia. Our stay in Siem Reap was incredible and you leave knowing you're doing a little bit of good at the same time. I HIGHLY recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I just finished an 8 day stay at the Seven Candles Guest House in Siem Reap, Cambodia. To be sure, it is a guest house and not a 5 star resort and spa. But it truly is the "best in its class" - a first class bargain in the heart of Siem Reap. The guest house is located on Wat Bo Road within easy walking distance from Pub Street, markets, and the Angkor National Museum. Bicycles are available for easy transportation as well. Tours of the area and most especially, the Angkor Temple Complex can be arranged at the guesthouse as several of the Ly family (who own and manage the guest house) are official tour guides. The rooms are quite spacious, clean and comfortable. Each has its own small balcony and the bathrooms are large and modern with good water pressure and hot water on demand. Rooms also have AC though they seem to keep the air dry rather than cool - but that was just fine. Each floor has a small lounge area for relaxing and a large water dispenser so you can fill your water bottle each day. Breakfast is served downstairs in a patio area and dinner can be ordered at the upstairs lounge. Meal choices were plentiful, very tasty, and quite a bargain. I loved the vegetable fried rice, the fried noodles with vegetables, and the lime juice served upstairs for dinner. All the staff are warm and welcoming and most helpful in making your stay in Cambodia a most enjoyable and memorable one.

And while you're there, learn about the wonderful work that the Ponheary Ly Foundation is doing to help education rural children in the Siem Reap area. Their work is quite impressive and if you have the time and resources, you can participate in some activities that involve some of the schools served by the foundation.

I highly recommend this guest house. Dollar for dollar, a great value. Locally owned and managed. Can't get any better than this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewtravelerHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I'm not exaggerating or joking in the least when I say my absolute favourite part of our 5 day stay in Siem Reap was NOT Angkor Wat... It was the wonderful, homey atmosphere waiting for us each evening at the Seven Candles Guesthouse. I cannot say enough good things about this place, and I can't think of a single negative (and I can be pretty picky about my accommodation)! To list a few:
- the most comfortable bed I have slept on in any hostel/backpackers/guesthouse/etc
- friendly, genuine hospitality from Ponheary and all of her team, regardless of if it was 7am or 9pm
- A/C (it is so hot here.. This was awesome to have!)
- lovely, clean rooms and bathrooms
- local advice if you have questions
- delicious breakfast (We ordered something different everyday and every item was delicious. Try the Cambodian crepes, different, but so good)
- short distance to pretty much all you need and many of the tourist sites, especially if you borrow a bike
- the notices and advice given in print through the building are always written with a bit of humour and you can't help but enjoy reading them

And lastly, (if you're still reading my long winded review) the Ponheary Ly Foundation that goes hand in hand with the guesthouse is doing wonderful work. If nothing else, the guesthouse and foundation are worth a "google" just so you can read about the good they are doing.

We are in the middle of a long term trip (we've been traveling for 4 months so far on this particular trip), and this is the BEST accommodation we've had on this trip, and quite possibly the best ever. Countless times we've said while out around Siem Reap "let's head home?" Or other similar statements, because within a couple hours this really does feel like home.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived at our guest house after a long hot train ride from Thailand then a long bus ride and were exhausted, not really knowing what to expect therefore we only booked one night. After we signed in and saw the room we were amazed at how nice this place was and immediately booked the rest of our nights here. The beds were memory foam and it was the best night sleep we have had in a long time. The rooms were extremely clean the facilities were amazing and the staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast was also extremely delicious we enjoyed everything that we had eaten. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this place to anyone coming to Siem Reap

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bortron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#5 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#4 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#6 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#14 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Candles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Candles Guest House

Property: Seven Candles Guest House
Address: 0307 Wat Bo Road | Sala Kamreouk, Siem Reap 092848695, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Candles Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location 8 minutes walk across river to Old Market. Good AC and fans, en-suite baths with hot water, cable TV, DVD players and free movie selection, mini fridge, free wifi, and free bikes. On-site laundry service, free airport transfer on arrival. Tour guides and drivers onsite. Convenience store on the corner. Good local restaurants up and down the street, nice local vibe and close to everything. Seven Candles is home to the Ponheary Ly Foundation and three generations of the Ly family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Seven Candles Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing